crosodo
County · Seat: Decatur · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in DeKalb County, GA

Inside the permit report

What's in the DeKalb County permit report

Permit Guide cover for DeKalb County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for DeKalb County
Table of contents
Your DeKalb County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in DeKalb County?

All products in Georgia →
More DeKalb County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in DeKalb County?
Start here

How to start in DeKalb County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Georgia cottage food rules in DeKalb County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Georgia cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Since July 2025 (HB 398), Georgia allows almost any non-potentially hazardous food, including baked goods, candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, oils, pickles, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, preserves, snacks, and carbonated drinks. Georgia also allows interstate sales of cottage food products, which is rare among states.). DeKalb County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in DeKalb County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in DeKalb County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Georgia disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Georgia label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced at a residential property that is exempt from state inspection. This product may contain allergens.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Georgia county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Georgia county rules quiz

DeKalb County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Georgia statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a DeKalb County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify DeKalb County cottage food rules with Georgia agencies?

DeKalb County is a top-100 county by population in Georgia (pop. 761,209). Under Georgia's Okay-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Georgia Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm DeKalb County health and planning requirements via the health department and planning / zoning links on this page. Local notes for DeKalb County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. DeKalb County follows Georgia state baseline. HB 398 (July 1, 2025) dramatically liberalized cottage food law. DeKalb County includes portions of Atlanta metro area. Occupational Tax Certificate likely required for home-based businesses. No DeKalb County-specific cottage food restriction beyond state baseline found. A Facebook post found noted questions about whether county business licenses are needed even after HB 398 removed state licensing. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in DeKalb County?
State law applies

Tier: Okay

Georgia has an Okay-tier cottage food law — meaningful sales caps and/or limited channels. Operable for a side business, but you'll likely outgrow the rules if you want to go full-time.

Georgia cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the DeKalb County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for DeKalb County

State baseline: O.C.G.A. §26-2-470 et seq. (HB 398, eff. July 1, 2025); prior: GA R&R 40-7-19

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
State baseline applies. HB 398 (July 1, 2025): no state license required, no cap, retail sales allowed. ANSI food safety training required. Private water supply requires annual coliform testing.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified; standard sanitation
Water supply
Municipal water or approved private supply; private well requires annual coliform testing
Handwashing
Standard sanitation per food safety training
Food storage
Standard food storage practices
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
GDA complaint-based only as of HB 398. No routine inspections.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
DeKalb County has an Occupational Tax Certificate requirement for home-based businesses. Contact DeKalb County Department of Revenue for Occupational Tax Certificate. Zoning compliance required through DeKalb County Planning & Sustainability. For businesses inside incorporated cities (Decatur, Dunwoody, Stone Mountain, etc.), contact that municipality.
Local business license
Yes
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
As of HB 398 (July 2025): direct-to-consumer, online, retail store sales, and wholesale permitted. No state cap.
Max employees in home
unknown
Zoning code
Relevant code section
O.C.G.A. §26-2-470 et seq.; DeKalb County Occupational Tax regulations
Local notes

DeKalb County follows Georgia state baseline. HB 398 (July 1, 2025) dramatically liberalized cottage food law. DeKalb County includes portions of Atlanta metro area. Occupational Tax Certificate likely required for home-based businesses. No DeKalb County-specific cottage food restriction beyond state baseline found. A Facebook post found noted questions about whether county business licenses are needed even after HB 398 removed state licensing.

What does the Georgia cottage food statute say?
Georgia statute (state law)

Georgia Code O.C.G.A. §§26-2-470 through 26-2-478 (enacted by HB 398, 2025); formerly Georgia Rules and Regulations Chapter 40-7-19 (Cottage Food Regulations)

Citation: O.C.G.A. §26-2-470 et seq. (eff. July 2025); prior: GA R&R 40-7-19
Verbatim excerpt

Rule 40-7-19-.01 Purpose: The purpose of this Chapter is to allow individuals using home kitchens to prepare, manufacture, and sell non-potentially hazardous foods to the public. Rule 40-7-19-.02 Definitions: (3) 'Cottage food operator' means a person who produces cottage food products only in the home kitchen of that person's primary domestic residence and only for sale directly to the consumer. (4) 'Cottage food products' means non-potentially hazardous baked goods, jams, jellies, preserves, and other non-potentially hazardous foods produced in the home kitchen of a domestic residence. (11) 'Home kitchen' means a kitchen primarily intended for use by the residents of a home. It may contain one or more stoves or ovens, which may be a double oven, designed for residential use. It must not include commercial types of equipment. Rule 40-7-19-.05 Cottage Food Limitations: (1) May only produce non-potentially hazardous foods. Examples include: (a) Loaf breads, rolls, and biscuits; (b) Cakes (except those that require refrigeration due to cream cheese icing, fillings, or high moisture content such as tres leche); (c) Pastries and cookies; (d) Candies and confections; (e) Fruit pies; (f) Jams, jellies, and preserves; (g) Dried fruits; (h) Dry herbs, seasonings and mixtures; (i) Cereals, trail mixes, and granola; (j) Coated or uncoated nuts; (k) Vinegar and flavored vinegars; (l) Popcorn, popcorn balls, and cotton candy.

Source: rules.sos.ga.gov/gac/40-7-19 →
Full Georgia License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. DeKalb County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

DeKalb County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in DeKalb County, Georgia?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with DeKalb County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in DeKalb County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in DeKalb County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for DeKalb County. Ask DeKalb County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Georgia?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in DeKalb County?

Apply via DeKalb County environmental health (dekalbcountyga.gov). Official link: https://www.dekalbcountyga.gov/board-of-health. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.

What foods can I sell under Georgia cottage food law in DeKalb County?

Since July 2025 (HB 398), Georgia allows almost any non-potentially hazardous food, including baked goods, candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, oils, pickles, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, preserves, snacks, and carbonated drinks. Georgia also allows interstate sales of cottage food products, which is rare among states. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Georgia, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in DeKalb County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: GDA complaint-based only as of HB 398. No routine inspections.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than DeKalb County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Georgia report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

DeKalb County cottage food reports

What permits in DeKalb County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of DeKalb County county cottage food report
DeKalb County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for DeKalb County.

Download county report
Cover of Georgia cottage food law PDF report
Georgia state report

Full Georgia License & Permit Guide (476 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside DeKalb County.

Georgia law page

Free email alerts

DeKalb County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in DeKalb County, with Georgia statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this DeKalb County page based on?
Quick comparison

DeKalb County vs. bordering counties

RegulationDeKalb County
This county
Gwinnett CountyFulton County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified; standard sanitationNot specified in state rules; standard sanitation appliesState baseline applies
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalYes
Delivery / pickupAs of HB 398 (July 2025): direct-to-consumer, online, retail store sales, and wholesale permitted. No state cap.As of HB 398 (July 2025): direct-to-consumer, online, retail store sales, and wholesale permitted. No state cap. Check local zoning for pic…State law (eff. July 2025) allows interstate sales, wholesale, retail, online, and restaurant sales. No annual sales cap. Broad food catego…
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalConditional
Local business licenseYesYesVaries by city
RestrictionsState baseline applies. HB 398 (July 1, 2025): no state license required, no cap, retail sales allowed. ANSI food safety training required.…Must use home kitchen. As of July 1, 2025 (HB 398), no state license required. ANSI-accredited food safety training (food handler level acc…Georgia HB 398 (effective July 1, 2025) dramatically expanded the cottage food law: no license or fee required, complaint-based inspections…
Food storageStandard food storage practicesStandard food storage practices required; no specific county overrides foundState baseline applies
Population761,209957,9771,061,944
What other Georgia counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Georgia counties

Georgia
Pop. 1.06M
Georgia
Pop. 958K
Georgia
Pop. 766K
Georgia
Pop. 296K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this DeKalb County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Georgia's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other DeKalb County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

DeKalb County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about DeKalb County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the DeKalb County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in DeKalb County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in DeKalb County, Georgia?
Yes — Georgia allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Georgia Department of Agriculture and the DeKalb County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in DeKalb County?
Your DeKalb County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about DeKalb County at a glance?
Official filing

File with DeKalb County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.

Apply via DeKalb County environmental health(dekalbcountyga.gov)
How does the Crosodo ladder work in DeKalb County? State vs county rules and pets
Georgia rule (statewide)DeKalb County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    DeKalb County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    DeKalb County

    • Check with DeKalb County business license office
    • Check with DeKalb County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Georgia Department of Agriculture — Cottage Food FAQ

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Georgia

    • Selling to stores: check with Georgia Department of Agriculture

    DeKalb County

    • Check with DeKalb County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Georgia

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Georgia Department of Agriculture

    DeKalb County

    • Check with DeKalb County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Georgia · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Georgia Department of Agriculture.

    Georgia · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Georgia Department of Agriculture.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.