Cottage food law & license in Gwinnett County, GA

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep
Gwinnett County Permits 101 for Gwinnett County, Georgia (81 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Georgia cottage food — common first products
County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.
What's in the Gwinnett County permit report


How to start in Gwinnett County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Georgia cottage food rules in Gwinnett County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Georgia cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Since July 2025 (HB 398), Georgia allows almost any non-potentially hazardous food, including baked goods, candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, oils, pickles, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, preserves, snacks, and carbonated drinks. Georgia also allows interstate sales of cottage food products, which is rare among states.). Gwinnett County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Gwinnett County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Gwinnett County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Georgia disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Georgia label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced at a residential property that is exempt from state inspection. This product may contain allergens.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Gwinnett County is a top-100 county by population in Georgia (pop. 957,977). Under Georgia's Okay-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Georgia Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Gwinnett County health and planning requirements via the health department and planning / zoning links on this page. Local notes for Gwinnett County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Gwinnett County's business license page confirms home-based businesses require an Occupational Tax Certificate, Home-Based Business Disclosure, and driver's license matching the business address. The GDA cottage food page confirms HB 398 (July 1, 2025) removed the state licensing requirement for cottage food but food safety training remains required. No specific Gwinnett County ordinance restricting cottage food beyond state baseline was found, but the business license/occupational tax requirement applies. For businesses inside incorporated cities in Gwinnett (e.g., Duluth, Suwanee, Lawrenceville), separate municipal rules apply. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
Gwinnett County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Gwinnett County.
Download county reportFull Georgia License & Permit Guide (476 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Tier: Okay
Georgia has an Okay-tier cottage food law — meaningful sales caps and/or limited channels. Operable for a side business, but you'll likely outgrow the rules if you want to go full-time.
Georgia cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Gwinnett County
State baseline: O.C.G.A. §26-2-470 et seq. (HB 398, eff. July 1, 2025); prior: GA R&R 40-7-19
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must use home kitchen. As of July 1, 2025 (HB 398), no state license required. ANSI-accredited food safety training (food handler level acceptable) is required. Private water supply requires annual coliform testing.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state rules; standard sanitation applies
- Water supply
- Municipal water or approved private supply; private well requires annual coliform testing per GDA guidance
- Handwashing
- Standard sanitation required per food safety training
- Food storage
- Standard food storage practices required; no specific county overrides found
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- GDA complaint-based only as of HB 398. No routine inspections.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Gwinnett County requires an Occupational Tax Certificate (business license) for home-based businesses in unincorporated areas, via the Licensing and Revenue Office. A Home-Based Business Disclosure agreement is required. Driver's license address must match business address. Food sales must be licensed by Georgia Department of Environmental Health or Georgia Department of Agriculture (for cottage food, GDA identification number registration available). If inside a city within Gwinnett County, contact that municipality.
- Local business license
- Yes
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- As of HB 398 (July 2025): direct-to-consumer, online, retail store sales, and wholesale permitted. No state cap. Check local zoning for pickup/delivery restrictions.
- Max employees in home
- unknown
- Relevant code section
- Gwinnett County Business License/Occupational Tax Code; O.C.G.A. §26-2-470 et seq.
Gwinnett County's business license page confirms home-based businesses require an Occupational Tax Certificate, Home-Based Business Disclosure, and driver's license matching the business address. The GDA cottage food page confirms HB 398 (July 1, 2025) removed the state licensing requirement for cottage food but food safety training remains required. No specific Gwinnett County ordinance restricting cottage food beyond state baseline was found, but the business license/occupational tax requirement applies. For businesses inside incorporated cities in Gwinnett (e.g., Duluth, Suwanee, Lawrenceville), separate municipal rules apply.
Georgia Code O.C.G.A. §§26-2-470 through 26-2-478 (enacted by HB 398, 2025); formerly Georgia Rules and Regulations Chapter 40-7-19 (Cottage Food Regulations)
Full Georgia License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptRule 40-7-19-.01 Purpose: The purpose of this Chapter is to allow individuals using home kitchens to prepare, manufacture, and sell non-potentially hazardous foods to the public. Rule 40-7-19-.02 Definitions: (3) 'Cottage food operator' means a person who produces cottage food products only in the home kitchen of that person's primary domestic residence and only for sale directly to the consumer. (4) 'Cottage food products' means non-potentially hazardous baked goods, jams, jellies, preserves, and other non-potentially hazardous foods produced in the home kitchen of a domestic residence. (11) 'Home kitchen' means a kitchen primarily intended for use by the residents of a home. It may contain one or more stoves or ovens, which may be a double oven, designed for residential use. It must not include commercial types of equipment. Rule 40-7-19-.05 Cottage Food Limitations: (1) May only produce non-potentially hazardous foods. Examples include: (a) Loaf breads, rolls, and biscuits; (b) Cakes (except those that require refrigeration due to cream cheese icing, fillings, or high moisture content such as tres leche); (c) Pastries and cookies; (d) Candies and confections; (e) Fruit pies; (f) Jams, jellies, and preserves; (g) Dried fruits; (h) Dry herbs, seasonings and mixtures; (i) Cereals, trail mixes, and granola; (j) Coated or uncoated nuts; (k) Vinegar and flavored vinegars; (l) Popcorn, popcorn balls, and cotton candy.
Source: rules.sos.ga.gov/gac/40-7-19 →
Gwinnett County Permit Guide $26
This page stays free — the Gwinnett County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (81 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Gwinnett County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Gwinnett County, Georgia?
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Gwinnett County requires an Occupational Tax Certificate (business license) for home-based businesses in unincorporated areas, via the Licensing and Revenue Office. A Home-Based Business Disclosure agreement is required. Driver's license address must match business address. Food sales must be licensed by Georgia Department of Environmental Health or Georgia Department of Agriculture (for cottage food, GDA identification number registration available). If inside a city within Gwinnett County, contact that municipality. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Georgia guide at https://crosodo.com/states/georgia.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Gwinnett County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: GDA complaint-based only as of HB 398. No routine inspections.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
What foods can I sell under Georgia cottage food law in Gwinnett County?
Since July 2025 (HB 398), Georgia allows almost any non-potentially hazardous food, including baked goods, candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, oils, pickles, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, preserves, snacks, and carbonated drinks. Georgia also allows interstate sales of cottage food products, which is rare among states. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Georgia, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Georgia?
Georgia state law lists cottage food sales at None. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.
Do I need a home occupation permit in Gwinnett County?
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Gwinnett County requires an Occupational Tax Certificate (business license) for home-based businesses in unincorporated areas, via the Licensing and Revenue Office. A Home-Based Business Disclosure agreement is required. Driver's license address must match business address. Food sales must be licensed by Georgia Department of Environmental Health or Georgia Department of Agriculture (for cottage food, GDA identification number registration available). If inside a city within Gwinnett County, contact that municipality.
The free county page is the short version. This is the full Georgia License & Permit Guide (476 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Georgia License & Permit Guide (476 pages).

Where to verify Gwinnett County rules
Gwinnett County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Gwinnett County This county | Fulton County | DeKalb County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state rules; standard sanitation applies | State baseline applies | Not specified; standard sanitation |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Yes | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | As of HB 398 (July 2025): direct-to-consumer, online, retail store sales, and wholesale permitted. No state cap. Check local zoning for pic… | State law (eff. July 2025) allows interstate sales, wholesale, retail, online, and restaurant sales. No annual sales cap. Broad food catego… | As of HB 398 (July 2025): direct-to-consumer, online, retail store sales, and wholesale permitted. No state cap. |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Local business license | Yes | Varies by city | Yes |
| Restrictions | Must use home kitchen. As of July 1, 2025 (HB 398), no state license required. ANSI-accredited food safety training (food handler level acc… | Georgia HB 398 (effective July 1, 2025) dramatically expanded the cottage food law: no license or fee required, complaint-based inspections… | State baseline applies. HB 398 (July 1, 2025): no state license required, no cap, retail sales allowed. ANSI food safety training required.… |
| Food storage | Standard food storage practices required; no specific county overrides found | State baseline applies | Standard food storage practices |
| Population | 957,977 | 1,061,944 | 761,209 |
Gwinnett County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Gwinnett County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Other Georgia counties
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Advertise here
Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise in Gwinnett County, Georgia
Reach home bakers in Gwinnett County, Georgia. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.
Learn about placementsYour business here
Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.
Post in the local discussionAds are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Georgia's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.