Cottage food law & license in Fulton County, GA
What's in the Fulton County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Fulton County?
More Fulton County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Fulton County?
How to start in Fulton County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Georgia cottage food rules in Fulton County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Georgia cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Since July 2025 (HB 398), Georgia allows almost any non-potentially hazardous food, including baked goods, candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, oils, pickles, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, preserves, snacks, and carbonated drinks. Georgia also allows interstate sales of cottage food products, which is rare among states.). Fulton County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Fulton County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Fulton County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Georgia disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Georgia label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced at a residential property that is exempt from state inspection. This product may contain allergens.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Georgia county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Georgia county rules quiz
Fulton County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Georgia statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Fulton County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Fulton County cottage food rules with Georgia agencies?
Fulton County is a top-50 county by population in Georgia (pop. 1,061,944). Under Georgia's Okay-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Georgia Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Fulton County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Fulton County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Fulton County (Atlanta area) benefits from Georgia's major 2025 expansion (HB 398, eff. July 1, 2025) which made Georgia one of the most permissive cottage food states. The prior tier of 'Okay' and $100,000 registration requirement are now replaced by a no-fee, no-license framework. Interstate sales are now allowed — unusual nationally. A food safety course is recommended by GDA for operators. Private water users must conduct annual coliform tests. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Fulton County?
Tier: Okay
Georgia has an Okay-tier cottage food law — meaningful sales caps and/or limited channels. Operable for a side business, but you'll likely outgrow the rules if you want to go full-time.
Georgia cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Fulton County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Fulton County
State baseline: O.C.G.A. §26-2-470 et seq. (eff. July 2025); prior: GA R&R 40-7-19
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Georgia HB 398 (effective July 1, 2025) dramatically expanded the cottage food law: no license or fee required, complaint-based inspections only, interstate sales allowed, wholesale/retail/online/restaurant sales allowed. Fulton County follows the state baseline. No county-specific cottage food overlay found. Private water testing (annual coliform) required if using a private water source.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- State baseline applies
- Water supply
- Private water sources require annual coliform testing (state rule). Municipal water: state baseline applies.
- Handwashing
- State baseline applies
- Food storage
- State baseline applies
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- Complaint-based only under new HB 398 framework (effective July 2025). GDA has no routine inspection authority for cottage food.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- No Georgia state requirement for a home occupation permit for cottage food. Fulton County cities (Atlanta, Sandy Springs, Roswell, etc.) may have their own home occupation requirements. No county-specific cottage food permit found.
- Local business license
- Varies by city
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Yes
- Delivery / pickup
- State law (eff. July 2025) allows interstate sales, wholesale, retail, online, and restaurant sales. No annual sales cap. Broad food categories allowed.
- Max employees in home
- state baseline applies
- Relevant code section
- none county-specific found; O.C.G.A. §26-2-470 et seq. applies
Fulton County (Atlanta area) benefits from Georgia's major 2025 expansion (HB 398, eff. July 1, 2025) which made Georgia one of the most permissive cottage food states. The prior tier of 'Okay' and $100,000 registration requirement are now replaced by a no-fee, no-license framework. Interstate sales are now allowed — unusual nationally. A food safety course is recommended by GDA for operators. Private water users must conduct annual coliform tests.
What does the Georgia cottage food statute say?
Georgia Code O.C.G.A. §§26-2-470 through 26-2-478 (enacted by HB 398, 2025); formerly Georgia Rules and Regulations Chapter 40-7-19 (Cottage Food Regulations)
Full Georgia License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptRule 40-7-19-.01 Purpose: The purpose of this Chapter is to allow individuals using home kitchens to prepare, manufacture, and sell non-potentially hazardous foods to the public. Rule 40-7-19-.02 Definitions: (3) 'Cottage food operator' means a person who produces cottage food products only in the home kitchen of that person's primary domestic residence and only for sale directly to the consumer. (4) 'Cottage food products' means non-potentially hazardous baked goods, jams, jellies, preserves, and other non-potentially hazardous foods produced in the home kitchen of a domestic residence. (11) 'Home kitchen' means a kitchen primarily intended for use by the residents of a home. It may contain one or more stoves or ovens, which may be a double oven, designed for residential use. It must not include commercial types of equipment. Rule 40-7-19-.05 Cottage Food Limitations: (1) May only produce non-potentially hazardous foods. Examples include: (a) Loaf breads, rolls, and biscuits; (b) Cakes (except those that require refrigeration due to cream cheese icing, fillings, or high moisture content such as tres leche); (c) Pastries and cookies; (d) Candies and confections; (e) Fruit pies; (f) Jams, jellies, and preserves; (g) Dried fruits; (h) Dry herbs, seasonings and mixtures; (i) Cereals, trail mixes, and granola; (j) Coated or uncoated nuts; (k) Vinegar and flavored vinegars; (l) Popcorn, popcorn balls, and cotton candy.
Source: rules.sos.ga.gov/gac/40-7-19 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Fulton County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeFulton County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Fulton County, Georgia?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Fulton County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Fulton County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Fulton County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Fulton County. Ask Fulton County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Georgia?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Fulton County?
Apply via Fulton County environmental health (agr.georgia.gov). Official link: https://agr.georgia.gov/cottage-food-license. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Georgia cottage food law in Fulton County?
Since July 2025 (HB 398), Georgia allows almost any non-potentially hazardous food, including baked goods, candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, oils, pickles, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, preserves, snacks, and carbonated drinks. Georgia also allows interstate sales of cottage food products, which is rare among states. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Georgia, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Fulton County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Complaint-based only under new HB 398 framework (effective July 2025). GDA has no routine inspection authority for cottage food.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Georgia report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeFulton County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Fulton County.
Download county reportFull Georgia License & Permit Guide (476 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Fulton County.
Georgia law pageFree email alerts
Fulton County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Fulton County, with Georgia statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Fulton County page based on?
Where to verify Fulton County rules
Fulton County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Fulton County This county | Gwinnett County | Cobb County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | State baseline applies | Not specified in state rules; standard sanitation applies | Not specified; standard sanitation applies |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Yes | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | State law (eff. July 2025) allows interstate sales, wholesale, retail, online, and restaurant sales. No annual sales cap. Broad food catego… | As of HB 398 (July 2025): direct-to-consumer, online, retail store sales, and wholesale permitted. No state cap. Check local zoning for pic… | As of HB 398 (July 2025): direct-to-consumer, online, retail store sales, and wholesale permitted. No state cap. |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Local business license | Varies by city | Yes | Yes |
| Restrictions | Georgia HB 398 (effective July 1, 2025) dramatically expanded the cottage food law: no license or fee required, complaint-based inspections… | Must use home kitchen. As of July 1, 2025 (HB 398), no state license required. ANSI-accredited food safety training (food handler level acc… | State baseline applies. As of HB 398 (July 1, 2025): no state license required. ANSI-accredited food safety training (food handler level ac… |
| Food storage | State baseline applies | Standard food storage practices required; no specific county overrides found | Standard food storage practices |
| Population | 1,061,944 | 957,977 | 765,813 |
What other Georgia counties can I compare?
Other Georgia counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Fulton County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Georgia's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Fulton County bakers?
Fulton County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Fulton County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Fulton County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Fulton County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Fulton County at a glance?
File with Fulton County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Fulton County environmental health(agr.georgia.gov)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Fulton County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Fulton County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Fulton County
- Check with Fulton County business license office
Want store shelves? → Step 2
Georgia Department of Agriculture — Cottage Food FAQ · Fulton County Zoning Resolution — Article IV §4.12 Home O…
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Georgia
- Selling to stores: check with Georgia Department of Agriculture
Fulton County
- Check with Fulton County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Georgia
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Georgia Department of Agriculture
Fulton County
- Check with Fulton County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Georgia · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Georgia Department of Agriculture.
Georgia · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Georgia Department of Agriculture.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.