Cottage food law & license in Franklin County, KY

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep
Franklin County Permits 101 for Franklin County, Kentucky (75 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Kentucky cottage food — common first products
County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.
What's in the Franklin County permit report


How to start in Franklin County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Kentucky cottage food rules in Franklin County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Kentucky cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions.). Franklin County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $60,000. On-site / porch pickup in Franklin County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Franklin County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Kentucky disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Kentucky label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced and processed”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Franklin County is a county in Kentucky (pop. 51,475). Under Kentucky's Okay-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 60000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Kentucky Department for Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Franklin County health and planning requirements via the health department links on this page. Local notes for Franklin County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Franklin County Health Department (FCHD) has a specific webpage on the Home-Based Processor Law. Registration is with state Food Safety Branch ($50/year), not county. Franklin County is the seat of state government; FCHD references HB 263 and KRS 217.136. Allowed foods include: dried herbs/spices, candies, dried grains, granola, trail mix, whole fruits/vegetables, dried fruits, mixed greens, high-acid jams/jellies, sweet sorghum syrup, maple syrup, fruit butter, bread, fruit pies, pecan pies, cakes, cookies, popcorn. Annual cap $60,000. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
Franklin County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Franklin County.
Download county reportFull Kentucky License & Permit Guide (409 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Tier: Okay
Kentucky has an Okay-tier cottage food law — meaningful sales caps and/or limited channels. Operable for a side business, but you'll likely outgrow the rules if you want to go full-time.
Kentucky cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Franklin County
State baseline: KRS §217.136; 902 KAR 45:090
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must be primary residence kitchen. Production limited to non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable foods. No more than two non-commercial ranges/ovens and three refrigerators. Commercial equipment and separate commercial kitchen prohibited. Annual gross sales cap $60,000. Must register with Kentucky Food Safety Branch ($50/year).
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not explicitly stated in regulations; standard sanitation practices apply.
- Water supply
- Not specified in regulations.
- Handwashing
- Standard sanitation implied; no explicit handwashing station requirement.
- Food storage
- Perishable ingredients must be refrigerated. Products must be shelf-stable and non-potentially hazardous.
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection. Food Safety Branch (502-564-7181) may investigate on complaint or foodborne illness report.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Franklin County Health Department administers Home-Based Processor Law (HB 263). No separate local home occupation permit identified in research for unincorporated Franklin County. City of Frankfort may require separate business licensing for cottage food operations within city limits. Recommend verifying with Franklin County Planning.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Products may be sold from the home (pickup or delivery), at non-permitted markets, roadside stands, community events, and online within Kentucky. No wholesale or indirect sales.
- Max employees in home
- No employees beyond household members specified in Home-Based Processor rules.
- Relevant code section
- KRS §217.136; 902 KAR 45:090; HB 263 (2018); HB 468
Franklin County Health Department (FCHD) has a specific webpage on the Home-Based Processor Law. Registration is with state Food Safety Branch ($50/year), not county. Franklin County is the seat of state government; FCHD references HB 263 and KRS 217.136. Allowed foods include: dried herbs/spices, candies, dried grains, granola, trail mix, whole fruits/vegetables, dried fruits, mixed greens, high-acid jams/jellies, sweet sorghum syrup, maple syrup, fruit butter, bread, fruit pies, pecan pies, cakes, cookies, popcorn. Annual cap $60,000.
Kentucky Revised Statutes §217.136 — Home-Based Food Processors; Exemption from Permit Requirement and Fair Packaging and Labeling Laws (§217.137 addresses home-based microprocessors)
Full Kentucky License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt217.136 Home-based food processors -- Exemption from permit requirement and fair packaging and labeling laws -- Production, labeling, and sales of home-processed food products -- Inspections -- Registration system. (1) A home-based processor shall be exempt from KRS 217.035 and 217.037 if the following conditions are met: (a) All finished product containers are clean, sanitary, and properly labeled pursuant to subsection (3) of this section; (b) All home-processed foods produced under this exemption are neither adulterated nor misbranded pursuant to subsection (4) of this section; and (c) All glass containers for jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, and similar products are provided with suitable rigid metal covers. (2) A home-based processor shall not produce or process for sale acid foods, acidified food products, formulated acid food products, or low-acid canned foods. (3) A home-based processor shall label each of its food products and include the following information: (a) The name and address of the home-based processing operation; (b) The common or usual name of the food product; (c) The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (d) The net weight and volume of the food product by standard measure, or numerical count; (e) The following statement in ten (10) point type: "This product is home-produced and processed"; and (f) The date the product was processed. (5) Food products [...] may only be offered for sale directly to consumers within this state, including from the home-based processor's home, whether by pick-up or delivery, at a market, roadside stand, community event, or online. (12) Beginning January 1, 2020, a home-based processor shall be registered with the cabinet.
Source: apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=48558 →
Franklin County Permit Guide $26
This page stays free — the Franklin County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (75 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Franklin County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Franklin County, Kentucky?
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Franklin County Health Department administers Home-Based Processor Law (HB 263). No separate local home occupation permit identified in research for unincorporated Franklin County. City of Frankfort may require separate business licensing for cottage food operations within city limits. Recommend verifying with Franklin County Planning. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Kentucky guide at https://crosodo.com/states/kentucky.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Franklin County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: No routine inspection. Food Safety Branch (502-564-7181) may investigate on complaint or foodborne illness report.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
What foods can I sell under Kentucky cottage food law in Franklin County?
Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Kentucky, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Kentucky?
Kentucky state law lists cottage food sales at 60000. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.
Do I need a home occupation permit in Franklin County?
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Franklin County Health Department administers Home-Based Processor Law (HB 263). No separate local home occupation permit identified in research for unincorporated Franklin County. City of Frankfort may require separate business licensing for cottage food operations within city limits. Recommend verifying with Franklin County Planning.
The free county page is the short version. This is the full Kentucky License & Permit Guide (409 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Kentucky License & Permit Guide (409 pages).

Where to verify Franklin County rules
Franklin County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Franklin County This county | Shelby County | Scott County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not explicitly stated in regulations; standard sanitation practices apply. | Not specified in state law | KY state rules do not explicitly address pets but good sanitation practices apply. No specific county override found. |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Conditional |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Products may be sold from the home (pickup or delivery), at non-permitted markets, roadside stands, community events, and online within Ken… | Direct-to-consumer only within KY; farmers markets, roadside stands, fairs, festivals, community events, online orders (in-state); home pic… | Direct sales to consumers only (KRS §217.136). In-person at home, farmers markets, events, and similar. No wholesale/retail store channel. |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | Conditional |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Yes |
| Restrictions | Must be primary residence kitchen. Production limited to non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable foods. No more than two non-commercial ran… | Annual sales cap $60,000. Registration required with KY Dept of Public Health ($50/year). No food handler cert required. Inspection upon co… | Must be producer's primary residence. No commercial ranges/ovens beyond two units; no more than three refrigerators. Commercial equipment p… |
| Food storage | Perishable ingredients must be refrigerated. Products must be shelf-stable and non-potentially hazardous. | Appropriate storage for non-TCS products | All products must be shelf-stable and non-potentially hazardous. Proper storage to prevent contamination. |
| Population | 51,475 | 48,105 | 57,286 |
Franklin County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Franklin County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Other Kentucky counties
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Advertise here
Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise in Franklin County, Kentucky
Reach home bakers in Franklin County, Kentucky. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.
Learn about placementsYour business here
Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.
Post in the local discussionAds are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Kentucky's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.