Cottage food law & license in Shelby County, KY
What's in the Shelby County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Shelby County?
More Shelby County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Shelby County?
How to start in Shelby County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Kentucky cottage food rules in Shelby County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Kentucky cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions.). Shelby County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $60,000. On-site / porch pickup in Shelby County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Shelby County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Kentucky disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Kentucky label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced and processed”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Kentucky county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Kentucky county rules quiz
Shelby County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Kentucky statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Shelby County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Shelby County cottage food rules with Kentucky agencies?
Shelby County is a county in Kentucky (pop. 48,105). Under Kentucky's Okay-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 60000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Kentucky Department for Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Shelby County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Shelby County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Kentucky Okay-tier state. $60,000 annual cap. Local ordinances not preempted by state law. State law confirmed via IJ.org and CHFS.ky.gov. No county-specific zoning records identified for home occupation / cottage food overlay. Defaulted to state baseline. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Shelby County?
Tier: Okay
Kentucky has an Okay-tier cottage food law — meaningful sales caps and/or limited channels. Operable for a side business, but you'll likely outgrow the rules if you want to go full-time.
Kentucky cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Shelby County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Shelby County
State baseline: KRS §217.137
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Annual sales cap $60,000. Registration required with KY Dept of Public Health ($50/year). No food handler cert required. Inspection upon complaint only. Direct-to-consumer sales only; no wholesale or retail. Allowed: non-TCS baked goods, candies, jams/jellies, fruit butters, maple/sorghum syrups, granola, dried goods, snack mixes, popcorn. Prohibited: acidified foods, pickles, salsas, nut butters, fermented foods, low-acid canned foods, meats. No more than two non-commercial ranges/ovens and three refrigerators.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state law
- Water supply
- Standard residential water supply
- Handwashing
- Good sanitation practices implied
- Food storage
- Appropriate storage for non-TCS products
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- Consumer complaint or foodborne illness investigation
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- Shelby County zoning is administered by the Triple S Planning Commission (shelbypz.com/zoning-regulations). County regulations cover unincorporated areas; Shelbyville and Simpsonville have separate ordinances. Home occupation provisions are standard; no cottage food-specific overlay identified. Planning commission contact: Triple S Planning Commission, Shelbyville KY.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct-to-consumer only within KY; farmers markets, roadside stands, fairs, festivals, community events, online orders (in-state); home pickup and delivery allowed. No wholesale, no mail delivery, no out-of-state.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified
- Relevant code section
- Not identified
Kentucky Okay-tier state. $60,000 annual cap. Local ordinances not preempted by state law. State law confirmed via IJ.org and CHFS.ky.gov. No county-specific zoning records identified for home occupation / cottage food overlay. Defaulted to state baseline.
What does the Kentucky cottage food statute say?
Kentucky Revised Statutes §217.136 — Home-Based Food Processors; Exemption from Permit Requirement and Fair Packaging and Labeling Laws (§217.137 addresses home-based microprocessors)
Full Kentucky License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt217.136 Home-based food processors -- Exemption from permit requirement and fair packaging and labeling laws -- Production, labeling, and sales of home-processed food products -- Inspections -- Registration system. (1) A home-based processor shall be exempt from KRS 217.035 and 217.037 if the following conditions are met: (a) All finished product containers are clean, sanitary, and properly labeled pursuant to subsection (3) of this section; (b) All home-processed foods produced under this exemption are neither adulterated nor misbranded pursuant to subsection (4) of this section; and (c) All glass containers for jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, and similar products are provided with suitable rigid metal covers. (2) A home-based processor shall not produce or process for sale acid foods, acidified food products, formulated acid food products, or low-acid canned foods. (3) A home-based processor shall label each of its food products and include the following information: (a) The name and address of the home-based processing operation; (b) The common or usual name of the food product; (c) The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (d) The net weight and volume of the food product by standard measure, or numerical count; (e) The following statement in ten (10) point type: "This product is home-produced and processed"; and (f) The date the product was processed. (5) Food products [...] may only be offered for sale directly to consumers within this state, including from the home-based processor's home, whether by pick-up or delivery, at a market, roadside stand, community event, or online. (12) Beginning January 1, 2020, a home-based processor shall be registered with the cabinet.
Source: apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=48558 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Shelby County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeShelby County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Shelby County, Kentucky?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Shelby County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Shelby County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Shelby County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Shelby County. Ask Shelby County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Kentucky?
$60,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Shelby County?
Apply through Shelby County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Shelby County, Kentucky — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Kentucky cottage food law in Shelby County?
Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Kentucky, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Shelby County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Consumer complaint or foodborne illness investigation. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Kentucky report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeShelby County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Shelby County.
Download county reportFull Kentucky License & Permit Guide (409 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Shelby County.
Kentucky law pageFree email alerts
Shelby County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Shelby County, with Kentucky statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Shelby County page based on?
Where to verify Shelby County rules
Shelby County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Shelby County This county | Franklin County | Oldham County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state law | Not explicitly stated in regulations; standard sanitation practices apply. | Not specified in state law |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct-to-consumer only within KY; farmers markets, roadside stands, fairs, festivals, community events, online orders (in-state); home pic… | Products may be sold from the home (pickup or delivery), at non-permitted markets, roadside stands, community events, and online within Ken… | Direct-to-consumer only; no wholesale; no internet sales to out-of-state |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Conditional | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Annual sales cap $60,000. Registration required with KY Dept of Public Health ($50/year). No food handler cert required. Inspection upon co… | Must be primary residence kitchen. Production limited to non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable foods. No more than two non-commercial ran… | Annual sales cap $60,000. No food handler cert required. Registration required with KY Dept of Public Health. Inspection upon complaint onl… |
| Food storage | Appropriate storage for non-TCS products | Perishable ingredients must be refrigerated. Products must be shelf-stable and non-potentially hazardous. | Appropriate storage for non-TCS products |
| Population | 48,105 | 51,475 | 67,997 |
What other Kentucky counties can I compare?
Other Kentucky counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Shelby County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Kentucky's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Shelby County bakers?
Shelby County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Shelby County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Shelby County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Shelby County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Shelby County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Shelby County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Shelby County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Shelby County
- Check with Shelby County business license office
- Check with Shelby County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Kentucky
- Selling to stores: check with Kentucky Department for Public Health
Shelby County
- Check with Shelby County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Kentucky
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Kentucky Department for Public Health
Shelby County
- Check with Shelby County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Kentucky · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Kentucky Department for Public Health.
Kentucky · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Kentucky Department for Public Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.