Cottage food law & license in Forrest County, MS
What's in the Forrest County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Forrest County?
More Forrest County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Forrest County?
How to start in Forrest County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Mississippi cottage food rules in Forrest County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Mississippi cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Nonpotentially hazardous food products as defined by the Mississippi State Department of Health, including baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, donuts), candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, pickles, vinegars), dry goods (cereals, dried fruit, mixes, pasta, spices), fermented foods, pastries, preserves (jams, jellies), and snacks (caramel corn, chocolate-covered items, crackers, granola, kettle corn, marshmallows, nuts, popcorn). Certain items may require lab testing to confirm non-PHF status.). Forrest County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $35,000. On-site / porch pickup in Forrest County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Forrest County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Mississippi disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Mississippi label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made in a cottage food operation that is not subject to Mississippi's food safety regulations.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Mississippi county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Mississippi county rules quiz
Forrest County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Mississippi statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Forrest County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Forrest County cottage food rules with Mississippi agencies?
Forrest County is a county in Mississippi (pop. 77,917). Under Mississippi's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 35000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Mississippi State Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Forrest County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Forrest County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. State baseline confirms Mississippi cottage food law (§75-29-951) with $35,000 annual cap and direct sales only restriction. No Forrest County-specific ordinance found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Forrest County?
Tier: Good
Mississippi has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Mississippi cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Forrest County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Forrest County
State baseline: Miss. Code Ann. §75-29-951
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Non-potentially hazardous food products as defined by MSDH. $35,000 annual sales cap. Direct sales only — no internet, mail order, wholesale, or retail establishment sales.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state statute, but standard sanitary practices apply.
- Water supply
- Potable water required.
- Handwashing
- No food handler certification required at state level.
- Food storage
- Non-potentially hazardous products must be stored appropriately.
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- MSDH may inspect upon complaint. No routine inspection required.
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- No state-level home occupation permit required. Forrest County may have local zoning requirements. No Forrest County-specific cottage food ordinance found.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct sales to consumers only. In-person sales at home, farmers markets, events. No internet, mail order, wholesale, or retail store sales.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified.
- Relevant code section
- No Forrest County-specific cottage food code section found.
State baseline confirms Mississippi cottage food law (§75-29-951) with $35,000 annual cap and direct sales only restriction. No Forrest County-specific ordinance found.
What does the Mississippi cottage food statute say?
Mississippi Code 1972 §75-29-951 - Regulation of Cottage Food Operations (Title 75, Chapter 29, Article 21)
Full Mississippi License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(1)(a) A cottage food operation must comply with the applicable requirements of this section but is exempt from the permitting requirements of Section 41-3-18 if the cottage food operation complies with this section and has annual gross sales of cottage food products that do not exceed Thirty-five Thousand Dollars ($35,000.00). (b) For purposes of this subsection, a cottage food operation's annual gross sales include all sales of cottage food products at any location, regardless of the types of products sold or the number of persons involved in the operation. A cottage food operation must provide the department, upon request, with written documentation to verify the operation's annual gross sales. (2) A cottage food operation may not sell cottage food products over the Internet, by mail order, or at wholesale or to a retail establishment; however, this does not prohibit the advertising of cottage food products over the Internet, including through social media. Cottage food products are nonpotentially hazardous food products as defined by the department. (3) A cottage food operation may only sell cottage food products which are prepackaged with a label affixed that contains the following information: (a) The name and address of the cottage food operation; (b) The name of the cottage food product; (c) The ingredients of the cottage food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (d) The net weight or net volume of the cottage food product; (e) Allergen information as specified by federal labeling requirements; (f) Appropriate nutritional information as specified by federal labeling requirements, if any nutritional claim is made; and (g) The following statement printed in at least ten-point type in a color that provides a clear contrast to the background of the label: "Made in a cottage food operation that is not subject to Mississippi's food safety regulations." (5)(b) Only upon receipt of a complaint, the department's authorized officer or employee may enter and inspect the premises of a cottage food operation to determine compliance with this section and department rules.
Source: law.justia.com/codes/mississippi/title-75/chapter-29/article-21/section-75-29-951/ →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Forrest County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeForrest County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Forrest County, Mississippi?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Forrest County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Forrest County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Forrest County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Forrest County. Ask Forrest County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Mississippi?
$35,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Forrest County?
Apply through Forrest County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Forrest County, Mississippi — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Mississippi cottage food law in Forrest County?
Nonpotentially hazardous food products as defined by the Mississippi State Department of Health, including baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, donuts), candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, pickles, vinegars), dry goods (cereals, dried fruit, mixes, pasta, spices), fermented foods, pastries, preserves (jams, jellies), and snacks (caramel corn, chocolate-covered items, crackers, granola, kettle corn, marshmallows, nuts, popcorn). Certain items may require lab testing to confirm non-PHF status. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Mississippi, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Forrest County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: MSDH may inspect upon complaint. No routine inspection required.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Mississippi report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeForrest County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Forrest County.
Download county reportFull Mississippi License & Permit Guide (285 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Forrest County.
Mississippi law pageFree email alerts
Forrest County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Forrest County, with Mississippi statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Forrest County page based on?
Where to verify Forrest County rules
Forrest County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Forrest County This county | Jones County | Lamar County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state statute, but standard sanitary practices apply. | Not specified in state law | No specific state prohibition; good manufacturing practice applies |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct sales to consumers only. In-person sales at home, farmers markets, events. No internet, mail order, wholesale, or retail store sales. | Direct-to-consumer only; no internet or mail order sales | Direct sales at home, farmers markets, and events. No internet, mail order, wholesale, or retail establishment sales. |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Non-potentially hazardous food products as defined by MSDH. $35,000 annual sales cap. Direct sales only — no internet, mail order, wholesal… | Annual sales cap $35,000. No food handler cert required. No registration required. Inspection upon complaint only. Direct-to-consumer sales… | Non-PHF foods only. $35,000 annual sales cap. Direct sales only (no internet, mail order, wholesale, or retail establishment sales). No reg… |
| Food storage | Non-potentially hazardous products must be stored appropriately. | Non-PHF shelf-stable products; appropriate storage required | Non-PHF shelf-stable foods; proper storage required |
| Population | 77,917 | 67,152 | 64,425 |
What other Mississippi counties can I compare?
Other Mississippi counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Forrest County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Mississippi's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Forrest County bakers?
Forrest County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Forrest County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Forrest County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Forrest County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Forrest County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Forrest County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Mississippi
Forrest County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Mississippi
Forrest County
- Check with Forrest County business license office
- Check with Forrest County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Mississippi
- Selling to stores: check with Mississippi State Department of Health
Forrest County
- Check with Forrest County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Mississippi
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Mississippi State Department of Health
Forrest County
- Check with Forrest County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Mississippi · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Mississippi State Department of Health.
Mississippi · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Mississippi State Department of Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.