Cottage food law & license in Jones County, MS
What's in the Jones County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Jones County?
More Jones County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Jones County?
How to start in Jones County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Mississippi cottage food rules in Jones County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Mississippi cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Nonpotentially hazardous food products as defined by the Mississippi State Department of Health, including baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, donuts), candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, pickles, vinegars), dry goods (cereals, dried fruit, mixes, pasta, spices), fermented foods, pastries, preserves (jams, jellies), and snacks (caramel corn, chocolate-covered items, crackers, granola, kettle corn, marshmallows, nuts, popcorn). Certain items may require lab testing to confirm non-PHF status.). Jones County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $35,000. On-site / porch pickup in Jones County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Jones County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Mississippi disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Mississippi label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made in a cottage food operation that is not subject to Mississippi's food safety regulations.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Mississippi county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Mississippi county rules quiz
Jones County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Mississippi statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Jones County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Jones County cottage food rules with Mississippi agencies?
Jones County is a county in Mississippi (pop. 67,152). Under Mississippi's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 35000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Mississippi State Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Jones County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Jones County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Mississippi Good-tier state with $35,000 cap. Internet/mail order sales prohibited. No county-specific sources available. Pattern county. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Jones County?
Tier: Good
Mississippi has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Mississippi cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Jones County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Jones County
State baseline: Miss. Code Ann. §75-29-951
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Annual sales cap $35,000. No food handler cert required. No registration required. Inspection upon complaint only. Direct-to-consumer sales only; no wholesale, no indirect sales. Non-PHF foods only. Prohibited: PHF requiring refrigeration, nut butters, juices, internet/mail order sales.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state law
- Water supply
- Standard residential water supply
- Handwashing
- Good sanitation practices implied
- Food storage
- Non-PHF shelf-stable products; appropriate storage required
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- Consumer complaint or foodborne illness investigation
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- Note: batch input had data corruption (county_govt_url showing 'Mississippi State Department of Health' text). Jones County unincorporated areas follow county zoning. Cities of Laurel and Ellisville have their own zoning. No county-specific cottage food overlay identified.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct-to-consumer only; no internet or mail order sales
- Max employees in home
- Not specified
- Relevant code section
- Not identified
Mississippi Good-tier state with $35,000 cap. Internet/mail order sales prohibited. No county-specific sources available. Pattern county.
What does the Mississippi cottage food statute say?
Mississippi Code 1972 §75-29-951 - Regulation of Cottage Food Operations (Title 75, Chapter 29, Article 21)
Full Mississippi License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(1)(a) A cottage food operation must comply with the applicable requirements of this section but is exempt from the permitting requirements of Section 41-3-18 if the cottage food operation complies with this section and has annual gross sales of cottage food products that do not exceed Thirty-five Thousand Dollars ($35,000.00). (b) For purposes of this subsection, a cottage food operation's annual gross sales include all sales of cottage food products at any location, regardless of the types of products sold or the number of persons involved in the operation. A cottage food operation must provide the department, upon request, with written documentation to verify the operation's annual gross sales. (2) A cottage food operation may not sell cottage food products over the Internet, by mail order, or at wholesale or to a retail establishment; however, this does not prohibit the advertising of cottage food products over the Internet, including through social media. Cottage food products are nonpotentially hazardous food products as defined by the department. (3) A cottage food operation may only sell cottage food products which are prepackaged with a label affixed that contains the following information: (a) The name and address of the cottage food operation; (b) The name of the cottage food product; (c) The ingredients of the cottage food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (d) The net weight or net volume of the cottage food product; (e) Allergen information as specified by federal labeling requirements; (f) Appropriate nutritional information as specified by federal labeling requirements, if any nutritional claim is made; and (g) The following statement printed in at least ten-point type in a color that provides a clear contrast to the background of the label: "Made in a cottage food operation that is not subject to Mississippi's food safety regulations." (5)(b) Only upon receipt of a complaint, the department's authorized officer or employee may enter and inspect the premises of a cottage food operation to determine compliance with this section and department rules.
Source: law.justia.com/codes/mississippi/title-75/chapter-29/article-21/section-75-29-951/ →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Jones County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeJones County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Jones County, Mississippi?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Jones County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Jones County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Jones County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Jones County. Ask Jones County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Mississippi?
$35,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Jones County?
Apply through Jones County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Jones County, Mississippi — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Mississippi cottage food law in Jones County?
Nonpotentially hazardous food products as defined by the Mississippi State Department of Health, including baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, donuts), candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, pickles, vinegars), dry goods (cereals, dried fruit, mixes, pasta, spices), fermented foods, pastries, preserves (jams, jellies), and snacks (caramel corn, chocolate-covered items, crackers, granola, kettle corn, marshmallows, nuts, popcorn). Certain items may require lab testing to confirm non-PHF status. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Mississippi, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Jones County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Consumer complaint or foodborne illness investigation. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Mississippi report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeJones County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Jones County.
Download county reportFull Mississippi License & Permit Guide (285 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Jones County.
Mississippi law pageFree email alerts
Jones County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Jones County, with Mississippi statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Jones County page based on?
Where to verify Jones County rules
Jones County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Jones County This county | Forrest County | Wayne County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state statute, but standard sanitary practices apply. | Not specified in state cottage food law. |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct-to-consumer only; no internet or mail order sales | Direct sales to consumers only. In-person sales at home, farmers markets, events. No internet, mail order, wholesale, or retail store sales. | In-person direct-to-consumer sales only. No internet sales, mail order, wholesale, or retail establishment sales permitted under state law. |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Varies | Conditional |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Annual sales cap $35,000. No food handler cert required. No registration required. Inspection upon complaint only. Direct-to-consumer sales… | Non-potentially hazardous food products as defined by MSDH. $35,000 annual sales cap. Direct sales only — no internet, mail order, wholesal… | Must produce in home kitchen. Non-potentially hazardous foods only. Annual gross sales cap $35,000. Direct-to-consumer sales only (no inter… |
| Food storage | Non-PHF shelf-stable products; appropriate storage required | Non-potentially hazardous products must be stored appropriately. | Products must be non-potentially hazardous and not require refrigeration. |
| Population | 67,152 | 77,917 | 19,760 |
What other Mississippi counties can I compare?
Other Mississippi counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Jones County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Mississippi's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Jones County bakers?
Jones County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Jones County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Jones County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Jones County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Jones County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Jones County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Mississippi
Jones County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Mississippi
Jones County
- Check with Jones County business license office
- Check with Jones County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Mississippi
- Selling to stores: check with Mississippi State Department of Health
Jones County
- Check with Jones County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Mississippi
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Mississippi State Department of Health
Jones County
- Check with Jones County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Mississippi · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Mississippi State Department of Health.
Mississippi · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Mississippi State Department of Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.