Cottage food law & license in Grady County, OK
What's in the Grady County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Grady County?
More Grady County resources
What's new for Oklahoma cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Grady County?
How to start in Grady County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Oklahoma cottage food rules in Grady County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Oklahoma cottage food rules control what you may make at home (The Homemade Food Freedom Act covers a broad range of homemade food products including beverages, baked goods, and any food produced and packaged at a residence, provided it is not an alcoholic beverage, unpasteurized milk, or cannabis product. Non-time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (non-TCS) foods with pH 4.6 or below or water activity 0.85 or below are fully exempt from licensing. Time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (TCS) foods are also allowed but require food safety training.). Grady County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $75,000. On-site / porch pickup in Grady County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Grady County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Oklahoma disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Oklahoma label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a private residence that is exempt from government licensing and inspection.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Oklahoma county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Oklahoma county rules quiz
Grady County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Oklahoma statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Grady County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Grady County cottage food rules with Oklahoma agencies?
Grady County is a county in Oklahoma (pop. 55,314). Under Oklahoma's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 75000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Oklahoma State Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Grady County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Grady County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Grady County is a rural county southwest of Oklahoma City. Oklahoma's Homemade Food Freedom Act (2021 HB 1032) is one of the broadest in the nation, allowing TCS foods with food safety training and $75,000 annual cap. No county-specific rules found. State OSDH URL may return 404; enrolled bill PDF at oklahoma.gov/health is authoritative source. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Grady County?
Tier: Freedom
Oklahoma has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.
Oklahoma cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Grady County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Grady County
State baseline: 2 O.S. §5-4.1 through §5-4.6 (Homemade Food Freedom Act, amended 2021)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- All homemade foods up to $75,000/year including beverages and TCS foods (with food safety training for TCS items). Non-TCS foods fully exempt from licensing. Prohibited: alcoholic beverages, unpasteurized milk, cannabis products. No registration required. Sales through retail/online permitted with indirect sales for non-TCS foods.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No specific OK state or Grady County restriction.
- Water supply
- No formal requirement.
- Handwashing
- Food safety training recommended (required for TCS foods).
- Food storage
- Non-TCS: no refrigeration needed. TCS foods require appropriate temperature control during production/sale.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- Oklahoma OSDH may investigate upon complaint; no routine inspections.
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- Grady County may have home occupation zoning provisions for home-based businesses. No specific county-level cottage food ordinance identified. Contact Grady County government in Chickasha.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Broad sales allowed including retail stores and online for non-TCS foods. TCS foods must be sold directly to informed end consumer.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in OK statute.
- Relevant code section
- 2 O.S. §5-4.1 through §5-4.6; no Grady County-specific ordinance identified
Grady County is a rural county southwest of Oklahoma City. Oklahoma's Homemade Food Freedom Act (2021 HB 1032) is one of the broadest in the nation, allowing TCS foods with food safety training and $75,000 annual cap. No county-specific rules found. State OSDH URL may return 404; enrolled bill PDF at oklahoma.gov/health is authoritative source.
What does the Oklahoma cottage food statute say?
Oklahoma Statutes Title 2, Sections 5-4.1 through 5-4.6, Homemade Food Freedom Act (formerly Home Bakery Act of 2013, as amended by HB 1032, eff. November 1, 2021)
Full Oklahoma License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptSection 5-4.1 This act shall be known and may be cited as the "Homemade Food Freedom Act". Section 5-4.2 As used in the Homemade Food Freedom Act: 1. "Home food establishment" shall mean a business on the premises of a residence in which prepared homemade food products are created for sale or resale at farmers markets, on site, at cooperatives, through membership-based buying clubs or for delivery, if the business has gross annual sales of prepared food of less than Seventy-five Thousand Dollars ($75,000.00). Gross annual sales includes all sales of prepared food produced by the business at any location; and 2. "Delivered" shall mean transferred to the customer, either immediately upon sale or at a time thereafter; 3. "Homemade food product" shall mean food, including a beverage, which is produced and, if packaged, packaged at a residence; provided, however, homemade food product shall not mean alcoholic beverages or unpasteurized milk or cannabis or marijuana products; 4. "Non-time- or -temperature-controlled for safety" shall mean food that does not require time or temperature control for safety to limit the rapid and progressive growth of infectious or toxigenic microorganisms, including foods that have a pH level of four and six-tenths (4.6) or below or a water activity (aw) of 0.85 or below. Section 5-4.3 A. A home food establishment may sell prepared food on site, by delivery, at a farmers market, through a cooperative, or through a membership-based buying club.
Source: oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/health/health2/aem-documents/protective-health/consumer-health-services/food-service/HB1032-ENR.pdf →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Grady County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeGrady County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Grady County, Oklahoma?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Grady County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Grady County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Grady County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Grady County. Ask Grady County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Oklahoma?
$75,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Grady County?
Apply through Grady County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Grady County, Oklahoma — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Oklahoma cottage food law in Grady County?
The Homemade Food Freedom Act covers a broad range of homemade food products including beverages, baked goods, and any food produced and packaged at a residence, provided it is not an alcoholic beverage, unpasteurized milk, or cannabis product. Non-time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (non-TCS) foods with pH 4.6 or below or water activity 0.85 or below are fully exempt from licensing. Time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (TCS) foods are also allowed but require food safety training. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Oklahoma, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Grady County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: Oklahoma OSDH may investigate upon complaint; no routine inspections.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Oklahoma report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeGrady County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Grady County.
Download county reportFull Oklahoma License & Permit Guide (239 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Grady County.
Oklahoma law pageFree email alerts
Grady County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Grady County, with Oklahoma statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Grady County page based on?
Where to verify Grady County rules
Grady County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Grady County This county | McClain County | Stephens County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No specific OK state or Grady County restriction. | Not specified in state law; standard sanitation practices apply | Not specified in state law; good sanitation practices implied |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Broad sales allowed including retail stores and online for non-TCS foods. TCS foods must be sold directly to informed end consumer. | Sales allowed on-site (home), by delivery, at farmers markets, through cooperatives, and through membership-based buying clubs. Non-TCS foo… | Producer or producer's designated agent may deliver in-state only. Third-party delivery services not permitted for TCS foods. |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | All homemade foods up to $75,000/year including beverages and TCS foods (with food safety training for TCS items). Non-TCS foods fully exem… | Production must occur at producer's primary residence. Annual gross sales cap of $75,000. Non-TCS foods: no license, inspection, or registr… | Producer must reside in the home. Annual sales cap of $75,000. TCS foods require completion of food safety training prior to sale. Labeling… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS: no refrigeration needed. TCS foods require appropriate temperature control during production/sale. | Not specified in state law; standard food safety practices implied | Proper food storage implied under sanitation requirements |
| Population | 55,314 | 43,799 | 43,143 |
What other Oklahoma counties can I compare?
Other Oklahoma counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Grady County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Oklahoma's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Grady County bakers?
Grady County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Grady County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Grady County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Grady County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Grady County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Grady County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Grady County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Grady County
- Check with Grady County business license office
- Check with Grady County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Oklahoma
- Selling to stores: check with Oklahoma State Department of Health
Grady County
- Check with Grady County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Oklahoma
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Oklahoma State Department of Health
Grady County
- Check with Grady County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Oklahoma · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Oklahoma State Department of Health.
Oklahoma · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Oklahoma State Department of Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.