Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Oklahoma Report Guide · 239 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Duncan · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Stephens County, OK

Can I sell cottage food from home in Stephens County, Oklahoma?
Yes — Oklahoma allows cottage food sales under a Freedom-tier law (cap: 75000). Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 6, 2026. Confirm with Oklahoma State Department of Health and the Stephens County health department before you sell.

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Stephens County Permits 101 for Stephens County, Oklahoma (68 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Can I sell this in Stephens County?

Oklahoma cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Stephens County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Stephens County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Stephens County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Stephens County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Oklahoma cottage food rules in Stephens County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Oklahoma cottage food rules control what you may make at home (The Homemade Food Freedom Act covers a broad range of homemade food products including beverages, baked goods, and any food produced and packaged at a residence, provided it is not an alcoholic beverage, unpasteurized milk, or cannabis product. Non-time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (non-TCS) foods with pH 4.6 or below or water activity 0.85 or below are fully exempt from licensing. Time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (TCS) foods are also allowed but require food safety training.). Stephens County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $75,000. On-site / porch pickup in Stephens County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Stephens County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Oklahoma disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Oklahoma label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a private residence that is exempt from government licensing and inspection.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Stephens County is a county in Oklahoma (pop. 43,140). Under Oklahoma's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 75000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Oklahoma State Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Stephens County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Stephens County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Oklahoma Homemade Food Freedom Act (HB 1032, 2021) is a permissive freedom-tier law. State exempts producers from all OSDH and ODAFF licensing. $75,000 annual sales cap. TCS foods allowed with food safety training. Stephens County is in south-central Oklahoma. No county-specific zoning overlay found for cottage food. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Stephens County cottage food reports

What permits in Stephens County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Stephens County county cottage food report
Stephens County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Stephens County.

Download county report
Cover of Oklahoma cottage food law PDF report
Oklahoma state report

Full Oklahoma License & Permit Guide (239 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

State law applies

Tier: Freedom

Oklahoma has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.

Oklahoma cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Stephens County

State baseline: 2 O.S. §5-4.1 through §5-4.6 (Homemade Food Freedom Act)

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Producer must reside in the home. Annual sales cap of $75,000. TCS foods require completion of food safety training prior to sale. Labeling and disclosure requirements apply. Voluntary registration number available ($15/year) via ODAFF.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state law; good sanitation practices implied
Water supply
Standard residential water supply; no special requirement stated
Handwashing
Good sanitation practices required under state food safety framework
Food storage
Proper food storage implied under sanitation requirements
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
Investigation of reported foodborne illness only; no routine inspection
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
Stephens County unincorporated areas generally not subject to county-wide zoning in Oklahoma. Incorporated areas (e.g., Duncan) have their own zoning and business license requirements. No county-specific cottage food zoning overlay identified. Producers must collect sales tax via OTC sales tax permit when selling at farmers markets.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Producer or producer's designated agent may deliver in-state only. Third-party delivery services not permitted for TCS foods.
Max employees in home
No state limit on household members; non-resident employees not specifically addressed in HFFA
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Not identified
Local notes

Oklahoma Homemade Food Freedom Act (HB 1032, 2021) is a permissive freedom-tier law. State exempts producers from all OSDH and ODAFF licensing. $75,000 annual sales cap. TCS foods allowed with food safety training. Stephens County is in south-central Oklahoma. No county-specific zoning overlay found for cottage food.

Oklahoma statute (state law)

Oklahoma Statutes Title 2, Sections 5-4.1 through 5-4.6, Homemade Food Freedom Act (formerly Home Bakery Act of 2013, as amended by HB 1032, eff. November 1, 2021)

Citation: 2 O.S. §5-4.1 through §5-4.6 (Homemade Food Freedom Act)
Verbatim excerpt

Section 5-4.1 This act shall be known and may be cited as the "Homemade Food Freedom Act". Section 5-4.2 As used in the Homemade Food Freedom Act: 1. "Home food establishment" shall mean a business on the premises of a residence in which prepared homemade food products are created for sale or resale at farmers markets, on site, at cooperatives, through membership-based buying clubs or for delivery, if the business has gross annual sales of prepared food of less than Seventy-five Thousand Dollars ($75,000.00). Gross annual sales includes all sales of prepared food produced by the business at any location; and 2. "Delivered" shall mean transferred to the customer, either immediately upon sale or at a time thereafter; 3. "Homemade food product" shall mean food, including a beverage, which is produced and, if packaged, packaged at a residence; provided, however, homemade food product shall not mean alcoholic beverages or unpasteurized milk or cannabis or marijuana products; 4. "Non-time- or -temperature-controlled for safety" shall mean food that does not require time or temperature control for safety to limit the rapid and progressive growth of infectious or toxigenic microorganisms, including foods that have a pH level of four and six-tenths (4.6) or below or a water activity (aw) of 0.85 or below. Section 5-4.3 A. A home food establishment may sell prepared food on site, by delivery, at a farmers market, through a cooperative, or through a membership-based buying club.

Source: oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/health/health2/aem-documents/protective-health/consumer-health-services/food-service/HB1032-ENR.pdf
Full Oklahoma License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Stephens County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Stephens County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (68 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

See what's inside
Common questions

Stephens County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Stephens County, Oklahoma?

Home occupation permit: Varies. Stephens County unincorporated areas generally not subject to county-wide zoning in Oklahoma. Incorporated areas (e.g., Duncan) have their own zoning and business license requirements. No county-specific cottage food zoning overlay identified. Producers must collect sales tax via OTC sales tax permit when selling at farmers markets. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Oklahoma guide at https://crosodo.com/states/oklahoma.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Stephens County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: Investigation of reported foodborne illness only; no routine inspection. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Oklahoma cottage food law in Stephens County?

The Homemade Food Freedom Act covers a broad range of homemade food products including beverages, baked goods, and any food produced and packaged at a residence, provided it is not an alcoholic beverage, unpasteurized milk, or cannabis product. Non-time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (non-TCS) foods with pH 4.6 or below or water activity 0.85 or below are fully exempt from licensing. Time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (TCS) foods are also allowed but require food safety training. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Oklahoma, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma state law lists cottage food sales at 75000. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Stephens County?

Home occupation permit: Varies. Stephens County unincorporated areas generally not subject to county-wide zoning in Oklahoma. Incorporated areas (e.g., Duncan) have their own zoning and business license requirements. No county-specific cottage food zoning overlay identified. Producers must collect sales tax via OTC sales tax permit when selling at farmers markets.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Oklahoma License & Permit Guide (239 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Oklahoma License & Permit Guide (239 pages).

Quick comparison

Stephens County vs. bordering counties

RegulationStephens County
This county
Carter CountyGrady County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state law; good sanitation practices impliedNot specified in state law; standard sanitation practices applyNo specific OK state or Grady County restriction.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupProducer or producer's designated agent may deliver in-state only. Third-party delivery services not permitted for TCS foods.Sales allowed on-site (home), by delivery, at farmers markets, through cooperatives, and through membership-based buying clubs. Non-TCS foo…Broad sales allowed including retail stores and online for non-TCS foods. TCS foods must be sold directly to informed end consumer.
Home occupation permitVariesVariesVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsProducer must reside in the home. Annual sales cap of $75,000. TCS foods require completion of food safety training prior to sale. Labeling…Production must occur at producer's primary residence. Annual gross sales cap of $75,000. Non-TCS foods: no license, inspection, or registr…All homemade foods up to $75,000/year including beverages and TCS foods (with food safety training for TCS items). Non-TCS foods fully exem…
Food storageProper food storage implied under sanitation requirementsNot specified in state law; standard food safety practices impliedNon-TCS: no refrigeration needed. TCS foods require appropriate temperature control during production/sale.
Population43,14348,67155,314
Crosodo Forum

Stephens County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Stephens County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Oklahoma counties

Oklahoma
Pop. 796K
Oklahoma
Pop. 669K
Oklahoma
Pop. 295K
Oklahoma
Pop. 157K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Stephens County, Oklahoma

Reach home bakers in Stephens County, Oklahoma. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Oklahoma's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Stephens County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.