Cottage food law & license in Berkeley County, SC
What's in the Berkeley County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Berkeley County?
More Berkeley County resources
What's new for South Carolina cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Berkeley County?
How to start in Berkeley County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under South Carolina cottage food rules in Berkeley County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
South Carolina cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially hazardous foods produced in the kitchen of a primary domestic residence are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams, jellies, and other shelf-stable foods not requiring refrigeration. The 2022 amendment expanded allowed distribution to retail stores and grocery stores.). Berkeley County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Berkeley County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Berkeley County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with South Carolina disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free South Carolina label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “PROCESSED AND PREPARED BY A HOME-BASED FOOD PRODUCTION OPERATION THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO SOUTH CAROLINA'S FOOD SAFETY REGULATIONS.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on South Carolina county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
South Carolina county rules quiz
Berkeley County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the South Carolina statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Berkeley County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Berkeley County cottage food rules with South Carolina agencies?
Berkeley County is a county in South Carolina (pop. 231,419). Under South Carolina's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with South Carolina Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Berkeley County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Berkeley County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Berkeley County SC is listed as 'pattern' with no county URLs. South Carolina cottage food law (§44-1-145) is quite permissive — no registration required, retail store sales allowed since 2022. Oversight transferred to SCDA from DHEC in July 2024. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Berkeley County?
Tier: Good
South Carolina has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
South Carolina cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Berkeley County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Berkeley County
State baseline: S.C. Code §44-1-145
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Non-potentially hazardous foods from primary domestic residence kitchen. No registration required (no fee or ID number needed unless earning under $1,500 — entirely exempt). 2022 amendment expanded to allow retail store and grocery store sales, online/mail order sales. No sales cap.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state statute
- Water supply
- Potable water supply required
- Handwashing
- No formal certification required
- Food storage
- Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; pH >5.6 presumed potentially hazardous; pH >4.6 acidified foods presumed PHF unless product assessment conducted
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection; SCDA may investigate complaints (transferred from DHEC July 1, 2024)
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Berkeley County is listed as 'pattern' with no county URLs. Berkeley County municipalities may require home occupation permits. Check with Berkeley County Planning Department.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct and indirect sales allowed: at home, online, mail order (within SC), retail stores and grocery stores. No consignment or wholesale via distributors.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state statute
- Relevant code section
- S.C. Code §44-1-145; Berkeley County zoning
Berkeley County SC is listed as 'pattern' with no county URLs. South Carolina cottage food law (§44-1-145) is quite permissive — no registration required, retail store sales allowed since 2022. Oversight transferred to SCDA from DHEC in July 2024.
What does the South Carolina cottage food statute say?
South Carolina Code of Laws, Title 44 – Health, Chapter 1 – Department of Public Health, Section 44-1-145 (Home-Based Food Production Operations)
Full South Carolina License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(A) As used in this section: (1) "Home-based food production operation" means a person who produces food items in the kitchen of their primary domestic residence for direct sale to consumers, including online and by mail order, or to retail stores, including grocery stores. The person must not produce foods that are potentially hazardous. Foods in item (2) with a pH value greater than 5.6 and foods in item (3) with a pH value greater than 4.6 are considered potentially hazardous unless a product assessment is conducted pursuant to the 2009 Federal Drug Administration Food Code. (D) All food items packaged at the operation for sale must be properly labeled. The label must comply with federal laws and regulations and must include: (1) the name and address of the home-based food production operation. If a home-based food production operator does not want to include his address on the label, then the department shall provide an identification number to the operator, upon the operator's request, that can be used on the label instead; (2) the name of the product being sold; (3) the ingredients used to make the product in descending order of predominance by weight; and (4) a conspicuous statement printed in all capital letters and in a color that provides a clear contrast to the background that reads: "PROCESSED AND PREPARED BY A HOME-BASED FOOD PRODUCTION OPERATION THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO SOUTH CAROLINA'S FOOD SAFETY REGULATIONS." (E) Home-based food operations only may sell, or offer to sell, food items directly to a person, including online and by mail order, or to retail stores, including grocery stores. (F) A home-based food production operation is not a retail food establishment and is not subject to regulation by the department pursuant to Regulation 61.25. (G) The provisions of this section do not apply to an operation with net earnings of less than fifteen hundred dollars annually.
Source: scstatehouse.gov/code/t44c001.php →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Berkeley County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeBerkeley County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Berkeley County, South Carolina?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Berkeley County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Berkeley County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Berkeley County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Berkeley County. Ask Berkeley County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in South Carolina?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Berkeley County?
Apply through Berkeley County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Berkeley County, South Carolina — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under South Carolina cottage food law in Berkeley County?
Non-potentially hazardous foods produced in the kitchen of a primary domestic residence are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams, jellies, and other shelf-stable foods not requiring refrigeration. The 2022 amendment expanded allowed distribution to retail stores and grocery stores. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by South Carolina, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Berkeley County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection; SCDA may investigate complaints (transferred from DHEC July 1, 2024). Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every South Carolina report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeBerkeley County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Berkeley County.
Download county reportFull South Carolina License & Permit Guide (140 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Berkeley County.
South Carolina law pageFree email alerts
Berkeley County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Berkeley County, with South Carolina statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Berkeley County page based on?
Where to verify Berkeley County rules
Berkeley County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Berkeley County This county | Dorchester County | Orangeburg County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state statute | No specific state restriction on pets for cottage food operations. | Not specified in state law. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct and indirect sales allowed: at home, online, mail order (within SC), retail stores and grocery stores. No consignment or wholesale v… | Direct-to-consumer, online, mail-order, and indirect retail sales (grocery stores, retail stores) allowed under 2022 expansion. No geograph… | Direct and indirect sales permitted: from home, at farmers markets, at events, to retail stores, online with in-state or out-of-state deliv… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Non-potentially hazardous foods from primary domestic residence kitchen. No registration required (no fee or ID number needed unless earnin… | South Carolina allows cottage food from the kitchen of a primary domestic residence. No registration, permit, or inspection required. 2022 … | South Carolina: non-PHF foods from primary domestic residence kitchen are allowed without registration or inspection. 2022 amendment (Act N… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; pH >5.6 presumed potentially hazardous; pH >4.6 acidified foods presumed PHF unless product assessment conducted | Non-potentially hazardous foods only. Products must be stored safely. | No specific statutory requirement. |
| Population | 231,419 | 162,139 | 84,159 |
What other South Carolina counties can I compare?
Other South Carolina counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Berkeley County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to South Carolina's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Berkeley County bakers?
Berkeley County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Berkeley County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Berkeley County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Berkeley County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Berkeley County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Berkeley County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
South Carolina
Berkeley County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
South Carolina
Berkeley County
- Check with Berkeley County business license office
- Check with Berkeley County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
South Carolina
- Selling to stores: check with South Carolina Department of Agriculture
Berkeley County
- Check with Berkeley County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
South Carolina
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with South Carolina Department of Agriculture
Berkeley County
- Check with Berkeley County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
South Carolina · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with South Carolina Department of Agriculture.
South Carolina · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with South Carolina Department of Agriculture.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.