crosodo
County · Seat: Walhalla · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Oconee County, SC

Inside the permit report

What's in the Oconee County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Oconee County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Oconee County
Table of contents
Your Oconee County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Oconee County?

All products in South Carolina →
More Oconee County resources
What's new for South Carolina cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Oconee County?
Start here

How to start in Oconee County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under South Carolina cottage food rules in Oconee County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    South Carolina cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially hazardous foods produced in the kitchen of a primary domestic residence are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams, jellies, and other shelf-stable foods not requiring refrigeration. The 2022 amendment expanded allowed distribution to retail stores and grocery stores.). Oconee County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Oconee County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Oconee County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with South Carolina disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free South Carolina label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “PROCESSED AND PREPARED BY A HOME-BASED FOOD PRODUCTION OPERATION THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO SOUTH CAROLINA'S FOOD SAFETY REGULATIONS.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on South Carolina county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

South Carolina county rules quiz

Oconee County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the South Carolina statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Oconee County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Oconee County cottage food rules with South Carolina agencies?

Oconee County is a county in South Carolina (pop. 78,775). Under South Carolina's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with South Carolina Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Oconee County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Oconee County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. South Carolina cottage food law (S.C. Code §44-1-145) was significantly expanded in 2022 to allow retail/grocery store sales and online/mail order. Oversight transferred from DHEC to SC Department of Agriculture effective July 1, 2024 (Act No. 60). No Oconee County-specific overrides found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Oconee County?
State law applies

Tier: Good

South Carolina has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

South Carolina cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Oconee County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Oconee County

State baseline: S.C. Code §44-1-145

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Non-potentially hazardous foods produced in the kitchen of a primary domestic residence. 2022 amendment expanded sales to retail stores and grocery stores. Online and mail order sales allowed.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state statute.
Water supply
Potable water required.
Handwashing
No food handler certification required at state level.
Food storage
Non-potentially-hazardous shelf-stable products must be stored appropriately.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
SCDA (formerly DHEC) may investigate upon complaint. No routine inspection.
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
No state-level permit required for cottage food operations. Oconee County may have local zoning home occupation requirements. No Oconee County-specific cottage food ordinance found.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct and indirect sales permitted. Since 2022 amendment (Act No. 208), retail stores, grocery stores, online, and mail order sales allowed. Producers may use a SCDA-issued ID number instead of home address on labels.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state statute.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
No Oconee County-specific cottage food code section found.
Local notes

South Carolina cottage food law (S.C. Code §44-1-145) was significantly expanded in 2022 to allow retail/grocery store sales and online/mail order. Oversight transferred from DHEC to SC Department of Agriculture effective July 1, 2024 (Act No. 60). No Oconee County-specific overrides found.

What does the South Carolina cottage food statute say?
South Carolina statute (state law)

South Carolina Code of Laws, Title 44 – Health, Chapter 1 – Department of Public Health, Section 44-1-145 (Home-Based Food Production Operations)

Citation: S.C. Code §44-1-145
Verbatim excerpt

(A) As used in this section: (1) "Home-based food production operation" means a person who produces food items in the kitchen of their primary domestic residence for direct sale to consumers, including online and by mail order, or to retail stores, including grocery stores. The person must not produce foods that are potentially hazardous. Foods in item (2) with a pH value greater than 5.6 and foods in item (3) with a pH value greater than 4.6 are considered potentially hazardous unless a product assessment is conducted pursuant to the 2009 Federal Drug Administration Food Code. (D) All food items packaged at the operation for sale must be properly labeled. The label must comply with federal laws and regulations and must include: (1) the name and address of the home-based food production operation. If a home-based food production operator does not want to include his address on the label, then the department shall provide an identification number to the operator, upon the operator's request, that can be used on the label instead; (2) the name of the product being sold; (3) the ingredients used to make the product in descending order of predominance by weight; and (4) a conspicuous statement printed in all capital letters and in a color that provides a clear contrast to the background that reads: "PROCESSED AND PREPARED BY A HOME-BASED FOOD PRODUCTION OPERATION THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO SOUTH CAROLINA'S FOOD SAFETY REGULATIONS." (E) Home-based food operations only may sell, or offer to sell, food items directly to a person, including online and by mail order, or to retail stores, including grocery stores. (F) A home-based food production operation is not a retail food establishment and is not subject to regulation by the department pursuant to Regulation 61.25. (G) The provisions of this section do not apply to an operation with net earnings of less than fifteen hundred dollars annually.

Source: scstatehouse.gov/code/t44c001.php →
Full South Carolina License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Oconee County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Oconee County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Oconee County, South Carolina?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Oconee County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Oconee County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Oconee County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Oconee County. Ask Oconee County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in South Carolina?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Oconee County?

Apply through Oconee County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Oconee County, South Carolina — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under South Carolina cottage food law in Oconee County?

Non-potentially hazardous foods produced in the kitchen of a primary domestic residence are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams, jellies, and other shelf-stable foods not requiring refrigeration. The 2022 amendment expanded allowed distribution to retail stores and grocery stores. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by South Carolina, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Oconee County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: SCDA (formerly DHEC) may investigate upon complaint. No routine inspection.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Oconee County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every South Carolina report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Oconee County cottage food reports

What permits in Oconee County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Oconee County county cottage food report
Oconee County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Oconee County.

Download county report
Cover of South Carolina cottage food law PDF report
South Carolina state report

Full South Carolina License & Permit Guide (140 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Oconee County.

South Carolina law page

Free email alerts

Oconee County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Oconee County, with South Carolina statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Oconee County page based on?
Quick comparison

Oconee County vs. bordering counties

RegulationOconee County
This county
Pickens CountyAnderson County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state statute.Not prohibited by state statute; kitchen sanitation required.No explicit pet restriction in South Carolina cottage food statute.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect and indirect sales permitted. Since 2022 amendment (Act No. 208), retail stores, grocery stores, online, and mail order sales allowe…Direct and indirect sales including retail stores and online/mail order within SC.South Carolina cottage food law (2022 amendment) allows sales at home, events, online, mail-order, and through retail/grocery stores. No wh…
Home occupation permitVariesVariesConditional
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsNon-potentially hazardous foods produced in the kitchen of a primary domestic residence. 2022 amendment expanded sales to retail stores and…Non-potentially hazardous foods only. The 2022 amendment expanded distribution to retail stores/grocery stores, allows online/mail order, a…South Carolina cottage food law (§44-1-145, significantly amended 2022 by Act No. 208) allows non-PHF foods produced in a primary domestic …
Food storageNon-potentially-hazardous shelf-stable products must be stored appropriately.Non-TCS products only; stored in food-safe containers.Non-PHF (non-potentially hazardous) foods only. Standard GMP storage. Foods with pH above 5.6 or acidified foods with pH above 4.6 are pres…
Population78,775131,106204,592
What other South Carolina counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other South Carolina counties

South Carolina
Pop. 528K
South Carolina
Pop. 416K
South Carolina
Pop. 410K
South Carolina
Pop. 357K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Oconee County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to South Carolina's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Oconee County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Oconee County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Oconee County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Oconee County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Oconee County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Oconee County, South Carolina?
Yes — South Carolina allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with South Carolina Department of Agriculture and the Oconee County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Oconee County?
Your Oconee County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Oconee County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Oconee County? State vs county rules and pets
South Carolina rule (statewide)Oconee County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Oconee County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Oconee County

    • Check with Oconee County business license office
    • Check with Oconee County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    South Carolina Department of Agriculture — Retail Food Sa…

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    South Carolina

    • Selling to stores: check with South Carolina Department of Agriculture

    Oconee County

    • Check with Oconee County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    South Carolina

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with South Carolina Department of Agriculture

    Oconee County

    • Check with Oconee County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    South Carolina · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with South Carolina Department of Agriculture.

    South Carolina · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with South Carolina Department of Agriculture.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.