Cottage food law & license in Gibson County, TN

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep
Gibson County Permits 101 for Gibson County, Tennessee (69 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Tennessee cottage food — common first products
County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.
What's in the Gibson County permit report


How to start in Gibson County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Tennessee cottage food rules in Gibson County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Tennessee cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods.). Gibson County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Gibson County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Gibson County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Tennessee disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Tennessee label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced at a private residence that is exempt from state licensing and inspection. This product may contain allergens.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Gibson County is a county in Tennessee (pop. 50,455). Under Tennessee's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Tennessee Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Gibson County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Gibson County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Tennessee's Food Freedom Act broadly deregulates non-TCS homemade food. Gibson County is in west Tennessee. No county-specific rules found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
Gibson County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Gibson County.
Download county reportFull Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Tier: Good
Tennessee has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Tennessee cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Gibson County
State baseline: Tenn. Code §53-1-125 (Food Freedom Act)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Any non-TCS homemade food produced at producer's private residence is allowed. No license, permit, inspection, or labeling requirements except for DOH foodborne illness investigations.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state cottage food law.
- Water supply
- Not specified in state cottage food law.
- Handwashing
- Not explicitly required by state cottage food law.
- Food storage
- Products must be non-TCS.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection. DOH may investigate foodborne illness only.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- No specific Gibson County cottage food ordinances found. City of Trenton and other municipalities within Gibson County may have local business license requirements. Recommend verifying with Gibson County and relevant municipality.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- No restrictions specified in state law. All non-TCS homemade food sales broadly permitted.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state cottage food law.
- Relevant code section
- Tenn. Code §53-1-125; Public Chapter No. 862 (eff. July 1, 2022)
Tennessee's Food Freedom Act broadly deregulates non-TCS homemade food. Gibson County is in west Tennessee. No county-specific rules found.
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53 – Food, Drugs and Cosmetics, Chapter 1 – General Provisions, Part 1, Section 53-1-125 (Tennessee Food Freedom Act, Public Chapter No. 862, SB 693)
Full Tennessee License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptBE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE: SECTION 1. This act is known and may be cited as the "Tennessee Food Freedom Act." ... SECTION 3. Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53, Chapter 1, Part 1, is amended by adding the following as a new section: (a) Notwithstanding part 2 of this chapter, or another law to the contrary, except as provided in this section, the production and sale of homemade food items under this chapter are exempt from all licensing, permitting, inspecting, packaging, and labeling laws of this state, except when the department of health is investigating a reported foodborne illness. (b) The exemption under subsection (a) only applies if the following conditions are satisfied: Non-time/temperature control for safety food homemade food items must be sold either by: The producer to the consumer in person or remotely... county, municipal, and other political jurisdictions [may not restrict] production and sale of homemade food items.
Source: publications.tnsosfiles.com/acts/112/pub/pc0862.pdf →
Gibson County Permit Guide $26
This page stays free — the Gibson County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (69 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Gibson County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Gibson County, Tennessee?
Home occupation permit: Conditional. No specific Gibson County cottage food ordinances found. City of Trenton and other municipalities within Gibson County may have local business license requirements. Recommend verifying with Gibson County and relevant municipality. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Tennessee guide at https://crosodo.com/states/tennessee.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Gibson County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection. DOH may investigate foodborne illness only.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
What foods can I sell under Tennessee cottage food law in Gibson County?
Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Tennessee, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Tennessee?
Tennessee state law lists cottage food sales at None. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.
Do I need a home occupation permit in Gibson County?
Home occupation permit: Conditional. No specific Gibson County cottage food ordinances found. City of Trenton and other municipalities within Gibson County may have local business license requirements. Recommend verifying with Gibson County and relevant municipality.
The free county page is the short version. This is the full Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages).

Where to verify Gibson County rules
Gibson County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Gibson County This county | Dyer County | Weakley County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | — |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | — |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state cottage food law. | No specific pet restriction in state law; standard food safety hygiene practices apply. | — |
| Inspection required | No | No | — |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | — |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | — |
| Delivery / pickup | No restrictions specified in state law. All non-TCS homemade food sales broadly permitted. | Broad — direct and indirect sales permitted. Online, in-person, delivery, farmers markets, retail stores all allowed under Tennessee Food F… | — |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | — |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | — |
| Restrictions | Any non-TCS homemade food produced at producer's private residence is allowed. No license, permit, inspection, or labeling requirements exc… | Tennessee Food Freedom Act (Tenn. Code §53-1-125, effective July 1, 2022) broadly allows any non-TCS homemade food from a private residence… | — |
| Food storage | Products must be non-TCS. | No specific state cottage food storage requirement; non-TCS foods must be stored appropriately. | — |
| Population | 50,455 | 36,818 | 32,946 |
Gibson County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Gibson County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Other Tennessee counties
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Advertise here
Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise in Gibson County, Tennessee
Reach home bakers in Gibson County, Tennessee. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.
Learn about placementsYour business here
Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.
Post in the local discussionAds are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Tennessee's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.