Cottage food law & license in Hawkins County, TN

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep
Hawkins County Permits 101 for Hawkins County, Tennessee (68 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Tennessee cottage food — common first products
County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.
What's in the Hawkins County permit report


How to start in Hawkins County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Tennessee cottage food rules in Hawkins County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Tennessee cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods.). Hawkins County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Hawkins County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Hawkins County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Tennessee disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Tennessee label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced at a private residence that is exempt from state licensing and inspection. This product may contain allergens.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Hawkins County is a county in Tennessee (pop. 57,107). Under Tennessee's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Tennessee Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Hawkins County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Hawkins County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Tennessee's Food Freedom Act (effective July 1, 2022) is among the most permissive frameworks: no registration, no license, no inspection, no sales cap for non-TCS homemade foods. Hawkins County is a rural county in northeast Tennessee. No county-specific cottage food rules or overrides found. State preemption applies. Local business license may be separately required for general commerce, but not food safety-specific. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
Hawkins County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Hawkins County.
Download county reportFull Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Tier: Good
Tennessee has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Tennessee cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Hawkins County
State baseline: Tenn. Code §53-1-125 (Tennessee Food Freedom Act, eff. July 1, 2022)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Broad exemption for all non-TCS homemade foods produced at producer's private residence. No license, permit, inspection, or sales cap required under TN Food Freedom Act. Must be produced by the individual in their primary residence.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No specific TN state or Hawkins County rule; standard food safety practices recommended.
- Water supply
- No specific requirement; primary residence kitchen.
- Handwashing
- No formal requirement under TN Food Freedom Act; recommended best practices.
- Food storage
- Products must be non-TCS (no refrigeration required). No formal storage rules under TN Food Freedom Act.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- Only DOH may investigate foodborne illness; no routine inspections.
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- Tennessee Food Freedom Act preempts local licensing and permitting requirements for cottage food. No state registration required. Hawkins County may have local business license requirements for home-based businesses unrelated to food safety; contact Hawkins County Government in Rogersville.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- No restrictions on sales channels under TN Food Freedom Act. Direct, online, delivery, pickup all permitted. Indirect sales (retail stores) also allowed for non-TCS foods.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in TN statute.
- Relevant code section
- Tenn. Code §53-1-125 (Food Freedom Act); no Hawkins County-specific ordinance identified
Tennessee's Food Freedom Act (effective July 1, 2022) is among the most permissive frameworks: no registration, no license, no inspection, no sales cap for non-TCS homemade foods. Hawkins County is a rural county in northeast Tennessee. No county-specific cottage food rules or overrides found. State preemption applies. Local business license may be separately required for general commerce, but not food safety-specific.
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53 – Food, Drugs and Cosmetics, Chapter 1 – General Provisions, Part 1, Section 53-1-125 (Tennessee Food Freedom Act, Public Chapter No. 862, SB 693)
Full Tennessee License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptBE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE: SECTION 1. This act is known and may be cited as the "Tennessee Food Freedom Act." ... SECTION 3. Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53, Chapter 1, Part 1, is amended by adding the following as a new section: (a) Notwithstanding part 2 of this chapter, or another law to the contrary, except as provided in this section, the production and sale of homemade food items under this chapter are exempt from all licensing, permitting, inspecting, packaging, and labeling laws of this state, except when the department of health is investigating a reported foodborne illness. (b) The exemption under subsection (a) only applies if the following conditions are satisfied: Non-time/temperature control for safety food homemade food items must be sold either by: The producer to the consumer in person or remotely... county, municipal, and other political jurisdictions [may not restrict] production and sale of homemade food items.
Source: publications.tnsosfiles.com/acts/112/pub/pc0862.pdf →
Hawkins County Permit Guide $26
This page stays free — the Hawkins County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (68 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Hawkins County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Hawkins County, Tennessee?
Home occupation permit: Varies. Tennessee Food Freedom Act preempts local licensing and permitting requirements for cottage food. No state registration required. Hawkins County may have local business license requirements for home-based businesses unrelated to food safety; contact Hawkins County Government in Rogersville. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Tennessee guide at https://crosodo.com/states/tennessee.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Hawkins County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: Only DOH may investigate foodborne illness; no routine inspections.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
What foods can I sell under Tennessee cottage food law in Hawkins County?
Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Tennessee, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Tennessee?
Tennessee state law lists cottage food sales at None. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.
Do I need a home occupation permit in Hawkins County?
Home occupation permit: Varies. Tennessee Food Freedom Act preempts local licensing and permitting requirements for cottage food. No state registration required. Hawkins County may have local business license requirements for home-based businesses unrelated to food safety; contact Hawkins County Government in Rogersville.
The free county page is the short version. This is the full Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages).

Where to verify Hawkins County rules
Hawkins County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Hawkins County This county | Hamblen County | Greene County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No specific TN state or Hawkins County rule; standard food safety practices recommended. | No specific state prohibition | Not specified in state law |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Yes | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | No restrictions on sales channels under TN Food Freedom Act. Direct, online, delivery, pickup all permitted. Indirect sales (retail stores)… | Direct and indirect sales allowed. No restrictions on delivery, farmers markets, online, or retail under the Food Freedom Act. | Indirect sales allowed at markets, online sales permitted; delivery by producer permitted in-state |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Broad exemption for all non-TCS homemade foods produced at producer's private residence. No license, permit, inspection, or sales cap requi… | Tennessee Food Freedom Act broadly deregulates non-TCS homemade food production from a private residence. No licensing, permit, inspection,… | No sales cap. No registration required. No inspection required. All non-TCS homemade foods allowed. Indirect sales allowed (farmers markets… |
| Food storage | Products must be non-TCS (no refrigeration required). No formal storage rules under TN Food Freedom Act. | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; proper storage recommended | Appropriate storage for non-TCS products |
| Population | 57,107 | 64,531 | 70,399 |
Hawkins County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Hawkins County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Other Tennessee counties
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Advertise here
Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise in Hawkins County, Tennessee
Reach home bakers in Hawkins County, Tennessee. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.
Learn about placementsYour business here
Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.
Post in the local discussionAds are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Tennessee's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.