crosodo
Independent City · Seat: Bedford · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Bedford city, VA

Inside the permit report

What's in the Bedford City permit report

Permit Guide cover for Bedford City
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Bedford City
Table of contents
Your Bedford City startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Bedford city?

All products in Virginia →
More Bedford city resources
What's new for Virginia cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Bedford city?
Start here

How to start in Bedford city

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Virginia cottage food rules in Bedford city. Not legal advice.

Important for this state

Cottage exemption and HFPO

Crosodo year one follows the home cottage exemption in Va. Code § 3.2-5130. That exemption is not a certification. VDACS does not issue a cottage certificate. A Home Food Processing Operation (HFPO) is a different path: inspection, permit, and a $40 annual fee on the official application. Local zoning, HBB, MHO, BPOL, and market insurance are separate papers. A market can require insurance without a state cottage certificate. Fairfax County porch pickup and HBB, and Fairfax City MHO, are local rules. They are not HFPO. The current Code and the VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026) allow internet and phone sales and in-state delivery or mail. Buyers stay in the Commonwealth. Not legal advice. Confirm with VDACS and the market.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Virginia cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private homes including candies, jams, jellies (not low-acid/acidified), dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods that do not require temperature control. Pickles and acidified vegetables with equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower are allowed with a $9,000 annual gross sales cap. Honey from own hives under 250 gallons per year is also allowed under a separate provision.). Bedford city cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: Tiered. On-site / porch pickup in Bedford city: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: No. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Bedford city: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Virginia disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Virginia label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “NOT FOR RESALE PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Virginia county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Virginia county rules quiz

Bedford city does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Virginia statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Bedford city quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Bedford city cottage food rules with Virginia agencies?

Bedford city is a county in Virginia (pop. 0). Under Virginia's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Bedford city health and planning requirements. Local notes for Bedford city: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. State baseline applied. Good tier state. Allowed foods: Non-TCS shelf-stable foods including candies, jams/jellies, dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods not requiring temperature control. Pickles/acidified vegetables (equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower) subject to a separate annual cap. Prohibited: TCS (time/temperature control for safety) foods are prohibited. Products cannot be sold online, via mail order, to retailers, or for resale. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Bedford city?
State law applies

Tier: Good

Virginia has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Virginia cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Bedford city zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Bedford city

State baseline: Va. Code §3.2-5130

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Va. Code §3.2-5130 provides the home kitchen food processing exemption. No permit, registration, or inspection required at the state level. Local ordinances are NOT preempted — cities and counties may impose additional requirements. Many Virginia localities require a general business license ($30–$100/yr). Sales allowed only at the producer's home or at farmers markets/temporary events (≤14 days). Online sales prohibited (advertising allowed but no e-commerce transactions). Required label: producer name, physical address, phone, processing date, and 'NOT FOR RESALE — PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION'.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law.
Water supply
No specific state cottage food water testing requirement.
Handwashing
No specific state cottage food handwashing mandate beyond general food safety practice.
Food storage
Non-potentially hazardous (non-TCS), shelf-stable foods only.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection required at state level.
Home occupation permit
No
Permit details
Bedford city is subject to Virginia cottage food law (Va. Code §3.2-5130), which requires no state permit, registration, or inspection. Virginia does NOT preempt local ordinances — cities and counties may impose additional requirements. Many Virginia localities require a general business license ($30–$100/yr). Bedford city is a small independent city in Virginia. As an independent city, it operates its own zoning and business licensing separate from Bedford County. Virginia cottage food law is not preempted locally. Contact Bedford City Hall for any local business license requirements ($30-$100 typical).
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Sales allowed only at the producer's home or at farmers markets and temporary events (events capped at 14 consecutive days). No online sales, mail order, wholesale, or retail sales. No shipping.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state statute.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Va. Code §3.2-5130 (Home Kitchen Food Processing Exemptions); local ordinances not preempted — verify local business license requirements.
Local notes

State baseline applied. Good tier state. Allowed foods: Non-TCS shelf-stable foods including candies, jams/jellies, dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods not requiring temperature control. Pickles/acidified vegetables (equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower) subject to a separate annual cap. Prohibited: TCS (time/temperature control for safety) foods are prohibited. Products cannot be sold online, via mail order, to retailers, or for resale.

What does the Virginia cottage food statute say?
Virginia statute (state law)

Code of Virginia, Title 3.2 Agriculture, Animal Care, and Food, Chapter 51 Food and Drink, §3.2-5130 Inspections required to operate food establishment

Citation: Va. Code §3.2-5130 (HB 402 / 2026 c. 605)
Verbatim excerpt

C. The provisions of subsections A and B shall not apply to: 3. Private homes where the resident processes and prepares candies, jams, and jellies not considered to be low-acid or acidified low-acid food products, dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, coated and uncoated nuts, vinegars and flavored vinegars, popcorn, popcorn balls, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods if such products are (i) those that do not require time or temperature control after preparation; (ii) sold at any location, through the internet, or by phone to an individual in the Commonwealth for his own consumption and not for resale or consignment; (iii) delivered in person, by mail, or by delivery service to an individual in the Commonwealth for his own consumption and not for resale or consignment; (iv) not offered for sale to be used in or offered for consumption in retail food establishments; and (v) affixed with a label placed on the principal display panel or, for a product in packaging not large enough to bear such a label, offered for sale with a sign displaying the name, physical address or post office box number, and telephone number of the person preparing the food product, the date the food product was processed, and the statement "NOT FOR RESALE PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION." Nothing in this subdivision shall prohibit a resident selling a food product in accordance with this subdivision from advertising such food product on the Internet. Amended 2026, c. 605 (HB 402), effective July 1, 2026.

Source: law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter51/section3.2-5130/ →
Full Virginia License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Bedford City’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Bedford city cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Bedford city, Virginia?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: No. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Bedford city environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Bedford city?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Bedford city?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Bedford city. Ask Bedford city environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Virginia?

Sales caps are set by Virginia state law. Check the current figure with the state agency and Bedford city environmental health.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Bedford city?

Apply through Bedford city environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Bedford city, Virginia — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Virginia cottage food law in Bedford city?

Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private homes including candies, jams, jellies (not low-acid/acidified), dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods that do not require temperature control. Pickles and acidified vegetables with equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower are allowed with a $9,000 annual gross sales cap. Honey from own hives under 250 gallons per year is also allowed under a separate provision. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Virginia, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Bedford city?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection required at state level.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Bedford City

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Virginia report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Bedford city cottage food reports

What permits in Bedford city?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Bedford city county cottage food report
Bedford city county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Bedford city.

Download county report
Cover of Virginia cottage food law PDF report
Virginia state report

Full Virginia License & Permit Guide (432 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Bedford city.

Virginia law page

Free email alerts

Bedford city Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Bedford city, with Virginia statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Bedford city page based on?
Quick comparison

Bedford city vs. bordering counties

RegulationBedford City
This county
Bedford CountyRockbridge County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific pet restriction in state cottage food law.Not specified in state statute.VDACS home food processing permit pathway requires pets excluded from food prep, storage, packaging, and equipment cleaning areas at all ti…
Inspection requiredNoNoConditional
On-site customer pickupYesYesConditional
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupSales allowed only at the producer's home or at farmers markets and temporary events (events capped at 14 consecutive days). No online sale…Direct sales to consumers only. No resale, consignment, or sales to retail food establishments. Pickles and acidified vegetables capped at …Virginia cottage food exemption: direct sales only. Home pickup and local delivery permitted for non-TCS shelf-stable items. Online sales a…
Home occupation permitNoVariesConditional
Local business licenseVariesVariesConditional
RestrictionsVa. Code §3.2-5130 provides the home kitchen food processing exemption. No permit, registration, or inspection required at the state level.…Home kitchen in primary domestic residence allowed. Only non-TCS shelf-stable foods. Pickles and acidified vegetables subject to separate $…Virginia state cottage food exemption (Va. Code §3.2-5130) applies. Rockbridge County is a rural Shenandoah Valley county near Lexington an…
Food storageNon-potentially hazardous (non-TCS), shelf-stable foods only.Non-TCS shelf-stable foods must be stored appropriately.Proper storage to prevent contamination; pet exclusion required for VDACS permit pathway.
Population—79,76122,673
What other Virginia counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Virginia counties

Virginia
Pop. 1.15M
Virginia
Pop. 481K
Virginia
Pop. 458K
Virginia
Pop. 421K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Bedford city page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Virginia's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Bedford city bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Bedford city baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Bedford city — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Bedford city discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Bedford city? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Bedford city, Virginia?
Yes — Virginia allows cottage food sales. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required; no home occupation permit required. Last verified May 6, 2026. Confirm with Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and the Bedford city health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Bedford city?
Your Bedford city checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Bedford city at a glance?
How do Virginia's cottage exemption and HFPO differ?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Bedford city? State vs county rules and pets
Virginia rule (statewide)Bedford city rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Bedford city

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Bedford city

    • Check with Bedford city business license office
    • Check with Bedford city zoning office about home pickup

    $0 state

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Va. Code § 3.2-5130(D)

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Bedford city

    • Check with Bedford city zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    $40/yr state

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

    VDACS Manufactured Food Establishment Permit Application … · VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026)

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Bedford city

    • Check with Bedford city zoning and building offices

    $40/yr state

    Renew permits every year

    VDACS Manufactured Food Establishment Permit Application …

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Virginia · Step 1

    Not addressed

    The state's exemption sources don't mention pets.

    Virginia · Step 2 (home)

    Yes

    A solid, hinged door that latches. Pets out at all times. Baby gates don't count.

    VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026) · VDACS Manufactured Food Establishment Permit Application …

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.