Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Arizona Report Guide · 57 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Globe · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Gila County, AZ

Can I sell cottage food from home in Gila County, Arizona?
Yes — Arizona allows cottage food sales under a Great-tier law (cap: None). Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Arizona Department of Health Services and the Gila County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Gila County Permits 101 for Gila County, Arizona (67 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Gila County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Gila County?

Arizona cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Gila County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Gila County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Gila County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Gila County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Arizona cottage food rules in Gila County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Arizona cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Producers can sell almost any type of food, including products containing meat (from approved federal-exemption sources) and perishable foods. Non-dairy, non-meat products can be sold anywhere including online, in stores, and via third-party delivery. The program has approximately 10,000 registered businesses as of 2024.). Gila County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Gila County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Gila County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Arizona disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Arizona label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a home kitchen that may come in contact with common food allergens and pet allergens and is not subject to public health inspection.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Gila County is a county in Arizona (pop. 53,419). Under Arizona's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Arizona Department of Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Gila County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Gila County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Gila County is a rural mountainous county in central Arizona, home to the Tonto National Forest and Fort Apache Indian Reservation. AZ's 2024 HB 2042 dramatically expanded allowed foods including perishable items. No county-specific rules found. State DHS URL may redirect (301). Approximately 10,000 registered businesses statewide as of 2024. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Gila County cottage food reports

What permits in Gila County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Gila County county cottage food report
Gila County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Gila County.

Download county report
Cover of Arizona cottage food law PDF report
Arizona state report

Full Arizona License & Permit Guide (57 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Great

Arizona's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Arizona cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Gila County

State baseline: A.R.S. §36-931 / §36-932 (expanded by HB 2042, 2024)

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Very broad: almost any food type including products containing meat (from federal-exempt sources) and perishable foods. Registration required with AZ DHS (online, renewed every 3 years). Food handler certification required. Non-dairy/non-meat products can be sold anywhere including online and third-party delivery. Some counties may require locally issued food handler card.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific AZ state or Gila County restriction identified.
Water supply
No specific requirement; primary residence.
Handwashing
Covered under required food handler certification.
Food storage
Broad food types allowed since 2024 HB 2042 expansion including perishable foods. Prohibited: alcoholic beverages, unpasteurized milk, cannabis products. Fish/shellfish and general meat require federal exemption compliance.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
AZ DHS may investigate on complaint; no routine inspections.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
AZ DHS registration required (every 3 years). Gila County is a rural county in central Arizona including Globe and Miami. No specific Gila County cottage food ordinance identified beyond state requirement. Some AZ counties require a locally issued food handler card. Contact Gila County government in Globe.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct and indirect sales permitted. Online and third-party delivery allowed for non-dairy/non-meat products. Very broad sales channels under 2024 expansion.
Max employees in home
Not specified in AZ statute.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
A.R.S. §36-931 / §36-932; no Gila County-specific ordinance identified
Local notes

Gila County is a rural mountainous county in central Arizona, home to the Tonto National Forest and Fort Apache Indian Reservation. AZ's 2024 HB 2042 dramatically expanded allowed foods including perishable items. No county-specific rules found. State DHS URL may redirect (301). Approximately 10,000 registered businesses statewide as of 2024.

Arizona statute (state law)

Arizona Cottage Food Program

Citation: A.R.S. §36-931 / §36-932
Verbatim excerpt

36-931. Definitions. 1. "Cottage food product": (a) Means a food that is prepared in a home kitchen by or under the direct supervision of an individual who is registered with the department and that either, as defined by the department in rule: (i) Is not potentially hazardous or does not require time or temperature control for safety. (ii) Is potentially hazardous or requires time or temperature control for safety. (b) Does not include alcoholic beverages, unpasteurized milk or foods that are or that contain alcoholic beverages, fish and shellfish products, meat, meat by-products, poultry or poultry by-products unless the sale of those items is allowed by federal law. 3. "Home kitchen" means a kitchen in the residential home or dwelling of the individual who is registered with the department to prepare cottage food products, of a type that is normally found in a residential home and that does not exceed one thousand square feet. 36-932. A. Cottage food products must be packaged at home with an attached label in a clear and legible printed or handwritten font that clearly states the name and registration number of the food preparer; lists all ingredients and the production date; includes the statement: "This product was produced in a home kitchen that may come in contact with common food allergens and pet allergens and is not subject to public health inspection." C. The person preparing the cottage food product or directly supervising the food preparation must complete a food handler training course from an accredited program and maintain active certification. The food preparer must register with the online registry established by the department.

Source: azleg.gov/ars/36/00931.htm
Full Arizona License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Gila County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Gila County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (67 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Gila County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Gila County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Gila County, Arizona?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. AZ DHS registration required (every 3 years). Gila County is a rural county in central Arizona including Globe and Miami. No specific Gila County cottage food ordinance identified beyond state requirement. Some AZ counties require a locally issued food handler card. Contact Gila County government in Globe. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Arizona guide at https://crosodo.com/states/arizona.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Gila County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: AZ DHS may investigate on complaint; no routine inspections.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Arizona cottage food law in Gila County?

Producers can sell almost any type of food, including products containing meat (from approved federal-exemption sources) and perishable foods. Non-dairy, non-meat products can be sold anywhere including online, in stores, and via third-party delivery. The program has approximately 10,000 registered businesses as of 2024. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Arizona, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Arizona?

Arizona state law lists cottage food sales at None. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Gila County?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. AZ DHS registration required (every 3 years). Gila County is a rural county in central Arizona including Globe and Miami. No specific Gila County cottage food ordinance identified beyond state requirement. Some AZ counties require a locally issued food handler card. Contact Gila County government in Globe.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Arizona License & Permit Guide (57 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Arizona License & Permit Guide (57 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Gila County vs. bordering counties

RegulationGila County
This county
Graham CountyNavajo County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific AZ state or Gila County restriction identified.Not specified at county level; state-level good manufacturing practices applyNo specific state restriction in the statute. Standard sanitation practices apply.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalYesConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect and indirect sales permitted. Online and third-party delivery allowed for non-dairy/non-meat products. Very broad sales channels und…Direct sales, online sales, and retail/wholesale indirect sales all permitted; no sales cap under Arizona lawSales permitted anywhere including online, in stores, and via third-party delivery (for non-dairy, non-meat products). Some counties may re…
Home occupation permitConditionalConditional — check county zoningConditional
Local business licenseVariesConditional — check with countyVaries
RestrictionsVery broad: almost any food type including products containing meat (from federal-exempt sources) and perishable foods. Registration requir…Must operate from a residential kitchen. State registration with AZ DHS required. Food handler training (ADHS-approved course) required. Pr…Arizona's expanded cottage food law (HB 2042, 2024) allows almost any type of food including perishable foods. Non-dairy, non-meat products…
Food storageBroad food types allowed since 2024 HB 2042 expansion including perishable foods. Prohibited: alcoholic beverages, unpasteurized milk, cann…Safe food storage practices required; no separate storage room mandatedBroad range allowed including perishable foods. Prohibited: alcoholic beverages, unpasteurized milk, alcohol-containing foods, fish/shellfi…
Population53,41938,453107,110
Crosodo Forum

Gila County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Gila County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Arizona counties

Arizona
Pop. 4.43M
Arizona
Pop. 1.04M
Arizona
Pop. 433K
Arizona
Pop. 238K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Gila County, Arizona

Reach home bakers in Gila County, Arizona. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Arizona's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Gila County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.