Cottage food law & license in Yavapai County, AZ

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep
Yavapai County Permits 101 for Yavapai County, Arizona (68 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Arizona cottage food — common first products
County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.
What's in the Yavapai County permit report


How to start in Yavapai County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Arizona cottage food rules in Yavapai County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Arizona cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Producers can sell almost any type of food, including products containing meat (from approved federal-exemption sources) and perishable foods. Non-dairy, non-meat products can be sold anywhere including online, in stores, and via third-party delivery. The program has approximately 10,000 registered businesses as of 2024.). Yavapai County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Yavapai County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Yavapai County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Arizona disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Arizona label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a home kitchen that may come in contact with common food allergens and pet allergens and is not subject to public health inspection.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Yavapai County is a county in Arizona (pop. 237,830). Under Arizona's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Arizona Department of Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Yavapai County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Yavapai County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Yavapai County AZ follows Arizona state baseline (A.R.S. §36-931/932). Arizona's 2024 HB 2042 made it one of the most permissive states (perishable foods now allowed). Registration with AZ DHS every 3 years. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
Yavapai County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Yavapai County.
Download county reportFull Arizona License & Permit Guide (57 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Tier: Great
Arizona's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.
Arizona cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Yavapai County
State baseline: A.R.S. §36-931 / §36-932
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- No routine inspection required. Registration with AZ DHS required; renewed every 3 years. Food handler certification (specific course) required. 2024 HB 2042 expanded to allow perishable foods. Approximately 10,000 registered businesses statewide. Some counties require locally issued food handler card — Yavapai County may have this requirement.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state statute
- Water supply
- Potable water supply required
- Handwashing
- Food handler certification required (specific AZ DHS-approved course)
- Food storage
- Broad: most non-TCS foods allowed; 2024 expansion allows perishable foods with restrictions. Non-dairy/non-meat products can be sold anywhere.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection required for most CFO products
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Yavapai County and City of Prescott may require home occupation permits under local zoning. Check with Yavapai County Community Development Department.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Non-dairy/non-meat products: sold anywhere including online, in stores, third-party delivery. Some extra restrictions for products on separate store shelves. No alcohol or unpasteurized milk. No cannabis products.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state statute
- Relevant code section
- A.R.S. §36-931 / §36-932; Yavapai County zoning
Yavapai County AZ follows Arizona state baseline (A.R.S. §36-931/932). Arizona's 2024 HB 2042 made it one of the most permissive states (perishable foods now allowed). Registration with AZ DHS every 3 years.
Arizona Cottage Food Program
Full Arizona License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt36-931. Definitions. 1. "Cottage food product": (a) Means a food that is prepared in a home kitchen by or under the direct supervision of an individual who is registered with the department and that either, as defined by the department in rule: (i) Is not potentially hazardous or does not require time or temperature control for safety. (ii) Is potentially hazardous or requires time or temperature control for safety. (b) Does not include alcoholic beverages, unpasteurized milk or foods that are or that contain alcoholic beverages, fish and shellfish products, meat, meat by-products, poultry or poultry by-products unless the sale of those items is allowed by federal law. 3. "Home kitchen" means a kitchen in the residential home or dwelling of the individual who is registered with the department to prepare cottage food products, of a type that is normally found in a residential home and that does not exceed one thousand square feet. 36-932. A. Cottage food products must be packaged at home with an attached label in a clear and legible printed or handwritten font that clearly states the name and registration number of the food preparer; lists all ingredients and the production date; includes the statement: "This product was produced in a home kitchen that may come in contact with common food allergens and pet allergens and is not subject to public health inspection." C. The person preparing the cottage food product or directly supervising the food preparation must complete a food handler training course from an accredited program and maintain active certification. The food preparer must register with the online registry established by the department.
Source: azleg.gov/ars/36/00931.htm →
Yavapai County Permit Guide $26
This page stays free — the Yavapai County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (68 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Yavapai County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Yavapai County, Arizona?
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Yavapai County and City of Prescott may require home occupation permits under local zoning. Check with Yavapai County Community Development Department. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Arizona guide at https://crosodo.com/states/arizona.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Yavapai County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection required for most CFO products. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
What foods can I sell under Arizona cottage food law in Yavapai County?
Producers can sell almost any type of food, including products containing meat (from approved federal-exemption sources) and perishable foods. Non-dairy, non-meat products can be sold anywhere including online, in stores, and via third-party delivery. The program has approximately 10,000 registered businesses as of 2024. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Arizona, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Arizona?
Arizona state law lists cottage food sales at None. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.
Do I need a home occupation permit in Yavapai County?
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Yavapai County and City of Prescott may require home occupation permits under local zoning. Check with Yavapai County Community Development Department.
The free county page is the short version. This is the full Arizona License & Permit Guide (57 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Arizona License & Permit Guide (57 pages).

Where to verify Yavapai County rules
Yavapai County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Yavapai County This county | Mohave County | Coconino County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state statute | No explicit state-level pet restriction documented in Arizona cottage food statute. Standard food safety practices apply. | No statewide prohibition on pets, but kitchen must maintain sanitary conditions; some counties may require a locally issued food handler ca… |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Conditional |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Non-dairy/non-meat products: sold anywhere including online, in stores, third-party delivery. Some extra restrictions for products on separ… | Arizona cottage food allows broad sales channels: direct from home, online, at events, through retailers, and via delivery. Non-dairy/non-m… | State law allows sales from home, farmers markets, events, online, and third-party delivery platforms. Local zoning may restrict customer t… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | No routine inspection required. Registration with AZ DHS required; renewed every 3 years. Food handler certification (specific course) requ… | Arizona's cottage food program (A.R.S. §36-931/932, expanded by HB 2042 in 2024) allows almost any food including perishables and foods con… | Must be registered with AZ DHS. Food handler certification (specific course) required. For non-perishable foods sold in retail stores, prod… |
| Food storage | Broad: most non-TCS foods allowed; 2024 expansion allows perishable foods with restrictions. Non-dairy/non-meat products can be sold anywhe… | Non-alcoholic, non-prohibited foods in standard safe storage conditions. Perishable items now allowed under 2024 HB 2042 expansion. | Non-perishable foods must be stored in food-safe, sealed containers. Perishable foods (allowed since 2024) must be temperature-controlled p… |
| Population | 237,830 | 214,229 | 144,705 |
Yavapai County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Yavapai County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Other Arizona counties
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Advertise here
Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise in Yavapai County, Arizona
Reach home bakers in Yavapai County, Arizona. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.
Learn about placementsYour business here
Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.
Post in the local discussionAds are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Arizona's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.