Cottage food law & license in Greenlee County, AZ
What's in the Greenlee County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Greenlee County?
More Greenlee County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Greenlee County?
How to start in Greenlee County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Arizona cottage food rules in Greenlee County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Arizona cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Producers can sell almost any type of food, including products containing meat (from approved federal-exemption sources) and perishable foods. Non-dairy, non-meat products can be sold anywhere including online, in stores, and via third-party delivery. The program has approximately 10,000 registered businesses as of 2024.). Greenlee County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Greenlee County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional — check county zoning. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Greenlee County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Arizona disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Arizona label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a home kitchen that may come in contact with common food allergens and pet allergens and is not subject to public health inspection.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Arizona county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Arizona county rules quiz
Greenlee County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Arizona statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Greenlee County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Greenlee County cottage food rules with Arizona agencies?
Greenlee County is a county in Arizona (pop. 9,483). Under Arizona's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Arizona Department of Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Greenlee County health and planning requirements via the health department and planning / zoning links on this page. Local notes for Greenlee County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Arizona state cottage food law (A.R.S. §36-931/§36-932, expanded by HB 2042 in 2024) governs. Greenlee County is Arizona's smallest county by population (~9,600). No county-specific cottage food ordinance found. State registration via AZ DHS required; food handler training required (ADHS-approved course). County may require locally-issued food handler card per state baseline note. No county-specific home occupation ordinance found restricting cottage food operations. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Greenlee County?
Tier: Great
Arizona's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.
Arizona cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Greenlee County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Greenlee County
State baseline: A.R.S. §36-931 / §36-932
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must operate from a residential kitchen. State registration with AZ DHS required. Food handler training (ADHS-approved course) required. Products containing meat must meet federal exemption requirements. Some county health departments may require a locally-issued food handler card in addition to state registration.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified at county level; state-level good manufacturing practices apply
- Water supply
- Potable water required; residential water supply acceptable
- Handwashing
- Standard sanitary practices; state food safety guidance applies
- Food storage
- Safe food storage practices required; no separate storage room mandated
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection; complaint-based investigation possible through AZ DHS or county health
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional — check county zoning
- Permit details
- No county-specific home occupation ordinance confirmed restricting cottage food. State law (A.R.S. §36-932) authorizes home kitchen sales. Producers should verify with county planning/zoning if their jurisdiction has home occupation rules applicable to food sales from home.
- Local business license
- Conditional — check with county
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Yes
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct sales, online sales, and retail/wholesale indirect sales all permitted; no sales cap under Arizona law
- Max employees in home
- Not specified at county level
- Relevant code section
- N/A — no county-specific cottage food code found; state law governs
Arizona state cottage food law (A.R.S. §36-931/§36-932, expanded by HB 2042 in 2024) governs. Greenlee County is Arizona's smallest county by population (~9,600). No county-specific cottage food ordinance found. State registration via AZ DHS required; food handler training required (ADHS-approved course). County may require locally-issued food handler card per state baseline note. No county-specific home occupation ordinance found restricting cottage food operations.
What does the Arizona cottage food statute say?
Arizona Cottage Food Program
Full Arizona License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt36-931. Definitions. 1. "Cottage food product": (a) Means a food that is prepared in a home kitchen by or under the direct supervision of an individual who is registered with the department and that either, as defined by the department in rule: (i) Is not potentially hazardous or does not require time or temperature control for safety. (ii) Is potentially hazardous or requires time or temperature control for safety. (b) Does not include alcoholic beverages, unpasteurized milk or foods that are or that contain alcoholic beverages, fish and shellfish products, meat, meat by-products, poultry or poultry by-products unless the sale of those items is allowed by federal law. 3. "Home kitchen" means a kitchen in the residential home or dwelling of the individual who is registered with the department to prepare cottage food products, of a type that is normally found in a residential home and that does not exceed one thousand square feet. 36-932. A. Cottage food products must be packaged at home with an attached label in a clear and legible printed or handwritten font that clearly states the name and registration number of the food preparer; lists all ingredients and the production date; includes the statement: "This product was produced in a home kitchen that may come in contact with common food allergens and pet allergens and is not subject to public health inspection." C. The person preparing the cottage food product or directly supervising the food preparation must complete a food handler training course from an accredited program and maintain active certification. The food preparer must register with the online registry established by the department.
Source: azleg.gov/ars/36/00931.htm →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Greenlee County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeGreenlee County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Greenlee County, Arizona?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional — check county zoning. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Greenlee County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Greenlee County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Greenlee County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Greenlee County. Ask Greenlee County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Arizona?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Greenlee County?
Apply via Greenlee County environmental health (greenlee.az.gov). Official link: https://www.greenlee.az.gov/departments/health. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Arizona cottage food law in Greenlee County?
Producers can sell almost any type of food, including products containing meat (from approved federal-exemption sources) and perishable foods. Non-dairy, non-meat products can be sold anywhere including online, in stores, and via third-party delivery. The program has approximately 10,000 registered businesses as of 2024. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Arizona, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Greenlee County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection; complaint-based investigation possible through AZ DHS or county health. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Arizona report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeGreenlee County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Greenlee County.
Download county reportFull Arizona License & Permit Guide (57 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Greenlee County.
Arizona law pageFree email alerts
Greenlee County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Greenlee County, with Arizona statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Greenlee County page based on?
Where to verify Greenlee County rules
Greenlee County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Greenlee County This county | Graham County | Apache County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified at county level; state-level good manufacturing practices apply | Not specified at county level; state-level good manufacturing practices apply | Label must disclose that product was prepared in a home kitchen that may come in contact with common allergens and pet allergens |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Yes | Yes | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct sales, online sales, and retail/wholesale indirect sales all permitted; no sales cap under Arizona law | Direct sales, online sales, and retail/wholesale indirect sales all permitted; no sales cap under Arizona law | Direct and indirect sales allowed statewide; online sales, farmers markets, retail stores, and third-party delivery permitted. No state-imp… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional — check county zoning | Conditional — check county zoning | Varies |
| Local business license | Conditional — check with county | Conditional — check with county | Varies |
| Restrictions | Must operate from a residential kitchen. State registration with AZ DHS required. Food handler training (ADHS-approved course) required. Pr… | Must operate from a residential kitchen. State registration with AZ DHS required. Food handler training (ADHS-approved course) required. Pr… | Cottage food must be prepared in the home kitchen of the registered producer. Registration with AZ DHS required, renewed every 3 years. Foo… |
| Food storage | Safe food storage practices required; no separate storage room mandated | Safe food storage practices required; no separate storage room mandated | Must comply with safe handling, processing, and storage requirements per food handler training course and AZ DHS guidance |
| Population | 9,483 | 38,453 | 66,054 |
What other Arizona counties can I compare?
Other Arizona counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Greenlee County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Arizona's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Greenlee County bakers?
Greenlee County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Greenlee County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Greenlee County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Greenlee County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Greenlee County at a glance?
File with Greenlee County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Greenlee County environmental health(greenlee.az.gov)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Greenlee County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Greenlee County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Greenlee County
- Check with Greenlee County business license office
Want store shelves? → Step 2
Maricopa County — New Cottage Food Law FAQ (5-1-24) · Greenlee County Zoning Regulations §1021 Permitted Home O…
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Arizona
- Selling to stores: check with Arizona Department of Health Services
Greenlee County
- Check with Greenlee County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Arizona
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Arizona Department of Health Services
Greenlee County
- Check with Greenlee County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Arizona · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Arizona Department of Health Services.
Arizona · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Arizona Department of Health Services.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.