crosodo
County · Seat: Denver · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Denver County, CO

Inside the permit report

What's in the Denver County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Denver County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Denver County
Table of contents
Your Denver County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Denver County?

All products in Colorado →
More Denver County resources
What's new for Colorado cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Denver County?
Start here

How to start in Denver County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Colorado cottage food rules in Denver County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Colorado cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Allowed non-refrigerated nonpotentially hazardous foods include baked goods (including candies, tortillas, empanadas), pickled fruits and vegetables (pH 4.6 or below), jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, spices, teas, dehydrated produce, nuts, seeds, honey, flour, and fermented foods. Whole eggs may be sold under a 250-dozen-per-month limit.). Denver County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: Tiered (see notes). On-site / porch pickup in Denver County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Denver County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Colorado disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Colorado label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a home kitchen that is not subject to state licensure or inspection and that may also process common food allergens such as tree nuts, peanuts, eggs, soy, wheat, milk, fish, and crustacean shellfish. This product is not intended for resale.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Colorado county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Colorado county rules quiz

Denver County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Colorado statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Denver County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Denver County cottage food rules with Colorado agencies?

Denver County is a top-100 county by population in Colorado (pop. 710,800). Under Colorado's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered (see notes)), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Denver County health and planning requirements via the health department and planning / zoning links on this page. Local notes for Denver County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Denver County follows Colorado state baseline for cottage food. Denver is a consolidated city-county. The $10,000 per-product cap (not total revenue) is Colorado's distinctive feature. Denver likely has home occupation permit requirements (Denver ZONING HOME OCCUPATION permit). Free CDPHE registration required. Pending HB 26-1033 (Tamale Act) would expand permitted foods and remove per-product cap effective 2027. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Denver County?
State law applies

Tier: Great

Colorado's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Colorado cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Denver County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Denver County

State baseline: C.R.S. §25-4-1614 (Colorado Cottage Foods Act); per-product cap $10,000/year; CDPHE registration required

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Denver is a consolidated city-county. State baseline applies: free CDPHE registration, $10,000 per-product annual cap, food handler certification required. Denver Public Health may have additional guidance.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified; standard sanitation applies
Water supply
Potable water; municipal supply standard in Denver
Handwashing
Food handler certification required
Food storage
Standard food storage; non-PHF only
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
Denver Public Health / CDPHE may inspect upon complaint. No routine inspections.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
City and County of Denver has home occupation permit requirements. Contact Denver Community Planning and Development for home occupation permit (ZONING HOME OCCUPATION). Denver Revised Municipal Code Section 59-93 governs home occupations.
Local business license
Yes
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct sales only: in-person, online with in-state delivery, farmers markets, events. No wholesale. $10,000 per-product annual cap. Pending HB 26-1033 would expand if enacted (effective 2027).
Max employees in home
unknown
Zoning code
Relevant code section
C.R.S. §25-4-1614; Denver Revised Municipal Code §59-93 (home occupations)
Local notes

Denver County follows Colorado state baseline for cottage food. Denver is a consolidated city-county. The $10,000 per-product cap (not total revenue) is Colorado's distinctive feature. Denver likely has home occupation permit requirements (Denver ZONING HOME OCCUPATION permit). Free CDPHE registration required. Pending HB 26-1033 (Tamale Act) would expand permitted foods and remove per-product cap effective 2027.

What does the Colorado cottage food statute say?
Colorado statute (state law)

Colorado Cottage Foods Act

Citation: C.R.S. §25-4-1614
Verbatim excerpt

25-4-1614. Home kitchens - exemption - food inspection - short title - definitions - rules. (2)(b)(I) A producer is permitted under this section to sell only a limited range of foods that have been produced, processed, or packaged that are nonpotentially hazardous and do not require refrigeration. These foods include pickled fruits and vegetables, spices, teas, dehydrated produce, nuts, seeds, honey, jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, flour, and baked goods, including candies, fruit empanadas, and tortillas and other nonpotentially hazardous foods. (2)(c) A producer must take a food safety course that includes basic food handling training and is comparable to, or is, a course given by the Colorado state university extension service or a state, county, or district public health agency and must maintain a status of good standing in accordance with the course requirements. (2)(e) This section applies only to producers who earn net revenues of ten thousand dollars or less per calendar year from the sale of each eligible food product produced in the producer's home kitchen. (3)(a) A food product sold under this section must have an affixed label that includes at least: the name of the food product; the producer's name, the address at which the food was prepared, and the producer's current telephone number or electronic mail address; and a statement that reads: "This product was produced in a home kitchen that is not subject to state licensure or inspection. This product is not intended for resale."

Source: leg.colorado.gov/bill_files/40283/download →
Full Colorado License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Denver County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Denver County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Denver County, Colorado?

State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Denver County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Denver County?

State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Denver County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Denver County. Ask Denver County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Colorado?

Sales caps are set by Colorado state law. Check the current figure with the state agency and Denver County environmental health.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Denver County?

Apply via Denver County environmental health (denvergov.org). Official link: https://www.denvergov.org/government/agencies-departments-offices/agencies-departments-offices-directory/public-health-and-environment. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.

What foods can I sell under Colorado cottage food law in Denver County?

Allowed non-refrigerated nonpotentially hazardous foods include baked goods (including candies, tortillas, empanadas), pickled fruits and vegetables (pH 4.6 or below), jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, spices, teas, dehydrated produce, nuts, seeds, honey, flour, and fermented foods. Whole eggs may be sold under a 250-dozen-per-month limit. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Colorado, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Denver County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Denver Public Health / CDPHE may inspect upon complaint. No routine inspections.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Denver County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Colorado report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Denver County cottage food reports

What permits in Denver County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Denver County county cottage food report
Denver County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Denver County.

Download county report
Cover of Colorado cottage food law PDF report
Colorado state report

Full Colorado License & Permit Guide (188 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Denver County.

Colorado law page

Free email alerts

Denver County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Denver County, with Colorado statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Denver County page based on?
Quick comparison

Denver County vs. bordering counties

RegulationDenver County
This county
Arapahoe CountyJefferson County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified; standard sanitation appliesNo specific state cottage food pet restriction; general sanitation standards applyNo specific state cottage food pet restriction; general sanitation standards apply
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesConditionalConditional
On-site signageConditionalNoConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect sales only: in-person, online with in-state delivery, farmers markets, events. No wholesale. $10,000 per-product annual cap. Pending…Incidental pickup at home is permitted. Sales may occur at farmers markets, roadside stands, festivals, online with mail/home delivery with…Incidental pickup of goods permitted. Online and mail-order sales allowed. $10,000 per-product annual cap within Colorado. No retail/restau…
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalYes
Local business licenseYesVariesVaries
RestrictionsDenver is a consolidated city-county. State baseline applies: free CDPHE registration, $10,000 per-product annual cap, food handler certifi…Non-potentially hazardous foods that do not require refrigeration only. Products must be sold directly to informed end consumers in Colorad…Non-potentially hazardous foods that do not require refrigeration only. $10,000 per-product annual cap. Food safety training required. Dire…
Food storageStandard food storage; non-PHF onlyProducts stored in home kitchen; no outdoor storage per Arapahoe County home occupation rulesNo outdoor storage per Jefferson County home occupation rules; storage within home/garage (up to 25% of garage)
Population710,800654,453580,519
What other Colorado counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Colorado counties

Colorado
Pop. 730K
Colorado
Pop. 654K
Colorado
Pop. 581K
Colorado
Pop. 520K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Denver County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Colorado's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Denver County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Denver County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Denver County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Denver County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Denver County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Denver County, Colorado?
Yes — Colorado allows cottage food sales. State permit required. Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment and the Denver County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Denver County?
Your Denver County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Denver County at a glance?
Official filing

File with Denver County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.

Apply via Denver County environmental health(denvergov.org)
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Denver County? State vs county rules and pets
Colorado rule (statewide)Denver County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Denver County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Denver County

    • Check with Denver County business license office
    • Check with Denver County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    C.R.S. 25-4-1614(8) (pre-2027 text, shown as existing law… · CDPHE — Colorado cottage food act updates (Tamale Act

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Colorado

    • Selling to stores: check with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment

    Denver County

    • Check with Denver County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Colorado

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment

    Denver County

    • Check with Denver County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Colorado · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.

    Colorado · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.