Cottage food law & license in El Paso County, CO
What's in the El Paso County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in El Paso County?
More El Paso County resources
What's new for Colorado cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in El Paso County?
How to start in El Paso County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Colorado cottage food rules in El Paso County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Colorado cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Allowed non-refrigerated nonpotentially hazardous foods include baked goods (including candies, tortillas, empanadas), pickled fruits and vegetables (pH 4.6 or below), jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, spices, teas, dehydrated produce, nuts, seeds, honey, flour, and fermented foods. Whole eggs may be sold under a 250-dozen-per-month limit.). El Paso County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: Tiered (see notes). On-site / porch pickup in El Paso County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in El Paso County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Colorado disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Colorado label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a home kitchen that is not subject to state licensure or inspection and that may also process common food allergens such as tree nuts, peanuts, eggs, soy, wheat, milk, fish, and crustacean shellfish. This product is not intended for resale.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Colorado county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Colorado county rules quiz
El Paso County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Colorado statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a El Paso County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify El Paso County cottage food rules with Colorado agencies?
El Paso County is a top-100 county by population in Colorado (pop. 730,323). Under Colorado's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered (see notes)), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm El Paso County health and planning requirements via the health department and planning / zoning links on this page. Local notes for El Paso County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. El Paso County follows Colorado state baseline for cottage food. The $10,000 per-product (not total) cap is a distinctive Colorado feature. Colorado Springs is the dominant municipality and Colorado's second-largest city. Pending HB 26-1033 (Tamale Act) would expand permitted foods and remove the per-product cap effective January 1, 2027. Free CDPHE registration required. No El Paso County-specific cottage food ordinance found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in El Paso County?
Tier: Great
Colorado's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.
Colorado cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the El Paso County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for El Paso County
State baseline: C.R.S. §25-4-1614 (Colorado Cottage Foods Act); per-product cap $10,000/year; CDPHE registration required
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- State baseline applies. Free CDPHE registration required. $10,000 annual cap per product (not total revenue). Food handler certification required (CSU Extension, online course, or local health dept). Complaint-based inspection only.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified; standard sanitation applies
- Water supply
- Potable water; state baseline
- Handwashing
- Food handler certification from an approved course required (CSU Extension ~$50, or online ~$10-15)
- Food storage
- Standard food storage; non-PHF only
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- CDPHE or El Paso County Public Health may inspect upon complaint. No routine inspections.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- City of Colorado Springs has home occupation permit requirements. Contact Colorado Springs Planning Division or Pikes Peak Regional Building Department. El Paso County Community Services applies to unincorporated areas. State cottage food law does not preempt local zoning for home occupations.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct sales only: in-person, online with in-state delivery, farmers markets, events. No wholesale. $10,000 per-product annual cap (no total revenue cap across all products). Whole eggs separately allowed up to 250 dozen/month.
- Max employees in home
- unknown
- Relevant code section
- C.R.S. §25-4-1614; Colorado Springs City Code for home occupations
El Paso County follows Colorado state baseline for cottage food. The $10,000 per-product (not total) cap is a distinctive Colorado feature. Colorado Springs is the dominant municipality and Colorado's second-largest city. Pending HB 26-1033 (Tamale Act) would expand permitted foods and remove the per-product cap effective January 1, 2027. Free CDPHE registration required. No El Paso County-specific cottage food ordinance found.
What does the Colorado cottage food statute say?
Colorado Cottage Foods Act
Full Colorado License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt25-4-1614. Home kitchens - exemption - food inspection - short title - definitions - rules. (2)(b)(I) A producer is permitted under this section to sell only a limited range of foods that have been produced, processed, or packaged that are nonpotentially hazardous and do not require refrigeration. These foods include pickled fruits and vegetables, spices, teas, dehydrated produce, nuts, seeds, honey, jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, flour, and baked goods, including candies, fruit empanadas, and tortillas and other nonpotentially hazardous foods. (2)(c) A producer must take a food safety course that includes basic food handling training and is comparable to, or is, a course given by the Colorado state university extension service or a state, county, or district public health agency and must maintain a status of good standing in accordance with the course requirements. (2)(e) This section applies only to producers who earn net revenues of ten thousand dollars or less per calendar year from the sale of each eligible food product produced in the producer's home kitchen. (3)(a) A food product sold under this section must have an affixed label that includes at least: the name of the food product; the producer's name, the address at which the food was prepared, and the producer's current telephone number or electronic mail address; and a statement that reads: "This product was produced in a home kitchen that is not subject to state licensure or inspection. This product is not intended for resale."
Source: leg.colorado.gov/bill_files/40283/download →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. El Paso County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeEl Paso County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in El Paso County, Colorado?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with El Paso County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in El Paso County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in El Paso County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for El Paso County. Ask El Paso County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Colorado?
Sales caps are set by Colorado state law. Check the current figure with the state agency and El Paso County environmental health.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in El Paso County?
Apply via El Paso County environmental health (elpasocountyhealth.org). Official link: https://www.elpasocountyhealth.org. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Colorado cottage food law in El Paso County?
Allowed non-refrigerated nonpotentially hazardous foods include baked goods (including candies, tortillas, empanadas), pickled fruits and vegetables (pH 4.6 or below), jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, spices, teas, dehydrated produce, nuts, seeds, honey, flour, and fermented foods. Whole eggs may be sold under a 250-dozen-per-month limit. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Colorado, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in El Paso County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: CDPHE or El Paso County Public Health may inspect upon complaint. No routine inspections.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Colorado report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeEl Paso County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for El Paso County.
Download county reportFull Colorado License & Permit Guide (188 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside El Paso County.
Colorado law pageFree email alerts
El Paso County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in El Paso County, with Colorado statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this El Paso County page based on?
Where to verify El Paso County rules
El Paso County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | El Paso County This county | Douglas County | Pueblo County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Conditional | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified; standard sanitation applies | No specific state restriction in cottage food law. | No explicit state restriction; food handler training addresses safety practices. |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Conditional |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct sales only: in-person, online with in-state delivery, farmers markets, events. No wholesale. $10,000 per-product annual cap (no tota… | Direct sales only (Colorado cottage food law is direct-to-consumer only). Internet sales permitted. In-state delivery permitted. No wholesa… | Direct sales from home (limited per zoning), farmers markets, and online within Colorado. |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Yes |
| Restrictions | State baseline applies. Free CDPHE registration required. $10,000 annual cap per product (not total revenue). Food handler certification re… | Colorado Cottage Food Act (C.R.S. §25-4-1614) allows non-refrigerated, non-PHF foods with no licensing or inspection required. Annual sales… | Free CDPHE registration required. Food handler course required (CSU Extension, online, or local health dept course). Annual cap $10,000 per… |
| Food storage | Standard food storage; non-PHF only | Non-refrigerated, non-PHF finished products only. | Non-refrigerated products stored in sanitary conditions. |
| Population | 730,323 | 360,206 | 168,135 |
What other Colorado counties can I compare?
Other Colorado counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this El Paso County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Colorado's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other El Paso County bakers?
El Paso County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about El Paso County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in El Paso County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in El Paso County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about El Paso County at a glance?
File with El Paso County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via El Paso County environmental health(elpasocountyhealth.org)How does the Crosodo ladder work in El Paso County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
El Paso County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
El Paso County
- Check with El Paso County business license office
- Check with El Paso County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
C.R.S. 25-4-1614(8) (pre-2027 text, shown as existing law… · CDPHE — Colorado cottage food act updates (Tamale Act
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Colorado
- Selling to stores: check with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
El Paso County
- Check with El Paso County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Colorado
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
El Paso County
- Check with El Paso County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Colorado · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.
Colorado · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.