Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Colorado Report Guide · 188 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Canon City · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Fremont County, CO

Can I sell cottage food from home in Fremont County, Colorado?
Yes — Colorado allows cottage food sales under a Great-tier law (cap: Tiered (see notes)). Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment and the Fremont County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Fremont County Permits 101 for Fremont County, Colorado (70 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Fremont County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Fremont County?

Colorado cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Fremont County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Fremont County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Fremont County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Fremont County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Colorado cottage food rules in Fremont County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Colorado cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Allowed non-refrigerated nonpotentially hazardous foods include baked goods (including candies, tortillas, empanadas), pickled fruits and vegetables (pH 4.6 or below), jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, spices, teas, dehydrated produce, nuts, seeds, honey, flour, and fermented foods. Whole eggs may be sold under a 250-dozen-per-month limit.). Fremont County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: Tiered (see notes). On-site / porch pickup in Fremont County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Fremont County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Colorado disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Colorado label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a home kitchen that is not subject to state licensure or inspection and that may also process common food allergens such as tree nuts, peanuts, eggs, soy, wheat, milk, fish, and crustacean shellfish. This product is not intended for resale.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Fremont County is a county in Colorado (pop. 49,107). Under Colorado's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered (see notes)), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Fremont County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Fremont County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Colorado's per-product $10,000 cap allows unlimited total revenue by offering multiple products. CDPHE free registration required. HB 26-1033 (Tamale Act) is pending as of 2026 which would expand to refrigerated/meat items and remove per-product cap effective January 2027. Fremont County includes Canon City and the Royal Gorge area. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Fremont County cottage food reports

What permits in Fremont County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Fremont County county cottage food report
Fremont County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Fremont County.

Download county report
Cover of Colorado cottage food law PDF report
Colorado state report

Full Colorado License & Permit Guide (188 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Great

Colorado's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Colorado cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Fremont County

State baseline: C.R.S. §25-4-1614

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Must register with CDPHE (free registration). Non-PHF foods only. $10,000 annual cap per product (not total revenue). Allowed foods: baked goods, pickled fruits/vegetables (pH ≤4.6), jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, spices, teas, dehydrated produce, nuts, seeds, honey, flour, fermented foods. Whole eggs allowed (≤250 dozen/month). Direct-to-consumer sales only.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state cottage food law.
Water supply
Not specified in state cottage food law.
Handwashing
Food safety training required (CSU Extension $50, or online food handler card ~$10-15, or local health dept course).
Food storage
Products must be non-PHF and shelf-stable; no refrigeration required.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
Complaint-based inspection only. CDPHE inspection authority. Free registration required.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Fremont County and City of Canon City may have home occupation zoning requirements. Recommend verifying with Fremont County Planning and Zoning and City of Canon City planning department.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct-to-consumer sales only. Online sales allowed within Colorado. No indirect sales through retailers or wholesale. No out-of-state shipping.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state cottage food law.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
C.R.S. §25-4-1614; Fremont County zoning code; City of Canon City zoning code
Local notes

Colorado's per-product $10,000 cap allows unlimited total revenue by offering multiple products. CDPHE free registration required. HB 26-1033 (Tamale Act) is pending as of 2026 which would expand to refrigerated/meat items and remove per-product cap effective January 2027. Fremont County includes Canon City and the Royal Gorge area.

Colorado statute (state law)

Colorado Cottage Foods Act

Citation: C.R.S. §25-4-1614
Verbatim excerpt

25-4-1614. Home kitchens - exemption - food inspection - short title - definitions - rules. (2)(b)(I) A producer is permitted under this section to sell only a limited range of foods that have been produced, processed, or packaged that are nonpotentially hazardous and do not require refrigeration. These foods include pickled fruits and vegetables, spices, teas, dehydrated produce, nuts, seeds, honey, jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, flour, and baked goods, including candies, fruit empanadas, and tortillas and other nonpotentially hazardous foods. (2)(c) A producer must take a food safety course that includes basic food handling training and is comparable to, or is, a course given by the Colorado state university extension service or a state, county, or district public health agency and must maintain a status of good standing in accordance with the course requirements. (2)(e) This section applies only to producers who earn net revenues of ten thousand dollars or less per calendar year from the sale of each eligible food product produced in the producer's home kitchen. (3)(a) A food product sold under this section must have an affixed label that includes at least: the name of the food product; the producer's name, the address at which the food was prepared, and the producer's current telephone number or electronic mail address; and a statement that reads: "This product was produced in a home kitchen that is not subject to state licensure or inspection. This product is not intended for resale."

Source: leg.colorado.gov/bill_files/40283/download
Full Colorado License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Fremont County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Fremont County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (70 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Fremont County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Fremont County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Fremont County, Colorado?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. Fremont County and City of Canon City may have home occupation zoning requirements. Recommend verifying with Fremont County Planning and Zoning and City of Canon City planning department. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Colorado guide at https://crosodo.com/states/colorado.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Fremont County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Complaint-based inspection only. CDPHE inspection authority. Free registration required.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Colorado cottage food law in Fremont County?

Allowed non-refrigerated nonpotentially hazardous foods include baked goods (including candies, tortillas, empanadas), pickled fruits and vegetables (pH 4.6 or below), jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, spices, teas, dehydrated produce, nuts, seeds, honey, flour, and fermented foods. Whole eggs may be sold under a 250-dozen-per-month limit. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Colorado, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Colorado?

Colorado state law lists cottage food sales at Tiered (see notes). There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Fremont County?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. Fremont County and City of Canon City may have home occupation zoning requirements. Recommend verifying with Fremont County Planning and Zoning and City of Canon City planning department.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Colorado License & Permit Guide (188 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Colorado License & Permit Guide (188 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Fremont County vs. bordering counties

RegulationFremont County
This county
Teller CountyChaffee County
Home kitchen allowedYesTrueTrue
Separate dedicated kitchenNoFalseFalse
Pets allowedNot specified in state cottage food law.No specific county rule; standard CO cottage food appliesNo specific county rule; state guidance recommends pets excluded from food prep area during production
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaint onlyFalse
On-site customer pickupYesTrueTrue
On-site signageConditionalNo specific county restriction found; state disclaimer placard required at point of saleNot regulated at state level; local home occupation rules may restrict signage
Delivery / pickupDirect-to-consumer sales only. Online sales allowed within Colorado. No indirect sales through retailers or wholesale. No out-of-state ship…Direct-to-consumer only; no wholesale; may sell from residence, farmers markets, online (CO only)Direct-to-consumer sales only; product must be sold in Colorado; cannot sell to restaurants or grocery stores
Home occupation permitConditionalLikely; verify with Teller County PlanningPossibly
Local business licenseVariesPossibly; verify with Teller County Clerk or relevant municipalityPossibly; City of Salida and Town of Buena Vista may require local business licenses for operations within their limits
RestrictionsMust register with CDPHE (free registration). Non-PHF foods only. $10,000 annual cap per product (not total revenue). Allowed foods: baked …
Food storageProducts must be non-PHF and shelf-stable; no refrigeration required.Standard sanitary storage; no additional county requirement foundStandard food safety storage per C.R.S. §25-4-1614; all products must be non-potentially hazardous (non-refrigerated)
Population49,10724,75819,564
Crosodo Forum

Fremont County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Fremont County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Colorado counties

Colorado
Pop. 730K
Colorado
Pop. 711K
Colorado
Pop. 654K
Colorado
Pop. 581K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Fremont County, Colorado

Reach home bakers in Fremont County, Colorado. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Colorado's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Fremont County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.