Cottage food law & license in Hamilton County, FL
What's in the Hamilton County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Hamilton County?
More Hamilton County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Hamilton County?
How to start in Hamilton County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Florida cottage food rules in Hamilton County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Florida cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Florida uses a broad non-TCS standard — any food that does not require time/temperature control for safety is allowed. Common examples include baked goods, candies, jams, jellies, dried goods, roasted nuts, and similar shelf-stable items.). Hamilton County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $250,000. On-site / porch pickup in Hamilton County: True. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Likely; verify with Hamilton County. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Hamilton County: Upon-complaint only. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Florida disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Florida label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made in a cottage food operation that is not subject to Florida's food safety regulations”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Florida county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Florida county rules quiz
Hamilton County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Florida statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Hamilton County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Hamilton County cottage food rules with Florida agencies?
Hamilton County is a county in Florida (pop. 13,492). Under Florida's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 250000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Hamilton County health and planning requirements via the health department and planning / zoning links on this page. Local notes for Hamilton County: home kitchen restricted; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. No Hamilton County-specific cottage food or home occupation ordinance surfaced in search. Small, rural north Florida county. State baseline (Fla. Stat. §500.80) governs; county cannot restrict cottage food production. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Hamilton County?
Tier: Great
Florida's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.
Florida cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Hamilton County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Hamilton County
State baseline: Fla. Stat. §500.80; FL tier: Great
- Home kitchen allowed
- True
- Restrictions
- —
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- False
- Pet restrictions
- No state or county-specific rule for cottage food
- Water supply
- No state requirement for cottage food; county may have residential water standards
- Handwashing
- No state requirement for cottage food registration; standard GMP expected
- Food storage
- Non-TCS (non-temperature controlled) foods only; standard sanitary storage
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint only
- Inspection trigger
- State inspection only upon receipt of complaint per Fla. Stat. §500.80(7); county cannot add inspections
- Home occupation permit
- Likely; verify with Hamilton County
- Permit details
- No Hamilton County-specific home occupation ordinance text located in search. Small, rural north Florida county (pop. ~14,000) with county seat Jasper. Local business tax receipt and possible zoning approval likely required. State preempts county from banning cottage food.
- Local business license
- Likely; Hamilton County local business tax receipt; contact Hamilton County Tax Collector
- On-site customer pickup
- True
- On-site signage
- Must comply with Hamilton County signage ordinances
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct-to-consumer; online/mail-order allowed; shipping within and across state lines via USPS or commercial carrier; no wholesale/consignment; max $250,000 annual gross sales
- Max employees in home
- no state limit; local home occupation rules may apply
No Hamilton County-specific cottage food or home occupation ordinance surfaced in search. Small, rural north Florida county. State baseline (Fla. Stat. §500.80) governs; county cannot restrict cottage food production.
What does the Florida cottage food statute say?
Florida Statutes §500.80 (Cottage food operations), Title XXXIII, Chapter 500 (Food Products)
Full Florida License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt500.80 Cottage food operations.— (1)(a) A cottage food operation must comply with the applicable requirements of this chapter but is exempt from the permitting requirements of s. 500.12 if the cottage food operation complies with this section and has annual gross sales of cottage food products that do not exceed $250,000. (b) For purposes of this subsection, a cottage food operation's annual gross sales include all sales of cottage food products at any location, regardless of the types of products sold or the number of persons involved in the operation. A cottage food operation must provide the department, upon request, with written documentation to verify the operation's annual gross sales. (2) A cottage food operation may sell, offer for sale, and accept payment for cottage food products over the Internet or by mail order. Such products may be delivered in person directly to the consumer, to a specific event venue, or by United States Postal Service or commercial mail delivery service. A cottage food operation may not sell, offer for sale, or deliver cottage food products at wholesale. (6) The regulation of cottage food operations is preempted to the state. A local law, ordinance, or regulation may not prohibit a cottage food operation or regulate the preparation, processing, storage, or sale of cottage food products by a cottage food operation; however, a cottage food operation must comply with the conditions for the operation of a home-based business under s. 559.955.
Source: leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0500/Sections/0500.80.html →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Hamilton County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeHamilton County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Hamilton County, Florida?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Likely; verify with Hamilton County. Home kitchen: True. Confirm with Hamilton County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Hamilton County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Hamilton County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Hamilton County. Ask Hamilton County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Florida?
$250,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Hamilton County?
Apply via Hamilton County environmental health (doh.state.fl.us). Official link: https://www.doh.state.fl.us/chdHamilton/. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Florida cottage food law in Hamilton County?
Florida uses a broad non-TCS standard — any food that does not require time/temperature control for safety is allowed. Common examples include baked goods, candies, jams, jellies, dried goods, roasted nuts, and similar shelf-stable items. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Florida, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Hamilton County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint only. Trigger: State inspection only upon receipt of complaint per Fla. Stat. §500.80(7); county cannot add inspections. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Florida report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeHamilton County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Hamilton County.
Download county reportFull Florida License & Permit Guide (199 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Hamilton County.
Florida law pageFree email alerts
Hamilton County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Hamilton County, with Florida statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Hamilton County page based on?
Where to verify Hamilton County rules
Hamilton County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Hamilton County This county | Madison County | Suwannee County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | True | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | False | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No state or county-specific rule for cottage food | Not specified in state law; products must not be contaminated | Not specified in state law; products must not be contaminated |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint only | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | True | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Must comply with Hamilton County signage ordinances | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct-to-consumer; online/mail-order allowed; shipping within and across state lines via USPS or commercial carrier; no wholesale/consignm… | Sales allowed from residence, online, by mail-order, at farmers markets, flea markets, and roadside stands. Mail delivery explicitly permit… | Sales allowed from residence, online, by mail-order, at farmers markets, flea markets, and roadside stands. Mail delivery explicitly permit… |
| Home occupation permit | Likely; verify with Hamilton County | Conditional | Conditional |
| Local business license | Likely; Hamilton County local business tax receipt; contact Hamilton County Tax Collector | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | — | Must be produced in operator's home kitchen only; no garages, sheds, barns, or outbuildings. Motor home kitchens are not permitted. Product… | Must be produced in operator's home kitchen only; no garages, sheds, barns, or outbuildings. Motor home kitchens are not permitted. Product… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS (non-temperature controlled) foods only; standard sanitary storage | Ingredients and finished products must be stored in the single-family domestic residence; no garage/shed/barn storage | Ingredients and finished products must be stored in the single-family domestic residence; no garage/shed/barn storage |
| Population | 13,492 | 17,986 | 43,881 |
What other Florida counties can I compare?
Other Florida counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Hamilton County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Florida's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Hamilton County bakers?
Hamilton County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Hamilton County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Hamilton County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Hamilton County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Hamilton County at a glance?
File with Hamilton County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Hamilton County environmental health(doh.state.fl.us)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Hamilton County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Hamilton County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Hamilton County
- Check with Hamilton County business license office
- Check with Hamilton County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Florida
- Selling to stores: check with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Hamilton County
- Check with Hamilton County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Florida
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Hamilton County
- Check with Hamilton County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Florida · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
Florida · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.