crosodo
Alaska Borough · Seat: Tampa · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Hillsborough County, FL

Can I sell cottage food from home in Hillsborough County, Florida?
Yes — Florida allows cottage food sales. $250,000 annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and the Hillsborough County health department before you sell.
Your Hillsborough County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn the Library Pass
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn the Library Pass
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn the Library Pass

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. The Library Pass is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

Crosodo ladder · not a license

How the ladder works
  1. 0Not selling
  2. 1Sell from home
  3. 2Stores & markets
  4. 3Commercial kitchen

Most bakers start here. Step 2: check your county.

What do you want to do?

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz.

Official filing

File with Hillsborough County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.

Apply via Hillsborough County environmental health(hillsborough.floridahealth.gov)

Reviewed · This page stays free · Library Pass unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Hillsborough County?

All products in Florida →
Inside the permit report

What's in the Hillsborough County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Hillsborough County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Hillsborough County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Hillsborough County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Florida cottage food rules in Hillsborough County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Florida cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Florida uses a broad non-TCS standard — any food that does not require time/temperature control for safety is allowed. Common examples include baked goods, candies, jams, jellies, dried goods, roasted nuts, and similar shelf-stable items.). Hillsborough County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $250,000. On-site / porch pickup in Hillsborough County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies by city. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Hillsborough County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Florida disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Florida label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made in a cottage food operation that is not subject to Florida's food safety regulations”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Crosodo Verified

Florida county rules quiz

Hillsborough County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Florida statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Hillsborough County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz

Hillsborough County is a top-50 borough by population in Florida (pop. 1,468,560). Under Florida's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 250000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this borough. Registration path: No. Start with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Hillsborough County health and planning requirements via the health department links on this page. Local notes for Hillsborough County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Hillsborough County (Tampa) follows Florida state baseline. State preemption is strong. No county-specific cottage food rules found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Hillsborough County cottage food reports

What permits in Hillsborough County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Hillsborough County county cottage food report
Hillsborough County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Hillsborough County.

Download county report
Cover of Florida cottage food law PDF report
Florida state report

Full Florida License & Permit Guide (199 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Hillsborough County.

Florida law page
State law applies

Tier: Great

Florida's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Florida cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Hillsborough County

State baseline: Fla. Stat. §500.80

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Florida state law preempts local regulation of cottage food. Hillsborough County has no county-specific cottage food permit beyond what is required under Fla. Stat. §559.955 (home-based business conditions). No routine inspection; only upon complaint.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
State baseline applies
Water supply
State baseline applies
Handwashing
State baseline applies
Food storage
Products may only be stored on cottage operation's premises.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
State: inspection only upon complaint (§500.80(7)). No county-level inspection authority for cottage food.
Home occupation permit
Varies by city
Permit details
Florida state preemption bars local prohibition of cottage food. Home-based business conditions under §559.955 apply. Incorporated cities within Hillsborough County (Tampa, Temple Terrace, Plant City) may have home occupation permit requirements. No county-specific cottage food permit found.
Local business license
Varies by city
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
State law allows internet/mail order sales, event sales. $250,000 annual cap. No wholesale.
Max employees in home
state baseline applies
Zoning code
Relevant code section
none county-specific found; Fla. Stat. §500.80 and §559.955 apply
Local notes

Hillsborough County (Tampa) follows Florida state baseline. State preemption is strong. No county-specific cottage food rules found.

Florida statute (state law)

Florida Statutes §500.80 (Cottage food operations), Title XXXIII, Chapter 500 (Food Products)

Citation: Fla. Stat. §500.80
Verbatim excerpt

500.80 Cottage food operations.— (1)(a) A cottage food operation must comply with the applicable requirements of this chapter but is exempt from the permitting requirements of s. 500.12 if the cottage food operation complies with this section and has annual gross sales of cottage food products that do not exceed $250,000. (b) For purposes of this subsection, a cottage food operation's annual gross sales include all sales of cottage food products at any location, regardless of the types of products sold or the number of persons involved in the operation. A cottage food operation must provide the department, upon request, with written documentation to verify the operation's annual gross sales. (2) A cottage food operation may sell, offer for sale, and accept payment for cottage food products over the Internet or by mail order. Such products may be delivered in person directly to the consumer, to a specific event venue, or by United States Postal Service or commercial mail delivery service. A cottage food operation may not sell, offer for sale, or deliver cottage food products at wholesale. (6) The regulation of cottage food operations is preempted to the state. A local law, ordinance, or regulation may not prohibit a cottage food operation or regulate the preparation, processing, storage, or sale of cottage food products by a cottage food operation; however, a cottage food operation must comply with the conditions for the operation of a home-based business under s. 559.955.

Source: leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0500/Sections/0500.80.html →
Full Florida License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Crosodo Library Pass — $15/mo

This page stays free. Hillsborough County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in the Library Pass.

Get the Library Pass — $15/mo
Common questions

Hillsborough County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Hillsborough County, Florida?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Varies by city. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Hillsborough County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Hillsborough County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Hillsborough County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Hillsborough County. Ask Hillsborough County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Florida?

$250,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Hillsborough County?

Apply via Hillsborough County environmental health (hillsborough.floridahealth.gov). Official link: https://hillsborough.floridahealth.gov. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.

What foods can I sell under Florida cottage food law in Hillsborough County?

Florida uses a broad non-TCS standard — any food that does not require time/temperature control for safety is allowed. Common examples include baked goods, candies, jams, jellies, dried goods, roasted nuts, and similar shelf-stable items. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Florida, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Hillsborough County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: State: inspection only upon complaint (§500.80(7)). No county-level inspection authority for cottage food.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Hillsborough County

Crosodo Library Pass · $15/mo or $99/yr

Every Florida report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Get the Library Pass — $15/mo
Quick comparison

Hillsborough County vs. bordering counties

RegulationHillsborough County
This county
Pinellas CountyPolk County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedState baseline appliesNot specified in state law; products must not be contaminatedNot specified in state law
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupState law allows internet/mail order sales, event sales. $250,000 annual cap. No wholesale.Sales allowed from residence, online, by mail-order, at farmers markets, flea markets, and roadside stands. Mail delivery explicitly permit…Home, online, mail-order, farmers markets, flea markets, roadside stands. No wholesale to restaurants/grocery stores. $250,000 annual cap.
Home occupation permitVaries by cityConditionalConditional
Local business licenseVaries by cityVariesVaries
RestrictionsFlorida state law preempts local regulation of cottage food. Hillsborough County has no county-specific cottage food permit beyond what is …Must be produced in operator's home kitchen only; no garages, sheds, barns, or outbuildings. Motor home kitchens are not permitted. Product…Florida strong state preemption applies. Must be in operator's home kitchen only. Non-TCS foods only. Production and storage in single-fami…
Food storageProducts may only be stored on cottage operation's premises.Ingredients and finished products must be stored in the single-family domestic residence; spare rooms or basements free of dampness/pests a…Storage in single-family domestic residence only; no outbuildings
Population1,468,560959,918736,229
Crosodo Forum

Hillsborough County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Hillsborough County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Florida counties

Florida
Pop. 2.69M
Florida
Pop. 1.94M
Florida
Pop. 1.49M
Florida
Pop. 1.43M
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Hillsborough County, Florida

Reach home bakers in Hillsborough County, Florida. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Florida's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Hillsborough County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.