Cottage food law & license in Pinellas County, FL
What's in the Pinellas County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Pinellas County?
More Pinellas County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Pinellas County?
How to start in Pinellas County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Florida cottage food rules in Pinellas County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Florida cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Florida uses a broad non-TCS standard — any food that does not require time/temperature control for safety is allowed. Common examples include baked goods, candies, jams, jellies, dried goods, roasted nuts, and similar shelf-stable items.). Pinellas County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $250,000. On-site / porch pickup in Pinellas County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Pinellas County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Florida disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Florida label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made in a cottage food operation that is not subject to Florida's food safety regulations”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Florida county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Florida county rules quiz
Pinellas County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Florida statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Pinellas County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Pinellas County cottage food rules with Florida agencies?
Pinellas County is a top-100 county by population in Florida (pop. 959,918). Under Florida's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 250000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Pinellas County health and planning requirements via the health department links on this page. Local notes for Pinellas County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Florida's strong state preemption (Fla. Stat. §500.80(6)) means Pinellas County cannot restrict cottage food operations beyond traffic, parking, noise, signage, and hours rules. No county-level permit or inspection required for cottage food. The $250,000 annual cap (raised from $50,000 in 2021) applies statewide. No registration, license, or food handler training required at state or county level. The IJ Florida page confirms local ordinances are preempted as of July 2021. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Pinellas County?
Tier: Great
Florida's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.
Florida cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Pinellas County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Pinellas County
State baseline: Fla. Stat. §500.80 (Home Sweet Home Act, 2021)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must be produced in operator's home kitchen only; no garages, sheds, barns, or outbuildings. Motor home kitchens are not permitted. Products must be non-TCS (no time/temperature control for safety required). Production and storage must occur within the single-family domestic residence.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state law; products must not be contaminated
- Water supply
- Only potable water from a properly constructed on-site well or municipal water system
- Handwashing
- Standard sanitation practices required
- Food storage
- Ingredients and finished products must be stored in the single-family domestic residence; spare rooms or basements free of dampness/pests are acceptable; no garage/shed/barn storage
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- Complaint only per Fla. Stat. §500.80(7). No routine state inspections. Pinellas County Health Department has no additional inspection authority.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- State law (§500.80(6)) preempts local government from restricting cottage food operations. However, cottage food operations must comply with all applicable county and municipal laws regulating traffic, parking, noise, signage, and hours of retail operation. Contact Pinellas County Planning for any applicable home occupation standards. Local ordinances on those specific subjects still apply.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Sales allowed from residence, online, by mail-order, at farmers markets, flea markets, and roadside stands. Mail delivery explicitly permitted since 2021. No wholesale to restaurants or grocery stores.
- Max employees in home
- unknown
- Relevant code section
- Fla. Stat. §500.80; local zoning compliance required for traffic/parking/noise/signage/hours
Florida's strong state preemption (Fla. Stat. §500.80(6)) means Pinellas County cannot restrict cottage food operations beyond traffic, parking, noise, signage, and hours rules. No county-level permit or inspection required for cottage food. The $250,000 annual cap (raised from $50,000 in 2021) applies statewide. No registration, license, or food handler training required at state or county level. The IJ Florida page confirms local ordinances are preempted as of July 2021.
What does the Florida cottage food statute say?
Florida Statutes §500.80 (Cottage food operations), Title XXXIII, Chapter 500 (Food Products)
Full Florida License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt500.80 Cottage food operations.— (1)(a) A cottage food operation must comply with the applicable requirements of this chapter but is exempt from the permitting requirements of s. 500.12 if the cottage food operation complies with this section and has annual gross sales of cottage food products that do not exceed $250,000. (b) For purposes of this subsection, a cottage food operation's annual gross sales include all sales of cottage food products at any location, regardless of the types of products sold or the number of persons involved in the operation. A cottage food operation must provide the department, upon request, with written documentation to verify the operation's annual gross sales. (2) A cottage food operation may sell, offer for sale, and accept payment for cottage food products over the Internet or by mail order. Such products may be delivered in person directly to the consumer, to a specific event venue, or by United States Postal Service or commercial mail delivery service. A cottage food operation may not sell, offer for sale, or deliver cottage food products at wholesale. (6) The regulation of cottage food operations is preempted to the state. A local law, ordinance, or regulation may not prohibit a cottage food operation or regulate the preparation, processing, storage, or sale of cottage food products by a cottage food operation; however, a cottage food operation must comply with the conditions for the operation of a home-based business under s. 559.955.
Source: leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0500/Sections/0500.80.html →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Pinellas County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timePinellas County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Pinellas County, Florida?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Pinellas County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Pinellas County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Pinellas County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Pinellas County. Ask Pinellas County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Florida?
$250,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Pinellas County?
Apply via Pinellas County environmental health (pinellas.floridahealth.gov). Official link: https://pinellas.floridahealth.gov. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Florida cottage food law in Pinellas County?
Florida uses a broad non-TCS standard — any food that does not require time/temperature control for safety is allowed. Common examples include baked goods, candies, jams, jellies, dried goods, roasted nuts, and similar shelf-stable items. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Florida, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Pinellas County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Complaint only per Fla. Stat. §500.80(7). No routine state inspections. Pinellas County Health Department has no additional inspection authority.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Florida report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timePinellas County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Pinellas County.
Download county reportFull Florida License & Permit Guide (199 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Pinellas County.
Florida law pageFree email alerts
Pinellas County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Pinellas County, with Florida statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Pinellas County page based on?
Where to verify Pinellas County rules
Pinellas County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Pinellas County This county | Pasco County | Hillsborough County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state law; products must not be contaminated | No specific state cottage food pet restriction | State baseline applies |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Yes | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Sales allowed from residence, online, by mail-order, at farmers markets, flea markets, and roadside stands. Mail delivery explicitly permit… | No restrictions on sales venues. Online sales and mail/delivery permitted including across state lines. No wholesale to retail stores or re… | State law allows internet/mail order sales, event sales. $250,000 annual cap. No wholesale. |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | No | Varies by city |
| Local business license | Varies | No | Varies by city |
| Restrictions | Must be produced in operator's home kitchen only; no garages, sheds, barns, or outbuildings. Motor home kitchens are not permitted. Product… | Any non-TCS food that does not require temperature control for safety. No license, permit, registration, or inspection required before oper… | Florida state law preempts local regulation of cottage food. Hillsborough County has no county-specific cottage food permit beyond what is … |
| Food storage | Ingredients and finished products must be stored in the single-family domestic residence; spare rooms or basements free of dampness/pests a… | Standard home kitchen storage for shelf-stable non-TCS products | Products may only be stored on cottage operation's premises. |
| Population | 959,918 | 569,211 | 1,468,560 |
What other Florida counties can I compare?
Other Florida counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Pinellas County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Florida's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Pinellas County bakers?
Pinellas County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Pinellas County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Pinellas County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Pinellas County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Pinellas County at a glance?
File with Pinellas County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Pinellas County environmental health(pinellas.floridahealth.gov)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Pinellas County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Pinellas County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Pinellas County
- Check with Pinellas County business license office
- Check with Pinellas County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Florida
- Selling to stores: check with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Pinellas County
- Check with Pinellas County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Florida
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Pinellas County
- Check with Pinellas County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Florida · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
Florida · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.