Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Florida Report Guide · 199 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: DeFuniak Springs · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Walton County, FL

Can I sell cottage food from home in Walton County, Florida?
Yes — Florida allows cottage food sales under a Great-tier law (cap: 250000). Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and the Walton County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Walton County Permits 101 for Walton County, Florida (69 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Walton County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Walton County?

Florida cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Walton County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Walton County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Walton County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Walton County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Florida cottage food rules in Walton County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Florida cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Florida uses a broad non-TCS standard — any food that does not require time/temperature control for safety is allowed. Common examples include baked goods, candies, jams, jellies, dried goods, roasted nuts, and similar shelf-stable items.). Walton County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $250,000. On-site / porch pickup in Walton County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Walton County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Florida disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Florida label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made in a cottage food operation that is not subject to Florida's food safety regulations”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Walton County is a county in Florida (pop. 76,618). Under Florida's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 250000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Walton County health and planning requirements via the health department links on this page. Local notes for Walton County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Florida's cottage food law (§500.80) has a strong state preemption clause and $250,000 annual sales cap. No registration, permit, or pre-operational inspection required. No Walton County-specific cottage food restrictions found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Walton County cottage food reports

What permits in Walton County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Walton County county cottage food report
Walton County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Walton County.

Download county report
Cover of Florida cottage food law PDF report
Florida state report

Full Florida License & Permit Guide (199 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Great

Florida's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Florida cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Walton County

State baseline: Fla. Stat. §500.80

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Any food that does not require time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS). No registration, permit, or inspection required before beginning operations. Inspections only upon complaint. Strong state preemption clause (§500.80(6)).
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state statute.
Water supply
Not specified in state statute.
Handwashing
No food handler certification required.
Food storage
Non-TCS shelf-stable foods must be stored appropriately.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
Inspections may only occur upon receipt of a complaint per §500.80(7).
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
State preemption clause (§500.80(6)) prohibits local governments from restricting cottage food operations. However, the business must comply with home-based business rules under §559.955. Walton County may have local business registration requirements. No Walton County-specific cottage food restriction ordinance found.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Online sales and mail-order delivery expressly permitted. $250,000 annual sales cap (one of the highest in the country). No wholesale to distributors.
Max employees in home
Not specified.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Fla. Stat. §500.80; §559.955. No Walton County-specific restriction found.
Local notes

Florida's cottage food law (§500.80) has a strong state preemption clause and $250,000 annual sales cap. No registration, permit, or pre-operational inspection required. No Walton County-specific cottage food restrictions found.

Florida statute (state law)

Florida Statutes §500.80 (Cottage food operations), Title XXXIII, Chapter 500 (Food Products)

Citation: Fla. Stat. §500.80
Verbatim excerpt

500.80 Cottage food operations.— (1)(a) A cottage food operation must comply with the applicable requirements of this chapter but is exempt from the permitting requirements of s. 500.12 if the cottage food operation complies with this section and has annual gross sales of cottage food products that do not exceed $250,000. (b) For purposes of this subsection, a cottage food operation's annual gross sales include all sales of cottage food products at any location, regardless of the types of products sold or the number of persons involved in the operation. A cottage food operation must provide the department, upon request, with written documentation to verify the operation's annual gross sales. (2) A cottage food operation may sell, offer for sale, and accept payment for cottage food products over the Internet or by mail order. Such products may be delivered in person directly to the consumer, to a specific event venue, or by United States Postal Service or commercial mail delivery service. A cottage food operation may not sell, offer for sale, or deliver cottage food products at wholesale. (6) The regulation of cottage food operations is preempted to the state. A local law, ordinance, or regulation may not prohibit a cottage food operation or regulate the preparation, processing, storage, or sale of cottage food products by a cottage food operation; however, a cottage food operation must comply with the conditions for the operation of a home-based business under s. 559.955.

Source: leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0500/Sections/0500.80.html
Full Florida License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Walton County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Walton County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (69 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Walton County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Walton County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Walton County, Florida?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. State preemption clause (§500.80(6)) prohibits local governments from restricting cottage food operations. However, the business must comply with home-based business rules under §559.955. Walton County may have local business registration requirements. No Walton County-specific cottage food restriction ordinance found. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Florida guide at https://crosodo.com/states/florida.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Walton County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Inspections may only occur upon receipt of a complaint per §500.80(7).. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Florida cottage food law in Walton County?

Florida uses a broad non-TCS standard — any food that does not require time/temperature control for safety is allowed. Common examples include baked goods, candies, jams, jellies, dried goods, roasted nuts, and similar shelf-stable items. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Florida, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Florida?

Florida state law lists cottage food sales at 250000. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Walton County?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. State preemption clause (§500.80(6)) prohibits local governments from restricting cottage food operations. However, the business must comply with home-based business rules under §559.955. Walton County may have local business registration requirements. No Walton County-specific cottage food restriction ordinance found.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Florida License & Permit Guide (199 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Florida License & Permit Guide (199 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Walton County vs. bordering counties

RegulationWalton County
This county
Washington CountyHolmes County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesTrue
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoFalse
Pets allowedNot specified in state statute.Not specified in state law; products must not be contaminatedNo state or county-specific rule for cottage food
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint only
On-site customer pickupYesYesTrue
On-site signageConditionalConditionalMust comply with Holmes County signage ordinances
Delivery / pickupOnline sales and mail-order delivery expressly permitted. $250,000 annual sales cap (one of the highest in the country). No wholesale to di…Sales allowed from residence, online, by mail-order, at farmers markets, flea markets, and roadside stands. Mail delivery explicitly permit…Direct-to-consumer; online/mail-order allowed; shipping within and across state lines via USPS or commercial carrier; no wholesale/consignm…
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalLikely; verify with Holmes County
Local business licenseVariesVariesLikely; Holmes County local business tax receipt; contact Holmes County Tax Collector
RestrictionsAny food that does not require time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS). No registration, permit, or inspection required before beginn…Must be produced in operator's home kitchen only; no garages, sheds, barns, or outbuildings. Motor home kitchens are not permitted. Product…
Food storageNon-TCS shelf-stable foods must be stored appropriately.Ingredients and finished products must be stored in the single-family domestic residence; no garage/shed/barn storageNon-TCS (non-temperature controlled) foods only; standard sanitary storage
Population76,61825,01419,529
Crosodo Forum

Walton County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Walton County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Florida counties

Florida
Pop. 2.69M
Florida
Pop. 1.94M
Florida
Pop. 1.49M
Florida
Pop. 1.47M
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Walton County, Florida

Reach home bakers in Walton County, Florida. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Florida's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Walton County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.