crosodo
County · Seat: Calhoun · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Gordon County, GA

Inside the permit report

What's in the Gordon County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Gordon County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Gordon County
Table of contents
Your Gordon County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Gordon County?

All products in Georgia →
More Gordon County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Gordon County?
Start here

How to start in Gordon County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Georgia cottage food rules in Gordon County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Georgia cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Since July 2025 (HB 398), Georgia allows almost any non-potentially hazardous food, including baked goods, candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, oils, pickles, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, preserves, snacks, and carbonated drinks. Georgia also allows interstate sales of cottage food products, which is rare among states.). Gordon County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Gordon County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Gordon County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Georgia disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Georgia label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced at a residential property that is exempt from state inspection. This product may contain allergens.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Georgia county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Georgia county rules quiz

Gordon County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Georgia statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Gordon County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Gordon County cottage food rules with Georgia agencies?

Gordon County is a county in Georgia (pop. 57,785). Under Georgia's Okay-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Georgia Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Gordon County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Gordon County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Georgia HB 398 (effective July 1, 2025) is a major expansion making Georgia one of the best cottage food states. The pre-HB-398 regulations (GA R&R 40-7-19) required a $100/year license and GDA inspections — all now eliminated. Gordon County is in northwest Georgia near Dalton. Interstate sales are now uniquely allowed in Georgia. Private well users must conduct annual coliform testing. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Gordon County?
State law applies

Tier: Okay

Georgia has an Okay-tier cottage food law — meaningful sales caps and/or limited channels. Operable for a side business, but you'll likely outgrow the rules if you want to go full-time.

Georgia cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Gordon County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Gordon County

State baseline: O.C.G.A. §26-2-470 et seq. (eff. July 1, 2025); prior: GA R&R 40-7-19

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Georgia HB 398 (effective July 1, 2025) dramatically expanded cottage food. No license or fee required. Complaint-based inspection only. Interstate sales now allowed. Wholesale/retail/online/restaurant sales now allowed. Broad list of permitted non-TCS foods. Food handler certification still required.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Private water testing (annual coliform) required if using a private water source.
Water supply
Annual coliform testing required if using a private water source (well water).
Handwashing
No specific standalone handwashing mandate; food handler certification covers hygiene.
Food storage
Non-TCS foods only; proper shelf-stable storage required.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
GDA may inspect upon complaint; no routine inspection required under HB 398.
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
Gordon County and City of Calhoun may have home occupation zoning requirements. Operators should check with Gordon County Building and Zoning.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Very broad under HB 398: direct, wholesale, retail, online, restaurant sales, interstate sales all permitted for non-TCS foods.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state statute.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Gordon County zoning code (home occupation provisions); no specific cottage food county code identified.
Local notes

Georgia HB 398 (effective July 1, 2025) is a major expansion making Georgia one of the best cottage food states. The pre-HB-398 regulations (GA R&R 40-7-19) required a $100/year license and GDA inspections — all now eliminated. Gordon County is in northwest Georgia near Dalton. Interstate sales are now uniquely allowed in Georgia. Private well users must conduct annual coliform testing.

What does the Georgia cottage food statute say?
Georgia statute (state law)

Georgia Code O.C.G.A. §§26-2-470 through 26-2-478 (enacted by HB 398, 2025); formerly Georgia Rules and Regulations Chapter 40-7-19 (Cottage Food Regulations)

Citation: O.C.G.A. §26-2-470 et seq. (eff. July 2025); prior: GA R&R 40-7-19
Verbatim excerpt

Rule 40-7-19-.01 Purpose: The purpose of this Chapter is to allow individuals using home kitchens to prepare, manufacture, and sell non-potentially hazardous foods to the public. Rule 40-7-19-.02 Definitions: (3) 'Cottage food operator' means a person who produces cottage food products only in the home kitchen of that person's primary domestic residence and only for sale directly to the consumer. (4) 'Cottage food products' means non-potentially hazardous baked goods, jams, jellies, preserves, and other non-potentially hazardous foods produced in the home kitchen of a domestic residence. (11) 'Home kitchen' means a kitchen primarily intended for use by the residents of a home. It may contain one or more stoves or ovens, which may be a double oven, designed for residential use. It must not include commercial types of equipment. Rule 40-7-19-.05 Cottage Food Limitations: (1) May only produce non-potentially hazardous foods. Examples include: (a) Loaf breads, rolls, and biscuits; (b) Cakes (except those that require refrigeration due to cream cheese icing, fillings, or high moisture content such as tres leche); (c) Pastries and cookies; (d) Candies and confections; (e) Fruit pies; (f) Jams, jellies, and preserves; (g) Dried fruits; (h) Dry herbs, seasonings and mixtures; (i) Cereals, trail mixes, and granola; (j) Coated or uncoated nuts; (k) Vinegar and flavored vinegars; (l) Popcorn, popcorn balls, and cotton candy.

Source: rules.sos.ga.gov/gac/40-7-19 →
Full Georgia License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Gordon County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Gordon County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Gordon County, Georgia?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Gordon County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Gordon County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Gordon County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Gordon County. Ask Gordon County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Georgia?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Gordon County?

Apply via Gordon County environmental health (agr.georgia.gov). Official link: https://agr.georgia.gov/cottage-food-license. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.

What foods can I sell under Georgia cottage food law in Gordon County?

Since July 2025 (HB 398), Georgia allows almost any non-potentially hazardous food, including baked goods, candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, oils, pickles, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, preserves, snacks, and carbonated drinks. Georgia also allows interstate sales of cottage food products, which is rare among states. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Georgia, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Gordon County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: GDA may inspect upon complaint; no routine inspection required under HB 398.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Gordon County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Georgia report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Gordon County cottage food reports

What permits in Gordon County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Gordon County county cottage food report
Gordon County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Gordon County.

Download county report
Cover of Georgia cottage food law PDF report
Georgia state report

Full Georgia License & Permit Guide (476 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Gordon County.

Georgia law page

Free email alerts

Gordon County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Gordon County, with Georgia statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Gordon County page based on?
Quick comparison

Gordon County vs. bordering counties

RegulationGordon County
This county
Walker CountyMurray County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedPrivate water testing (annual coliform) required if using a private water source.Not specified in state lawNo specific state prohibition, but pets should be excluded from food prep areas per good manufacturing practices.
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupVery broad under HB 398: direct, wholesale, retail, online, restaurant sales, interstate sales all permitted for non-TCS foods.Direct and indirect sales allowed; delivery by producer permittedUnder HB 398, sales permitted via wholesale, retail, online, and direct. Delivery allowed. No geographic sales restriction within Georgia; …
Home occupation permitVariesVariesVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesYes
RestrictionsGeorgia HB 398 (effective July 1, 2025) dramatically expanded cottage food. No license or fee required. Complaint-based inspection only. In…Food handler certification (specific course) required. No sales cap. No registration required. Inspection upon complaint. Indirect sales al…Georgia HB 398 (eff. July 1, 2025) dramatically expanded cottage food rules. No license or fee required. Complaint-based inspections only. …
Food storageNon-TCS foods only; proper shelf-stable storage required.Appropriate storage for non-TCS productsAll cottage food products must be stored to prevent contamination; non-TCS foods only.
Population57,78568,06540,063
What other Georgia counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Georgia counties

Georgia
Pop. 1.06M
Georgia
Pop. 958K
Georgia
Pop. 766K
Georgia
Pop. 761K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Gordon County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Georgia's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Gordon County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Gordon County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Gordon County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Gordon County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Gordon County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Gordon County, Georgia?
Yes — Georgia allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Georgia Department of Agriculture and the Gordon County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Gordon County?
Your Gordon County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Gordon County at a glance?
Official filing

File with Gordon County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.

Apply via Gordon County environmental health(agr.georgia.gov)
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Gordon County? State vs county rules and pets
Georgia rule (statewide)Gordon County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Gordon County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Gordon County

    • Check with Gordon County business license office
    • Check with Gordon County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Georgia Department of Agriculture — Cottage Food FAQ

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Georgia

    • Selling to stores: check with Georgia Department of Agriculture

    Gordon County

    • Check with Gordon County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Georgia

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Georgia Department of Agriculture

    Gordon County

    • Check with Gordon County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Georgia · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Georgia Department of Agriculture.

    Georgia · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Georgia Department of Agriculture.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.