Cottage food law & license in Henry County, GA
What's in the Henry County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Henry County?
More Henry County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Henry County?
How to start in Henry County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Georgia cottage food rules in Henry County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Georgia cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Since July 2025 (HB 398), Georgia allows almost any non-potentially hazardous food, including baked goods, candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, oils, pickles, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, preserves, snacks, and carbonated drinks. Georgia also allows interstate sales of cottage food products, which is rare among states.). Henry County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Henry County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Henry County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Georgia disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Georgia label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced at a residential property that is exempt from state inspection. This product may contain allergens.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Georgia county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Georgia county rules quiz
Henry County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Georgia statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Henry County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Henry County cottage food rules with Georgia agencies?
Henry County is a county in Georgia (pop. 240,853). Under Georgia's Okay-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Georgia Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Henry County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Henry County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Henry County GA follows Georgia state baseline. HB 398 (July 2025) dramatically expanded cottage food law. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Henry County?
Tier: Okay
Georgia has an Okay-tier cottage food law — meaningful sales caps and/or limited channels. Operable for a side business, but you'll likely outgrow the rules if you want to go full-time.
Georgia cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Henry County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Henry County
State baseline: O.C.G.A. §26-2-470 et seq. (eff. July 2025); prior: GA R&R 40-7-19
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- As of July 1, 2025 (HB 398): no license or fee required; complaint-based inspection only; broad food list. Food handler certification required. Private water source requires annual coliform testing. Henry County may require home occupation permit under local zoning. No county URLs provided in input.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified at county level; state GMP principles apply
- Water supply
- Private water source requires annual coliform testing (state rule)
- Handwashing
- Food handler certification required
- Food storage
- Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; July 2025 law broadened allowed foods
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- Complaint-based only as of HB 398 (eff. July 2025)
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Henry County may require home occupation permit. No county URLs provided — check with Henry County Development Authority or Henry County Planning Department.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- As of July 2025: all sales channels allowed; interstate sales permitted.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state statute
- Relevant code section
- O.C.G.A. §26-2-470 et seq.; Henry County zoning
Henry County GA follows Georgia state baseline. HB 398 (July 2025) dramatically expanded cottage food law.
What does the Georgia cottage food statute say?
Georgia Code O.C.G.A. §§26-2-470 through 26-2-478 (enacted by HB 398, 2025); formerly Georgia Rules and Regulations Chapter 40-7-19 (Cottage Food Regulations)
Full Georgia License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptRule 40-7-19-.01 Purpose: The purpose of this Chapter is to allow individuals using home kitchens to prepare, manufacture, and sell non-potentially hazardous foods to the public. Rule 40-7-19-.02 Definitions: (3) 'Cottage food operator' means a person who produces cottage food products only in the home kitchen of that person's primary domestic residence and only for sale directly to the consumer. (4) 'Cottage food products' means non-potentially hazardous baked goods, jams, jellies, preserves, and other non-potentially hazardous foods produced in the home kitchen of a domestic residence. (11) 'Home kitchen' means a kitchen primarily intended for use by the residents of a home. It may contain one or more stoves or ovens, which may be a double oven, designed for residential use. It must not include commercial types of equipment. Rule 40-7-19-.05 Cottage Food Limitations: (1) May only produce non-potentially hazardous foods. Examples include: (a) Loaf breads, rolls, and biscuits; (b) Cakes (except those that require refrigeration due to cream cheese icing, fillings, or high moisture content such as tres leche); (c) Pastries and cookies; (d) Candies and confections; (e) Fruit pies; (f) Jams, jellies, and preserves; (g) Dried fruits; (h) Dry herbs, seasonings and mixtures; (i) Cereals, trail mixes, and granola; (j) Coated or uncoated nuts; (k) Vinegar and flavored vinegars; (l) Popcorn, popcorn balls, and cotton candy.
Source: rules.sos.ga.gov/gac/40-7-19 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Henry County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeHenry County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Henry County, Georgia?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Henry County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Henry County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Henry County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Henry County. Ask Henry County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Georgia?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Henry County?
Apply via Henry County environmental health (agr.georgia.gov). Official link: https://agr.georgia.gov/cottage-food-license. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Georgia cottage food law in Henry County?
Since July 2025 (HB 398), Georgia allows almost any non-potentially hazardous food, including baked goods, candies, condiments (mustards, nut butters, oils, pickles, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, preserves, snacks, and carbonated drinks. Georgia also allows interstate sales of cottage food products, which is rare among states. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Georgia, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Henry County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Complaint-based only as of HB 398 (eff. July 2025). Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Georgia report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeHenry County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Henry County.
Download county reportFull Georgia License & Permit Guide (476 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Henry County.
Georgia law pageFree email alerts
Henry County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Henry County, with Georgia statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Henry County page based on?
Where to verify Henry County rules
Henry County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Henry County This county | Clayton County | Newton County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified at county level; state GMP principles apply | No specific state restriction; general sanitation applies | Annual coliform testing required if using private well water. |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | As of July 2025: all sales channels allowed; interstate sales permitted. | Direct and indirect sales allowed; farmers markets, events, retail stores, online permitted | Georgia HB 398 allows wholesale/retail/online/restaurant sales and interstate sales. No sales cap. |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | As of July 1, 2025 (HB 398): no license or fee required; complaint-based inspection only; broad food list. Food handler certification requi… | Food handler certificate required; non-TCS foods; no state license or inspection required; labeling required; as of July 2025, expanded to … | Georgia HB 398 (eff. July 1, 2025) dramatically expanded cottage food law. No license or fee required. Complaint-based only. Newton County … |
| Food storage | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; July 2025 law broadened allowed foods | Non-TCS foods stored in sanitary conditions | Non-potentially hazardous shelf-stable products. No perishable baked goods, fruit butters, low-acid canned foods, or meat jerkies. |
| Population | 240,853 | 296,312 | 113,298 |
What other Georgia counties can I compare?
Other Georgia counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Henry County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Georgia's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Henry County bakers?
Henry County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Henry County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Henry County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Henry County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Henry County at a glance?
File with Henry County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Henry County environmental health(agr.georgia.gov)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Henry County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Henry County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Henry County
- Check with Henry County business license office
- Check with Henry County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Georgia
- Selling to stores: check with Georgia Department of Agriculture
Henry County
- Check with Henry County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Georgia
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Georgia Department of Agriculture
Henry County
- Check with Henry County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Georgia · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Georgia Department of Agriculture.
Georgia · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Georgia Department of Agriculture.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.