crosodo
County · Seat: Belleville · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in St. Clair County, IL

Inside the permit report

What's in the St. Clair County permit report

Permit Guide cover for St. Clair County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for St. Clair County
Table of contents
Your St. Clair County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in St. Clair County?

All products in Illinois →
More St. Clair County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in St. Clair County?
Start here

How to start in St. Clair County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Illinois cottage food rules in St. Clair County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Illinois cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Illinois uses a 'prohibited list' approach — everything not prohibited is allowed, including baked goods, candies, condiments (honey, ketchup, mustards, nut butters, oils, pickles, salsas, sauces, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, preserves (including acidified foods and fermented foods with extra requirements), snacks, carbonated drinks, extracts, frozen produce, hardboiled eggs, and juices. Many perishable foods are allowed for direct in-state sales but may not be shipped.). St. Clair County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in St. Clair County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in St. Clair County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Illinois disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Illinois label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a home kitchen not inspected by a health department that may also process common food allergens. If you have safety concerns, contact your local health department.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Illinois county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Illinois county rules quiz

St. Clair County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Illinois statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a St. Clair County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify St. Clair County cottage food rules with Illinois agencies?

St. Clair County is a county in Illinois (pop. 256,791). Under Illinois's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Illinois Department of Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm St. Clair County health and planning requirements. Local notes for St. Clair County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. St. Clair County IL follows the Illinois state baseline (410 ILCS 625/4). CFPM-level certification required. Registration with local health dept (up to $50/year). No St. Clair County-specific cottage food ordinance found beyond state requirements. — state law confirmed but no specific St. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in St. Clair County?
State law applies

Tier: Great

Illinois's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Illinois cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the St. Clair County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for St. Clair County

State baseline: 410 ILCS 625/4 (Food Handling Regulation Enforcement Act, §4)

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Prohibited-list approach — almost anything not on prohibited list allowed. Food Safety Manager certification (CFPM-level) required. Registration with St. Clair County Health Department (SCCHD) required (up to $50/year). Direct in-state sales only.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state statute; sanitary production required
Water supply
Potable water supply required
Handwashing
Food Safety Manager certification (CFPM-level) required
Food storage
Broad — most non-TCS foods allowed; acidified and fermented foods require additional documentation
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
State law allows local health dept inspection upon complaint; SCCHD may impose additional requirements per §410 ILCS 625/4(d)
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
St. Clair County and municipalities (Belleville, O'Fallon, etc.) may require home occupation permits. Registration with St. Clair County Health Department is required for cottage food; this is separate from zoning home occupation permit.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct in-state sales only; online sales allowed but non-perishable items shipped within Illinois only. Farmers markets, events, home pickup all permitted.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state statute
Zoning code
Relevant code section
410 ILCS 625/4; St. Clair County Health Department registration
Local notes

St. Clair County IL follows the Illinois state baseline (410 ILCS 625/4). CFPM-level certification required. Registration with local health dept (up to $50/year). No St. Clair County-specific cottage food ordinance found beyond state requirements. — state law confirmed but no specific St.

What does the Illinois cottage food statute say?
Illinois statute (state law)

Illinois Compiled Statutes 410 ILCS 625/4, Food Handling Regulation Enforcement Act, Section 4 (Cottage food operation); as amended by Public Act 102-0633 (SB 2007, eff. January 2022) and Public Act 103-0903 (SB 2617, eff. January 2025)

Citation: 410 ILCS 625/4 (Food Handling Regulation Enforcement Act, §4)
Verbatim excerpt

(410 ILCS 625/4) Sec. 4. Cottage food operation. (a) For the purpose of this Section: 'Cottage food operation' means an operation conducted by a person who produces or packages food or drink, other than foods and drinks listed as prohibited in paragraph (1.5) of subsection (b) of this Section, in a kitchen located in that person's primary domestic residence or another appropriately designed and equipped kitchen on a farm residential or commercial-style kitchen on that property for direct sale by the owner, a family member, or employee. (b) A cottage food operation may produce homemade food and drink provided that all of the following conditions are met: (1.3) A cottage food operation must register with the local health department for the unit of local government in which it is located, but may sell products outside of the unit of local government where the cottage food operation is located. (1.5) A cottage food operation shall not sell or offer to sell the following food items: (A) meat, poultry, fish, seafood, or shellfish; (B) dairy, except as an ingredient in a non-potentially hazardous baked good or candy; (C) eggs, except as an ingredient in a non-potentially hazardous food; (D) pumpkin pies, sweet potato pies, cheesecakes, custard pies, creme pies, and pastries with potentially hazardous fillings or toppings; (E) garlic in oil or oil infused with garlic, except if acidified; (F) low-acid canned foods; (G) sprouts; (H) cut leafy greens, except dehydrated, acidified, or blanched and frozen; (M) alcoholic beverages; or (N) kombucha.

Source: ilga.gov/Documents/Legislation/PublicActs/102/PDF/102-0633.pdf →
Full Illinois License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. St. Clair County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

St. Clair County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in St. Clair County, Illinois?

State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with St. Clair County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in St. Clair County?

State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in St. Clair County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for St. Clair County. Ask St. Clair County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Illinois?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in St. Clair County?

Apply through St. Clair County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for St. Clair County, Illinois — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Illinois cottage food law in St. Clair County?

Illinois uses a 'prohibited list' approach — everything not prohibited is allowed, including baked goods, candies, condiments (honey, ketchup, mustards, nut butters, oils, pickles, salsas, sauces, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, preserves (including acidified foods and fermented foods with extra requirements), snacks, carbonated drinks, extracts, frozen produce, hardboiled eggs, and juices. Many perishable foods are allowed for direct in-state sales but may not be shipped. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Illinois, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in St. Clair County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: State law allows local health dept inspection upon complaint; SCCHD may impose additional requirements per §410 ILCS 625/4(d). Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than St. Clair County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Illinois report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

St. Clair County cottage food reports

What permits in St. Clair County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of St. Clair County county cottage food report
St. Clair County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for St. Clair County.

Download county report
Cover of Illinois cottage food law PDF report
Illinois state report

Full Illinois License & Permit Guide (289 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside St. Clair County.

Illinois law page

Free email alerts

St. Clair County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in St. Clair County, with Illinois statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this St. Clair County page based on?
Quick comparison

St. Clair County vs. bordering counties

RegulationSt. Clair County
This county
Madison CountyClinton County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state statute; sanitary production requiredNot specified in state statute; sanitary production requiredNo specific state prohibition; good manufacturing practice applies
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect in-state sales only; online sales allowed but non-perishable items shipped within Illinois only. Farmers markets, events, home picku…Direct in-state sales only; online sales allowed but non-perishable items only, shipped within Illinois. No out-of-state shipping. Farmers …Direct sales to consumers only (in person, at farmers markets, online orders). In-state shipping of non-perishable items permitted within I…
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsProhibited-list approach — almost anything not on prohibited list allowed. Food Safety Manager certification (CFPM-level) required. Registr…Prohibited-list approach — almost anything not on prohibited list allowed. Food Safety Manager certification (CFPM-level) required. Registr…Must register with local health department (Clinton County Health Department or adjacent county health dept if none) for up to $50/year. Ce…
Food storageBroad — most non-TCS foods allowed; acidified and fermented foods require additional documentationBroad — most non-TCS foods allowed; acidified and fermented foods require additional documentation (food safety plan, pH test)Proper storage of shelf-stable and non-TCS foods; acidified foods require pH documentation and food safety plan; fermented foods have addit…
Population256,791265,51236,998
What other Illinois counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Illinois counties

Illinois
Pop. 5.23M
Illinois
Pop. 931K
Illinois
Pop. 713K
Illinois
Pop. 697K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this St. Clair County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Illinois's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other St. Clair County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

St. Clair County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about St. Clair County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the St. Clair County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in St. Clair County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in St. Clair County, Illinois?
Yes — Illinois allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. State permit required. Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Illinois Department of Public Health and the St. Clair County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in St. Clair County?
Your St. Clair County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about St. Clair County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in St. Clair County? State vs county rules and pets
Illinois rule (statewide)St. Clair County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    St. Clair County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    St. Clair County

    • Check with St. Clair County business license office
    • Check with St. Clair County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Illinois Department of Public Health — Cottage Food

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Illinois

    • Selling to stores: check with Illinois Department of Public Health

    St. Clair County

    • Check with St. Clair County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Illinois

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Illinois Department of Public Health

    St. Clair County

    • Check with St. Clair County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Illinois · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Illinois Department of Public Health.

    Illinois · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Illinois Department of Public Health.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.