Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Ohio Report Guide · 260 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Lima · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Allen County, OH

Can I sell cottage food from home in Allen County, Ohio?
Yes — Ohio allows cottage food sales under a Good-tier law (cap: None). Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Ohio Department of Agriculture and the Allen County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Allen County Permits 101 for Allen County, Ohio (69 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Allen County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Allen County?

Ohio cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Allen County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Allen County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Allen County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Allen County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Ohio cottage food rules in Allen County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Ohio cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Approved cottage food products (per Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20-04) include non-potentially hazardous bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), flavored honey, fruit butters, granola/granola bars, maple sugar, popcorn and related products, unfilled baked donuts, waffle cones, pizzelles, dry cereal and nut snack mixes, roasted coffee beans, dry baking mixes in a jar, dry herbs, and spice mixes with commercially dried ingredients.). Allen County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Allen County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Allen County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Ohio disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Ohio label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Allen County is a county in Ohio (pop. 102,087). Under Ohio's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Ohio Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Allen County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Allen County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. State baseline governs. Lima is a mid-sized northwestern Ohio city. No county-specific overrides found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Allen County cottage food reports

What permits in Allen County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Allen County county cottage food report
Allen County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Allen County.

Download county report
Cover of Ohio cottage food law PDF report
Ohio state report

Full Ohio License & Permit Guide (260 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Good

Ohio has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Ohio cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Allen County

State baseline: O.R.C. §3715.023; §3715.025; Ohio Admin. Code Ch. 901:3-20

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Ohio cottage food operations limited to approved product list (OAC 901:3-20-04): non-PHF bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), flavored honey, fruit butters, granola/bars, maple sugar, popcorn products, unfilled baked donuts, waffle cones, pizzelles, dry cereal/nut snack mixes, roasted coffee beans, dry baking mixes in a jar, dry herbs, and spice mixes with commercially dried ingredients. No registration or inspection required. Products cannot be sold outside Ohio. No reduced oxygen packaging.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific state pet restriction, but standard sanitation applies.
Water supply
No specific state requirement beyond standard sanitation.
Handwashing
Standard handwashing practices required.
Food storage
Only approved product list items. No acidified foods, low-acid canned foods, or PHF. No fresh-fruit-dipped candies. No reduced oxygen packaging.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspections. Exempt from ODA licensing.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Lima and other municipalities in Allen County may have home occupation zoning requirements. Allen County was flagged as 'verified-large' in the input. No specific Allen County cottage food ordinance identified.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Sales permitted at home, farmers markets, events. Indirect sales to retailers also permitted. Products cannot be sold outside Ohio.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state statute.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
No specific Allen County code section identified. State law governs: O.R.C. §3715.023; §3715.025; Ohio Admin. Code Ch. 901:3-20.
Local notes

State baseline governs. Lima is a mid-sized northwestern Ohio city. No county-specific overrides found.

Ohio statute (state law)

Ohio Revised Code §3715.023 (Labels for cottage food production operation); §3715.025 (Restrictions on cottage food production operation); Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 901:3-20 (Cottage Food Production)

Citation: O.R.C. §3715.023; §3715.025; Ohio Admin. Code Ch. 901:3-20
Verbatim excerpt

Section 3715.025 | Restrictions on cottage food production operation. (A) A cottage food production operation shall not process acidified foods, low acid canned foods, or potentially hazardous foods. (B) The director of agriculture shall adopt rules in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code specifying the food items a cottage food production operation may produce that are in addition to the food items identified by name in division (A)(19) of section 3715.01 of the Revised Code. The director shall not adopt rules that permit a cottage food production operation to produce any food that is a potentially hazardous food. Section 3715.023 | Labels for cottage food production operation, processor, or beekeeper. (A) A cottage food production operation...shall label each of their food products and include the following information on the label: (1) The name and address of the business; (2) The name of the food product; (3) The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (4) The net weight and volume of the food product; (5) In the case of a cottage food production operation, the following statement in ten-point type: 'This product is home produced.'

Source: codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3715.025
Full Ohio License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Allen County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Allen County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (69 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Allen County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Allen County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Allen County, Ohio?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. Lima and other municipalities in Allen County may have home occupation zoning requirements. Allen County was flagged as 'verified-large' in the input. No specific Allen County cottage food ordinance identified. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Ohio guide at https://crosodo.com/states/ohio.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Allen County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspections. Exempt from ODA licensing.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Ohio cottage food law in Allen County?

Approved cottage food products (per Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20-04) include non-potentially hazardous bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), flavored honey, fruit butters, granola/granola bars, maple sugar, popcorn and related products, unfilled baked donuts, waffle cones, pizzelles, dry cereal and nut snack mixes, roasted coffee beans, dry baking mixes in a jar, dry herbs, and spice mixes with commercially dried ingredients. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Ohio, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Ohio?

Ohio state law lists cottage food sales at None. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Allen County?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. Lima and other municipalities in Allen County may have home occupation zoning requirements. Allen County was flagged as 'verified-large' in the input. No specific Allen County cottage food ordinance identified.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Ohio License & Permit Guide (260 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Ohio License & Permit Guide (260 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Allen County vs. bordering counties

RegulationAllen County
This county
Hancock CountyAuglaize County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific state pet restriction, but standard sanitation applies.Not specified in state statute.No specific pet restriction in Ohio state cottage food law.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesConditional
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupSales permitted at home, farmers markets, events. Indirect sales to retailers also permitted. Products cannot be sold outside Ohio.Direct and indirect sales permitted within Ohio only.Direct sales (home, farmers markets, events) and indirect sales to licensed retail food establishments permitted within Ohio. No out-of-sta…
Home occupation permitConditionalVariesVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsOhio cottage food operations limited to approved product list (OAC 901:3-20-04): non-PHF bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), f…Approved product list only (OAC 901:3-20-04). No sales outside Ohio. No reduced oxygen packaging.Ohio cottage food law allows production of approved non-potentially-hazardous foods in a home kitchen with no sales cap and no registration…
Food storageOnly approved product list items. No acidified foods, low-acid canned foods, or PHF. No fresh-fruit-dipped candies. No reduced oxygen packa…Non-potentially hazardous products must be stored appropriately. No reduced oxygen packaging.Non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable foods only per OAC 901:3-20-04 approved product list.
Population102,08775,07246,263
Crosodo Forum

Allen County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Allen County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Ohio counties

Ohio
Pop. 1.32M
Ohio
Pop. 1.26M
Ohio
Pop. 828K
Ohio
Pop. 539K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Allen County, Ohio

Reach home bakers in Allen County, Ohio. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Ohio's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Allen County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.