crosodo
County · Seat: Cincinnati · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Hamilton County, OH

Inside the permit report

What's in the Hamilton County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Hamilton County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Hamilton County
Table of contents
Your Hamilton County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Hamilton County?

All products in Ohio →
More Hamilton County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Hamilton County?
Start here

How to start in Hamilton County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Ohio cottage food rules in Hamilton County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Ohio cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Approved cottage food products (per Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20-04) include non-potentially hazardous bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), flavored honey, fruit butters, granola/granola bars, maple sugar, popcorn and related products, unfilled baked donuts, waffle cones, pizzelles, dry cereal and nut snack mixes, roasted coffee beans, dry baking mixes in a jar, dry herbs, and spice mixes with commercially dried ingredients.). Hamilton County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Hamilton County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Hamilton County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Ohio disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Ohio label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Ohio county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Ohio county rules quiz

Hamilton County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Ohio statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Hamilton County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Hamilton County cottage food rules with Ohio agencies?

Hamilton County is a top-100 county by population in Ohio (pop. 827,671). Under Ohio's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Ohio Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Hamilton County health and planning requirements via the health department and planning / zoning links on this page. Local notes for Hamilton County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Hamilton County follows Ohio state baseline for cottage food. Ohio has no registration requirement and no sales cap but uses a specific approved product list. Cincinnati is the largest city in Hamilton County. No Hamilton County-specific cottage food ordinance beyond state law found. Cincinnati municipal code likely has home occupation permit requirements. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Hamilton County?
State law applies

Tier: Good

Ohio has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Ohio cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Hamilton County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Hamilton County

State baseline: O.R.C. §3715.023; §3715.025; Ohio Admin. Code Ch. 901:3-20

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
No registration required. No sales cap. Approved products only (state OAC 901:3-20-04 list). No reduced oxygen packaging. Products cannot be sold outside Ohio.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state rules; standard sanitation applies
Water supply
Potable water required; state baseline
Handwashing
No state requirement for food handler certification under cottage food exemption
Food storage
Standard food storage practices; non-PHF foods only
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No inspection authority for cottage food operations. Ohio Dept. of Agriculture may investigate foodborne illness.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Hamilton County includes the City of Cincinnati and other municipalities. Cincinnati has a Home Occupation license requirement for home-based businesses. Contact Cincinnati Development Services or the applicable municipality's planning department. Hamilton County Building & Zoning governs unincorporated areas.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct-to-consumer and limited indirect sales. Home delivery, farmers markets, events, online all permitted within Ohio. No out-of-state sales. No wholesale restriction explicitly — but approved product list limits apply.
Max employees in home
unknown
Zoning code
Relevant code section
O.R.C. §3715.025; Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20-04; Hamilton County/Cincinnati municipal zoning
Local notes

Hamilton County follows Ohio state baseline for cottage food. Ohio has no registration requirement and no sales cap but uses a specific approved product list. Cincinnati is the largest city in Hamilton County. No Hamilton County-specific cottage food ordinance beyond state law found. Cincinnati municipal code likely has home occupation permit requirements.

What does the Ohio cottage food statute say?
Ohio statute (state law)

Ohio Revised Code §3715.023 (Labels for cottage food production operation); §3715.025 (Restrictions on cottage food production operation); Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 901:3-20 (Cottage Food Production)

Citation: O.R.C. §3715.023; §3715.025; Ohio Admin. Code Ch. 901:3-20
Verbatim excerpt

Section 3715.025 | Restrictions on cottage food production operation. (A) A cottage food production operation shall not process acidified foods, low acid canned foods, or potentially hazardous foods. (B) The director of agriculture shall adopt rules in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code specifying the food items a cottage food production operation may produce that are in addition to the food items identified by name in division (A)(19) of section 3715.01 of the Revised Code. The director shall not adopt rules that permit a cottage food production operation to produce any food that is a potentially hazardous food. Section 3715.023 | Labels for cottage food production operation, processor, or beekeeper. (A) A cottage food production operation...shall label each of their food products and include the following information on the label: (1) The name and address of the business; (2) The name of the food product; (3) The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (4) The net weight and volume of the food product; (5) In the case of a cottage food production operation, the following statement in ten-point type: 'This product is home produced.'

Source: codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3715.025 →
Full Ohio License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Hamilton County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Hamilton County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Hamilton County, Ohio?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Hamilton County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Hamilton County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Hamilton County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Hamilton County. Ask Hamilton County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Ohio?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Hamilton County?

Apply via Hamilton County environmental health (hamiltoncountyohio.gov). Official link: https://hamiltoncountyohio.gov/government/departments-a-f/environmental-services. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.

What foods can I sell under Ohio cottage food law in Hamilton County?

Approved cottage food products (per Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20-04) include non-potentially hazardous bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), flavored honey, fruit butters, granola/granola bars, maple sugar, popcorn and related products, unfilled baked donuts, waffle cones, pizzelles, dry cereal and nut snack mixes, roasted coffee beans, dry baking mixes in a jar, dry herbs, and spice mixes with commercially dried ingredients. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Ohio, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Hamilton County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No inspection authority for cottage food operations. Ohio Dept. of Agriculture may investigate foodborne illness.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Hamilton County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Ohio report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Hamilton County cottage food reports

What permits in Hamilton County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Hamilton County county cottage food report
Hamilton County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Hamilton County.

Download county report
Cover of Ohio cottage food law PDF report
Ohio state report

Full Ohio License & Permit Guide (260 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Hamilton County.

Ohio law page

Free email alerts

Hamilton County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Hamilton County, with Ohio statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Hamilton County page based on?
Quick comparison

Hamilton County vs. bordering counties

RegulationHamilton County
This county
Butler CountyWarren County
Home kitchen allowedYesConditionalYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state rules; standard sanitation appliesNo specific state restriction in cottage food law.Not specified in state statute; kitchen must be sanitary
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesConditionalYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect-to-consumer and limited indirect sales. Home delivery, farmers markets, events, online all permitted within Ohio. No out-of-state sa…Direct and some indirect sales permitted within Ohio. No sales outside Ohio. Farmers markets, from home, online within Ohio.Sales allowed directly to consumers in Ohio only; online orders with Ohio delivery allowed. No out-of-state sales. Farmers markets and even…
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalConditional
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsNo registration required. No sales cap. Approved products only (state OAC 901:3-20-04 list). No reduced oxygen packaging. Products cannot b…Ohio cottage food law (O.R.C. §3715.023/025; Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20) requires no registration or permit. Only state-approved non-TCS foo…Ohio has an approved product list (OAC 901:3-20-04) — only listed products allowed. No registration required, no inspection required. Produ…
Food storageStandard food storage practices; non-PHF foods onlyNon-TCS shelf-stable foods from ODA-approved product list only.Non-TCS shelf-stable approved products only; no acidified foods, no low-acid canned foods
Population827,671388,327243,189
What other Ohio counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Ohio counties

Ohio
Pop. 1.32M
Ohio
Pop. 1.26M
Ohio
Pop. 539K
Ohio
Pop. 536K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Hamilton County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Ohio's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Hamilton County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Hamilton County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Hamilton County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Hamilton County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Hamilton County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Hamilton County, Ohio?
Yes — Ohio allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Ohio Department of Agriculture and the Hamilton County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Hamilton County?
Your Hamilton County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Hamilton County at a glance?
Official filing

File with Hamilton County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.

Apply via Hamilton County environmental health(hamiltoncountyohio.gov)
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Hamilton County? State vs county rules and pets
Ohio rule (statewide)Hamilton County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Hamilton County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Hamilton County

    • Check with Hamilton County business license office
    • Check with Hamilton County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Ohio Department of Agriculture — Cottage Foods

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Ohio

    • Selling to stores: check with Ohio Department of Agriculture

    Hamilton County

    • Check with Hamilton County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Ohio

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Ohio Department of Agriculture

    Hamilton County

    • Check with Hamilton County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Ohio · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Ohio Department of Agriculture.

    Ohio · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Ohio Department of Agriculture.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.