Cottage food law & license in Montgomery County, OH
What's in the Montgomery County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Montgomery County?
More Montgomery County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Montgomery County?
How to start in Montgomery County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Ohio cottage food rules in Montgomery County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Ohio cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Approved cottage food products (per Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20-04) include non-potentially hazardous bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), flavored honey, fruit butters, granola/granola bars, maple sugar, popcorn and related products, unfilled baked donuts, waffle cones, pizzelles, dry cereal and nut snack mixes, roasted coffee beans, dry baking mixes in a jar, dry herbs, and spice mixes with commercially dried ingredients.). Montgomery County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Montgomery County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Montgomery County: Conditional. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Ohio disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Ohio label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Ohio county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Ohio county rules quiz
Montgomery County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Ohio statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Montgomery County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Montgomery County cottage food rules with Ohio agencies?
Montgomery County is a county in Ohio (pop. 536,121). Under Ohio's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Ohio Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Montgomery County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Montgomery County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Same Ohio state baseline as Summit County. Montgomery County (Dayton area) has no specific cottage food overlay found. Ohio does NOT preempt local ordinances. Home occupation permit requirements for Montgomery County/Dayton not confirmed from direct source. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Montgomery County?
Tier: Good
Ohio has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Ohio cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Montgomery County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Montgomery County
State baseline: O.R.C. §3715.023; §3715.025; Ohio Admin. Code Ch. 901:3-20
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Cottage Food: home must be primary residence with only one domestic stove/oven. Home Bakery (broader product license): separate Home Bakery License and inspection required. Both programs: no pets indoors for Home Bakery.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Ohio Home Bakery Law: pets banned from indoors at all times. Cottage food (basic): no specific pet restriction
- Water supply
- No specific water testing requirement in state cottage food law
- Handwashing
- No specific separate provision for cottage food
- Food storage
- Products stored at primary residence
- Inspection required
- Conditional
- Inspection trigger
- Cottage Food: no inspection required. Ohio Home Bakery License: kitchen inspection required before license. ODA may sample for misbranding/adulteration.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Ohio state cottage food law does NOT preempt local ordinances. Montgomery County and City of Dayton may have home occupation permit requirements. Operators should contact Montgomery County Regional Planning or City of Dayton Planning for home occupation requirements.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct from home, online, farmers markets, events, grocery stores, restaurants within Ohio. No interstate sales. No annual cap.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state cottage food law
- Relevant code section
- O.R.C. §3715.023; §3715.025; Ohio Admin. Code Ch. 901:3-20. Local: Montgomery County/City of Dayton zoning codes.
Same Ohio state baseline as Summit County. Montgomery County (Dayton area) has no specific cottage food overlay found. Ohio does NOT preempt local ordinances. Home occupation permit requirements for Montgomery County/Dayton not confirmed from direct source.
What does the Ohio cottage food statute say?
Ohio Revised Code §3715.023 (Labels for cottage food production operation); §3715.025 (Restrictions on cottage food production operation); Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 901:3-20 (Cottage Food Production)
Full Ohio License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptSection 3715.025 | Restrictions on cottage food production operation. (A) A cottage food production operation shall not process acidified foods, low acid canned foods, or potentially hazardous foods. (B) The director of agriculture shall adopt rules in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code specifying the food items a cottage food production operation may produce that are in addition to the food items identified by name in division (A)(19) of section 3715.01 of the Revised Code. The director shall not adopt rules that permit a cottage food production operation to produce any food that is a potentially hazardous food. Section 3715.023 | Labels for cottage food production operation, processor, or beekeeper. (A) A cottage food production operation...shall label each of their food products and include the following information on the label: (1) The name and address of the business; (2) The name of the food product; (3) The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (4) The net weight and volume of the food product; (5) In the case of a cottage food production operation, the following statement in ten-point type: 'This product is home produced.'
Source: codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3715.025 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Montgomery County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeMontgomery County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Montgomery County, Ohio?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Montgomery County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Montgomery County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Montgomery County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Montgomery County. Ask Montgomery County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Ohio?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Montgomery County?
Apply through Montgomery County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Montgomery County, Ohio — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Ohio cottage food law in Montgomery County?
Approved cottage food products (per Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20-04) include non-potentially hazardous bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), flavored honey, fruit butters, granola/granola bars, maple sugar, popcorn and related products, unfilled baked donuts, waffle cones, pizzelles, dry cereal and nut snack mixes, roasted coffee beans, dry baking mixes in a jar, dry herbs, and spice mixes with commercially dried ingredients. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Ohio, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Montgomery County?
Inspection: Conditional. Trigger: Cottage Food: no inspection required. Ohio Home Bakery License: kitchen inspection required before license. ODA may sample for misbranding/adulteration.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Ohio report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeMontgomery County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Montgomery County.
Download county reportFull Ohio License & Permit Guide (260 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Montgomery County.
Ohio law pageFree email alerts
Montgomery County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Montgomery County, with Ohio statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Montgomery County page based on?
Where to verify Montgomery County rules
Montgomery County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Montgomery County This county | Butler County | Warren County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Conditional | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Ohio Home Bakery Law: pets banned from indoors at all times. Cottage food (basic): no specific pet restriction | No specific state restriction in cottage food law. | Not specified in state statute; kitchen must be sanitary |
| Inspection required | Conditional | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Conditional | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct from home, online, farmers markets, events, grocery stores, restaurants within Ohio. No interstate sales. No annual cap. | Direct and some indirect sales permitted within Ohio. No sales outside Ohio. Farmers markets, from home, online within Ohio. | Sales allowed directly to consumers in Ohio only; online orders with Ohio delivery allowed. No out-of-state sales. Farmers markets and even… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Cottage Food: home must be primary residence with only one domestic stove/oven. Home Bakery (broader product license): separate Home Bakery… | Ohio cottage food law (O.R.C. §3715.023/025; Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20) requires no registration or permit. Only state-approved non-TCS foo… | Ohio has an approved product list (OAC 901:3-20-04) — only listed products allowed. No registration required, no inspection required. Produ… |
| Food storage | Products stored at primary residence | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from ODA-approved product list only. | Non-TCS shelf-stable approved products only; no acidified foods, no low-acid canned foods |
| Population | 536,121 | 388,327 | 243,189 |
What other Ohio counties can I compare?
Other Ohio counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Montgomery County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Ohio's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Montgomery County bakers?
Montgomery County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Montgomery County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Montgomery County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Montgomery County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Montgomery County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Montgomery County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Montgomery County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Montgomery County
- Check with Montgomery County business license office
- Check with Montgomery County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Ohio
- Selling to stores: check with Ohio Department of Agriculture
Montgomery County
- Check with Montgomery County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Ohio
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Ohio Department of Agriculture
Montgomery County
- Check with Montgomery County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Ohio · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Ohio Department of Agriculture.
Ohio · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Ohio Department of Agriculture.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.