crosodo
County · Seat: Hamilton · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Butler County, OH

Inside the permit report

What's in the Butler County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Butler County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Butler County
Table of contents
Your Butler County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Butler County?

All products in Ohio →
More Butler County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Butler County?
Start here

How to start in Butler County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Ohio cottage food rules in Butler County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Ohio cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Approved cottage food products (per Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20-04) include non-potentially hazardous bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), flavored honey, fruit butters, granola/granola bars, maple sugar, popcorn and related products, unfilled baked donuts, waffle cones, pizzelles, dry cereal and nut snack mixes, roasted coffee beans, dry baking mixes in a jar, dry herbs, and spice mixes with commercially dried ingredients.). Butler County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Butler County: Conditional. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Butler County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Ohio disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Ohio label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Ohio county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Ohio county rules quiz

Butler County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Ohio statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Butler County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Butler County cottage food rules with Ohio agencies?

Butler County is a county in Ohio (pop. 388,327). Under Ohio's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Ohio Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Butler County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Butler County: home kitchen restricted; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Ohio state cottage food law well-documented. Butler County includes Hamilton, Middletown, and Fairfield — all have own zoning ordinances. Ohio has specific approved product list (OAC 901:3-20-04); no generic non-TCS allowance. No state registration required. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Butler County?
State law applies

Tier: Good

Ohio has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Ohio cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Butler County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Butler County

State baseline: O.R.C. §3715.023; §3715.025; Ohio Admin. Code Ch. 901:3-20

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Conditional
Restrictions
Ohio cottage food law (O.R.C. §3715.023/025; Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20) requires no registration or permit. Only state-approved non-TCS foods from specific product list permitted. No sales outside Ohio. No reduced oxygen packaging. Butler County Health District has jurisdiction. Local municipal zoning rules apply.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific state restriction in cottage food law.
Water supply
No specific state requirement.
Handwashing
Standard food safety practices.
Food storage
Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from ODA-approved product list only.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection required. Butler County Health District may investigate upon complaint.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Butler County municipalities (Hamilton, Middletown, Fairfield, Oxford, etc.) have their own zoning ordinances. Operators should verify home occupation permit requirements with local municipality. Ohio cottage food law does not preempt local zoning.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Conditional
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct and some indirect sales permitted within Ohio. No sales outside Ohio. Farmers markets, from home, online within Ohio.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state cottage food law; local home occupation rules vary.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
O.R.C. §3715.023/025; Ohio Admin. Code Ch. 901:3-20-04 (approved products); local Butler County municipal zoning codes.
Local notes

Ohio state cottage food law well-documented. Butler County includes Hamilton, Middletown, and Fairfield — all have own zoning ordinances. Ohio has specific approved product list (OAC 901:3-20-04); no generic non-TCS allowance. No state registration required.

What does the Ohio cottage food statute say?
Ohio statute (state law)

Ohio Revised Code §3715.023 (Labels for cottage food production operation); §3715.025 (Restrictions on cottage food production operation); Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 901:3-20 (Cottage Food Production)

Citation: O.R.C. §3715.023; §3715.025; Ohio Admin. Code Ch. 901:3-20
Verbatim excerpt

Section 3715.025 | Restrictions on cottage food production operation. (A) A cottage food production operation shall not process acidified foods, low acid canned foods, or potentially hazardous foods. (B) The director of agriculture shall adopt rules in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code specifying the food items a cottage food production operation may produce that are in addition to the food items identified by name in division (A)(19) of section 3715.01 of the Revised Code. The director shall not adopt rules that permit a cottage food production operation to produce any food that is a potentially hazardous food. Section 3715.023 | Labels for cottage food production operation, processor, or beekeeper. (A) A cottage food production operation...shall label each of their food products and include the following information on the label: (1) The name and address of the business; (2) The name of the food product; (3) The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (4) The net weight and volume of the food product; (5) In the case of a cottage food production operation, the following statement in ten-point type: 'This product is home produced.'

Source: codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3715.025 →
Full Ohio License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Butler County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Butler County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Butler County, Ohio?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Conditional. Confirm with Butler County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Butler County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Butler County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Butler County. Ask Butler County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Ohio?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Butler County?

Apply through Butler County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Butler County, Ohio — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Ohio cottage food law in Butler County?

Approved cottage food products (per Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20-04) include non-potentially hazardous bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), flavored honey, fruit butters, granola/granola bars, maple sugar, popcorn and related products, unfilled baked donuts, waffle cones, pizzelles, dry cereal and nut snack mixes, roasted coffee beans, dry baking mixes in a jar, dry herbs, and spice mixes with commercially dried ingredients. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Ohio, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Butler County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection required. Butler County Health District may investigate upon complaint.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Butler County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Ohio report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Butler County cottage food reports

What permits in Butler County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Butler County county cottage food report
Butler County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Butler County.

Download county report
Cover of Ohio cottage food law PDF report
Ohio state report

Full Ohio License & Permit Guide (260 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Butler County.

Ohio law page

Free email alerts

Butler County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Butler County, with Ohio statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Butler County page based on?
Quick comparison

Butler County vs. bordering counties

RegulationButler County
This county
Warren CountyMontgomery County
Home kitchen allowedConditionalYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific state restriction in cottage food law.Not specified in state statute; kitchen must be sanitaryOhio Home Bakery Law: pets banned from indoors at all times. Cottage food (basic): no specific pet restriction
Inspection requiredNoNoConditional
On-site customer pickupConditionalYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect and some indirect sales permitted within Ohio. No sales outside Ohio. Farmers markets, from home, online within Ohio.Sales allowed directly to consumers in Ohio only; online orders with Ohio delivery allowed. No out-of-state sales. Farmers markets and even…Direct from home, online, farmers markets, events, grocery stores, restaurants within Ohio. No interstate sales. No annual cap.
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalConditional
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsOhio cottage food law (O.R.C. §3715.023/025; Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20) requires no registration or permit. Only state-approved non-TCS foo…Ohio has an approved product list (OAC 901:3-20-04) — only listed products allowed. No registration required, no inspection required. Produ…Cottage Food: home must be primary residence with only one domestic stove/oven. Home Bakery (broader product license): separate Home Bakery…
Food storageNon-TCS shelf-stable foods from ODA-approved product list only.Non-TCS shelf-stable approved products only; no acidified foods, no low-acid canned foodsProducts stored at primary residence
Population388,327243,189536,121
What other Ohio counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Ohio counties

Ohio
Pop. 1.32M
Ohio
Pop. 1.26M
Ohio
Pop. 828K
Ohio
Pop. 539K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Butler County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Ohio's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Butler County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Butler County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Butler County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Butler County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Butler County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Butler County, Ohio?
Yes — Ohio allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Ohio Department of Agriculture and the Butler County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Butler County?
Your Butler County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Butler County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Butler County? State vs county rules and pets
Ohio rule (statewide)Butler County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Butler County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Butler County

    • Check with Butler County business license office
    • Check with Butler County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Ohio Department of Agriculture — Cottage Foods

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Ohio

    • Selling to stores: check with Ohio Department of Agriculture

    Butler County

    • Check with Butler County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Ohio

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Ohio Department of Agriculture

    Butler County

    • Check with Butler County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Ohio · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Ohio Department of Agriculture.

    Ohio · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Ohio Department of Agriculture.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.