Cottage food law & license in Ashland County, OH
What's in the Ashland County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Ashland County?
More Ashland County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Ashland County?
How to start in Ashland County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Ohio cottage food rules in Ashland County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Ohio cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Approved cottage food products (per Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20-04) include non-potentially hazardous bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), flavored honey, fruit butters, granola/granola bars, maple sugar, popcorn and related products, unfilled baked donuts, waffle cones, pizzelles, dry cereal and nut snack mixes, roasted coffee beans, dry baking mixes in a jar, dry herbs, and spice mixes with commercially dried ingredients.). Ashland County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Ashland County: Conditional. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Ashland County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Ohio disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Ohio label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Ohio county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Ohio county rules quiz
Ashland County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Ohio statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Ashland County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Ashland County cottage food rules with Ohio agencies?
Ashland County is a county in Ohio (pop. 52,522). Under Ohio's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Ohio Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Ashland County health and planning requirements via the planning / zoning links on this page. Local notes for Ashland County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Ohio cottage food operations require no license or inspection when selling directly to consumers from production site. Ashland County township zoning (2021 resolution) limits home occupations to main dwelling/attached garage, 300 sq ft, live-in residents only. Businesses with no outside signs and no customer/supplier traffic are exempt from zoning permits under Section 700. A separate Home Bakery License ($10/year, ODA inspection) is available for broader operations. No county health department-specific cottage food rules found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Ashland County?
Tier: Good
Ohio has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Ohio cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Ashland County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Ashland County
State baseline: O.R.C. §3715.023; §3715.025; Ohio Admin. Code Ch. 901:3-20
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Production must occur at the site where products are sold directly to consumers. Products must be on Ohio's approved cottage food product list (non-TCS, approved non-PHF bakery goods, candy, jams, etc.). No reduced oxygen packaging. No sales outside Ohio.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state cottage food law.
- Water supply
- Not specified in state cottage food law.
- Handwashing
- Standard sanitation implied; no specific requirement in state cottage food law.
- Food storage
- Products must remain non-potentially hazardous; proper storage implied by food safety standards.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection. State/local health authority may inspect only upon complaint or suspected foodborne illness. Direct-from-site sales require no license or inspection.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Ashland County zoning resolution (Section 604) requires home occupation to be located in main dwelling or attached garage. Max 300 sq ft. Only full-time live-in residents may be employed. No accessory building use. Signs limited to 6 sq ft. Zoning permit may not be required for businesses conducted entirely inside residence with no outside signs and no customer/supplier traffic (per Section 700 exemption). Township-level zoning inspector administers rules.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Conditional
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct-to-consumer sales from production site permitted without license. Farmers market sales also allowed without separate license. Customer traffic at home may trigger township zoning permit requirement.
- Max employees in home
- Only full-time live-in residents per Ashland County zoning (Section 604). No outside employees.
- Relevant code section
- Ashland County Township Zoning Resolution 2021, Section 317 and Section 604 (Home Occupation); O.R.C. §3715.025; OAC 901:3-20-04
Ohio cottage food operations require no license or inspection when selling directly to consumers from production site. Ashland County township zoning (2021 resolution) limits home occupations to main dwelling/attached garage, 300 sq ft, live-in residents only. Businesses with no outside signs and no customer/supplier traffic are exempt from zoning permits under Section 700. A separate Home Bakery License ($10/year, ODA inspection) is available for broader operations. No county health department-specific cottage food rules found.
What does the Ohio cottage food statute say?
Ohio Revised Code §3715.023 (Labels for cottage food production operation); §3715.025 (Restrictions on cottage food production operation); Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 901:3-20 (Cottage Food Production)
Full Ohio License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptSection 3715.025 | Restrictions on cottage food production operation. (A) A cottage food production operation shall not process acidified foods, low acid canned foods, or potentially hazardous foods. (B) The director of agriculture shall adopt rules in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code specifying the food items a cottage food production operation may produce that are in addition to the food items identified by name in division (A)(19) of section 3715.01 of the Revised Code. The director shall not adopt rules that permit a cottage food production operation to produce any food that is a potentially hazardous food. Section 3715.023 | Labels for cottage food production operation, processor, or beekeeper. (A) A cottage food production operation...shall label each of their food products and include the following information on the label: (1) The name and address of the business; (2) The name of the food product; (3) The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (4) The net weight and volume of the food product; (5) In the case of a cottage food production operation, the following statement in ten-point type: 'This product is home produced.'
Source: codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3715.025 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Ashland County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeAshland County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Ashland County, Ohio?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Ashland County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Ashland County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Ashland County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Ashland County. Ask Ashland County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Ohio?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Ashland County?
Apply through Ashland County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Ashland County, Ohio — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Ohio cottage food law in Ashland County?
Approved cottage food products (per Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20-04) include non-potentially hazardous bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), flavored honey, fruit butters, granola/granola bars, maple sugar, popcorn and related products, unfilled baked donuts, waffle cones, pizzelles, dry cereal and nut snack mixes, roasted coffee beans, dry baking mixes in a jar, dry herbs, and spice mixes with commercially dried ingredients. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Ohio, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Ashland County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection. State/local health authority may inspect only upon complaint or suspected foodborne illness. Direct-from-site sales require no license or inspection.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Ohio report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeAshland County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Ashland County.
Download county reportFull Ohio License & Permit Guide (260 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Ashland County.
Ohio law pageFree email alerts
Ashland County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Ashland County, with Ohio statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Ashland County page based on?
Where to verify Ashland County rules
Ashland County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Ashland County This county | Huron County | Holmes County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state cottage food law. | No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law. | No specific pet restriction in Ohio state cottage food law. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct-to-consumer sales from production site permitted without license. Farmers market sales also allowed without separate license. Custom… | Ohio allows direct and indirect sales within Ohio only. Farmers markets, retail stores, online (in-state), home pickup all permitted. | Direct sales (home, farmers markets, events) and indirect sales to licensed retail food establishments permitted within Ohio. No out-of-sta… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Production must occur at the site where products are sold directly to consumers. Products must be on Ohio's approved cottage food product l… | Ohio cottage food operations allowed from home kitchens with no registration or inspection required. Specific approved product list (OAC 90… | Ohio cottage food law allows production of approved non-potentially-hazardous foods in a home kitchen with no sales cap and no registration… |
| Food storage | Products must remain non-potentially hazardous; proper storage implied by food safety standards. | Non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable products required. No reduced oxygen packaging. | Non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable foods only per OAC 901:3-20-04 approved product list. |
| Population | 52,522 | 58,518 | 44,273 |
What other Ohio counties can I compare?
Other Ohio counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Ashland County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Ohio's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Ashland County bakers?
Ashland County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Ashland County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Ashland County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Ashland County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Ashland County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Ashland County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Ashland County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Ashland County
- Check with Ashland County business license office
- Check with Ashland County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Ohio
- Selling to stores: check with Ohio Department of Agriculture
Ashland County
- Check with Ashland County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Ohio
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Ohio Department of Agriculture
Ashland County
- Check with Ashland County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Ohio · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Ohio Department of Agriculture.
Ohio · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Ohio Department of Agriculture.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.