crosodo
County · Seat: Portsmouth · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Scioto County, OH

Inside the permit report

What's in the Scioto County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Scioto County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Scioto County
Table of contents
Your Scioto County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Scioto County?

All products in Ohio →
More Scioto County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Scioto County?
Start here

How to start in Scioto County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Ohio cottage food rules in Scioto County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Ohio cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Approved cottage food products (per Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20-04) include non-potentially hazardous bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), flavored honey, fruit butters, granola/granola bars, maple sugar, popcorn and related products, unfilled baked donuts, waffle cones, pizzelles, dry cereal and nut snack mixes, roasted coffee beans, dry baking mixes in a jar, dry herbs, and spice mixes with commercially dried ingredients.). Scioto County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Scioto County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Scioto County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Ohio disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Ohio label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Ohio county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Ohio county rules quiz

Scioto County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Ohio statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Scioto County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Scioto County cottage food rules with Ohio agencies?

Scioto County is a county in Ohio (pop. 73,716). Under Ohio's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Ohio Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Scioto County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Scioto County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Scioto County follows Ohio state cottage food law. Approved product list applies. No county-specific overrides found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Scioto County?
State law applies

Tier: Good

Ohio has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Ohio cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Scioto County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Scioto County

State baseline: O.R.C. §3715.023; §3715.025; Ohio Admin. Code Ch. 901:3-20

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Approved product list only (OAC 901:3-20-04). No sales outside Ohio. No reduced oxygen packaging.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state statute.
Water supply
Potable water required.
Handwashing
No food handler certification required.
Food storage
Non-potentially hazardous products must be stored appropriately. No reduced oxygen packaging.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection. ODA may investigate upon complaint.
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
No state-level registration required. Scioto County may have local zoning home occupation requirements. No Scioto County-specific cottage food ordinance found.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct and indirect sales permitted within Ohio only.
Max employees in home
Not specified.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
O.R.C. §3715.023; §3715.025; OAC 901:3-20. No Scioto County-specific code section found.
Local notes

Scioto County follows Ohio state cottage food law. Approved product list applies. No county-specific overrides found.

What does the Ohio cottage food statute say?
Ohio statute (state law)

Ohio Revised Code §3715.023 (Labels for cottage food production operation); §3715.025 (Restrictions on cottage food production operation); Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 901:3-20 (Cottage Food Production)

Citation: O.R.C. §3715.023; §3715.025; Ohio Admin. Code Ch. 901:3-20
Verbatim excerpt

Section 3715.025 | Restrictions on cottage food production operation. (A) A cottage food production operation shall not process acidified foods, low acid canned foods, or potentially hazardous foods. (B) The director of agriculture shall adopt rules in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code specifying the food items a cottage food production operation may produce that are in addition to the food items identified by name in division (A)(19) of section 3715.01 of the Revised Code. The director shall not adopt rules that permit a cottage food production operation to produce any food that is a potentially hazardous food. Section 3715.023 | Labels for cottage food production operation, processor, or beekeeper. (A) A cottage food production operation...shall label each of their food products and include the following information on the label: (1) The name and address of the business; (2) The name of the food product; (3) The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (4) The net weight and volume of the food product; (5) In the case of a cottage food production operation, the following statement in ten-point type: 'This product is home produced.'

Source: codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3715.025 →
Full Ohio License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Scioto County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Scioto County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Scioto County, Ohio?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Scioto County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Scioto County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Scioto County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Scioto County. Ask Scioto County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Ohio?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Scioto County?

Apply through Scioto County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Scioto County, Ohio — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Ohio cottage food law in Scioto County?

Approved cottage food products (per Ohio Admin. Code 901:3-20-04) include non-potentially hazardous bakery products, candy (not dipped fresh fruit), flavored honey, fruit butters, granola/granola bars, maple sugar, popcorn and related products, unfilled baked donuts, waffle cones, pizzelles, dry cereal and nut snack mixes, roasted coffee beans, dry baking mixes in a jar, dry herbs, and spice mixes with commercially dried ingredients. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Ohio, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Scioto County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection. ODA may investigate upon complaint.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Scioto County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Ohio report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Scioto County cottage food reports

What permits in Scioto County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Scioto County county cottage food report
Scioto County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Scioto County.

Download county report
Cover of Ohio cottage food law PDF report
Ohio state report

Full Ohio License & Permit Guide (260 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Scioto County.

Ohio law page

Free email alerts

Scioto County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Scioto County, with Ohio statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Scioto County page based on?
Quick comparison

Scioto County vs. bordering counties

RegulationScioto County
This county
Lawrence CountyJackson County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state statute.No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law.No specific pet restriction in Ohio state cottage food law.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesConditionalConditional
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect and indirect sales permitted within Ohio only.Ohio allows direct and indirect sales within Ohio only. Farmers markets, retail stores, online (in-state), home pickup all permitted.Direct sales (home, farmers markets, events) and indirect sales to licensed retail food establishments permitted within Ohio. No out-of-sta…
Home occupation permitVariesVariesVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsApproved product list only (OAC 901:3-20-04). No sales outside Ohio. No reduced oxygen packaging.Ohio cottage food operations allowed from home kitchens with no registration or inspection required. Specific approved product list (OAC 90…Ohio cottage food law allows production of approved non-potentially-hazardous foods in a home kitchen with no sales cap and no registration…
Food storageNon-potentially hazardous products must be stored appropriately. No reduced oxygen packaging.Non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable products required. No reduced oxygen packaging.Non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable foods only per OAC 901:3-20-04 approved product list.
Population73,71657,99432,563
What other Ohio counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Ohio counties

Ohio
Pop. 1.32M
Ohio
Pop. 1.26M
Ohio
Pop. 828K
Ohio
Pop. 539K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Scioto County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Ohio's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Scioto County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Scioto County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Scioto County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Scioto County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Scioto County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Scioto County, Ohio?
Yes — Ohio allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Ohio Department of Agriculture and the Scioto County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Scioto County?
Your Scioto County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Scioto County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Scioto County? State vs county rules and pets
Ohio rule (statewide)Scioto County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Scioto County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Scioto County

    • Check with Scioto County business license office
    • Check with Scioto County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Ohio Department of Agriculture — Cottage Foods

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Ohio

    • Selling to stores: check with Ohio Department of Agriculture

    Scioto County

    • Check with Scioto County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Ohio

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Ohio Department of Agriculture

    Scioto County

    • Check with Scioto County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Ohio · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Ohio Department of Agriculture.

    Ohio · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Ohio Department of Agriculture.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.