Cottage food law & license in Fort Bend County, TX
What's in the Fort Bend County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Fort Bend County?
More Fort Bend County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Fort Bend County?
How to start in Fort Bend County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Texas cottage food rules in Fort Bend County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Texas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025).). Fort Bend County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $150,000. On-site / porch pickup in Fort Bend County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Fort Bend County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Texas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Texas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “THIS PRODUCT WAS PRODUCED IN A PRIVATE RESIDENCE THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENTAL LICENSING OR INSPECTION.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Texas county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Texas county rules quiz
Fort Bend County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Texas statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Fort Bend County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Fort Bend County cottage food rules with Texas agencies?
Fort Bend County is a top-100 county by population in Texas (pop. 832,607). Under Texas's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 150000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Texas Department of State Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Fort Bend County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Fort Bend County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Fort Bend County follows Texas state baseline. Strong preemption prevents local health department regulation. The county is rapidly growing suburban Houston area with multiple incorporated cities. No Fort Bend County-specific cottage food ordinance found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Fort Bend County?
Tier: Great
Texas's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.
Texas cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Fort Bend County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Fort Bend County
State baseline: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq. (SB 541, 2025; cap $150,000)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Texas strong state preemption applies. No local permit, fee, or inspection for cottage food. Must be private home kitchen. Food handler certification required.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified; standard sanitation applies
- Water supply
- Potable water required
- Handwashing
- Food handler certification from accredited program required
- Food storage
- Standard food storage practices
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No local health department inspection authority for cottage food.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- No zoning ordinance can prevent cottage food operations. Cities within Fort Bend County (Sugar Land, Pearland, Missouri City, etc.) may have home occupation permit requirements for business activities. Contact the applicable city's planning department. Fort Bend County rules apply only in unincorporated areas.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct-to-consumer including online with personal delivery within Texas. SB 541 (2025): wholesale to registered cottage food vendors permitted for non-TCS foods. $150,000 annual cap.
- Max employees in home
- unknown
- Relevant code section
- Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.; municipal home occupation ordinances vary
Fort Bend County follows Texas state baseline. Strong preemption prevents local health department regulation. The county is rapidly growing suburban Houston area with multiple incorporated cities. No Fort Bend County-specific cottage food ordinance found.
What does the Texas cottage food statute say?
Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 437 – Regulation of Certain Foods, Subchapter A – Cottage Food Production Operations
Full Texas License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(2-b) "Cottage food production operation" means an individual, operating out of the individual's home, or a nonprofit organization that: (A) produces at the individual's home or the home of an individual who is a director or officer of the nonprofit organization, as applicable, any food other than: (i) meat, meat products, poultry, or poultry products; (ii) seafood, including seafood products, fish, fish products, shellfish, and shellfish products; (iii) ice or ice products, including shaved ice, ice cream, frozen custard, popsicles, and gelato; (iv) low-acid canned goods; (v) products containing cannabidiol or tetrahydrocannabinol; or (vi) raw milk and raw milk products; (B) has an annual gross income of $150,000 or less from the sale of food described by Paragraph (A), as the department annually adjusts for inflation using the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U); (C) sells the foods produced under Paragraph (A) directly to consumers or to a cottage food vendor; and (D) delivers products to the consumer or cottage food vendor at the point of sale or another location designated by the consumer or cottage food vendor.
Source: capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/89R/billtext/html/SB00541F.htm →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Fort Bend County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeFort Bend County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Fort Bend County, Texas?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Fort Bend County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Fort Bend County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Fort Bend County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Fort Bend County. Ask Fort Bend County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Texas?
$150,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Fort Bend County?
Apply through Fort Bend County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Fort Bend County, Texas — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Texas cottage food law in Fort Bend County?
Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025). County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Texas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Fort Bend County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No local health department inspection authority for cottage food.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Texas report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeFort Bend County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Fort Bend County.
Download county reportFull Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Fort Bend County.
Texas law pageFree email alerts
Fort Bend County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Fort Bend County, with Texas statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Fort Bend County page based on?
Where to verify Fort Bend County rules
Fort Bend County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Fort Bend County This county | Brazoria County | Waller County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified; standard sanitation applies | No specific state restriction in cottage food law. | No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Yes |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct-to-consumer including online with personal delivery within Texas. SB 541 (2025): wholesale to registered cottage food vendors permit… | Direct-to-consumer and some indirect sales. Online and mail delivery permitted. SB 541 (2025) added 'cottage food vendor' intermediary path… | Almost all channels permitted including direct to consumer, indirect sales, farmers markets, online, delivery, and through a 'cottage food … |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Texas strong state preemption applies. No local permit, fee, or inspection for cottage food. Must be private home kitchen. Food handler cer… | Texas cottage food law (Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.) requires no license, permit, or registration. No state inspection. Annual gr… | Texas cottage food law is highly permissive. No registration, no license, no inspection required. $150,000 annual gross income cap (raised … |
| Food storage | Standard food storage practices | Non-TCS shelf-stable products. Acidified and fermented foods allowed. | Non-TCS, non-refrigerated products required. |
| Population | 832,607 | 374,600 | 57,463 |
What other Texas counties can I compare?
Other Texas counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Fort Bend County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Texas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Fort Bend County bakers?
Fort Bend County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Fort Bend County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Fort Bend County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Fort Bend County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Fort Bend County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Fort Bend County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Fort Bend County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Fort Bend County
- Check with Fort Bend County business license office
- Check with Fort Bend County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Texas
- Selling to stores: check with Texas Department of State Health Services
Fort Bend County
- Check with Fort Bend County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Texas
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Texas Department of State Health Services
Fort Bend County
- Check with Fort Bend County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Texas · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.
Texas · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.