Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Texas Report Guide · 728 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Beaumont · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Jefferson County, TX

Can I sell cottage food from home in Jefferson County, Texas?
Yes — Texas allows cottage food sales under a Great-tier law (cap: 150000). Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Texas Department of State Health Services and the Jefferson County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Jefferson County Permits 101 for Jefferson County, Texas (74 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Jefferson County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Jefferson County?

Texas cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Jefferson County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Jefferson County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Jefferson County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Jefferson County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Texas cottage food rules in Jefferson County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Texas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025).). Jefferson County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $150,000. On-site / porch pickup in Jefferson County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Jefferson County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Texas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Texas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “THIS PRODUCT WAS PRODUCED IN A PRIVATE RESIDENCE THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENTAL LICENSING OR INSPECTION.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Jefferson County is a county in Texas (pop. 254,942). Under Texas's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 150000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Texas Department of State Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Jefferson County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Jefferson County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Jefferson County TX follows the Texas state baseline. $150,000 cap from SB 541 (2025). Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Jefferson County cottage food reports

What permits in Jefferson County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Jefferson County county cottage food report
Jefferson County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Jefferson County.

Download county report
Cover of Texas cottage food law PDF report
Texas state report

Full Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Great

Texas's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Texas cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Jefferson County

State baseline: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
No license, registration, or inspection required from health department. $150,000 annual gross sales cap (SB 541, 2025). Almost all non-TCS foods allowed. Label must state 'made in a home kitchen' and include producer's name/address. Jefferson County/Beaumont may require home occupation permit.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state statute
Water supply
Potable water; no formal testing requirement for cottage food
Handwashing
No formal certification required by state
Food storage
Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; prohibited: meat, poultry, seafood, ice products, low-acid canned goods, CBD/THC products
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
Health department may only act to prevent immediate/serious threat to human life
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Jefferson County and City of Beaumont may require home occupation permit or business license. No county-specific information found. Check with City of Beaumont Planning Division.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct and limited indirect sales; farmers markets, online, home delivery, third-party delivery platforms allowed.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state statute
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Tex. Health & Safety Code §437.001 et seq.
Local notes

Jefferson County TX follows the Texas state baseline. $150,000 cap from SB 541 (2025).

Texas statute (state law)

Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 437 – Regulation of Certain Foods, Subchapter A – Cottage Food Production Operations

Citation: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.
Verbatim excerpt

(2-b) "Cottage food production operation" means an individual, operating out of the individual's home, or a nonprofit organization that: (A) produces at the individual's home or the home of an individual who is a director or officer of the nonprofit organization, as applicable, any food other than: (i) meat, meat products, poultry, or poultry products; (ii) seafood, including seafood products, fish, fish products, shellfish, and shellfish products; (iii) ice or ice products, including shaved ice, ice cream, frozen custard, popsicles, and gelato; (iv) low-acid canned goods; (v) products containing cannabidiol or tetrahydrocannabinol; or (vi) raw milk and raw milk products; (B) has an annual gross income of $150,000 or less from the sale of food described by Paragraph (A), as the department annually adjusts for inflation using the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U); (C) sells the foods produced under Paragraph (A) directly to consumers or to a cottage food vendor; and (D) delivers products to the consumer or cottage food vendor at the point of sale or another location designated by the consumer or cottage food vendor.

Source: capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/89R/billtext/html/SB00541F.htm
Full Texas License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Jefferson County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Jefferson County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (74 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Jefferson County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Jefferson County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Jefferson County, Texas?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. Jefferson County and City of Beaumont may require home occupation permit or business license. No county-specific information found. Check with City of Beaumont Planning Division. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Texas guide at https://crosodo.com/states/texas.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Jefferson County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: Health department may only act to prevent immediate/serious threat to human life. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Texas cottage food law in Jefferson County?

Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025). County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Texas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Texas?

Texas state law lists cottage food sales at 150000. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Jefferson County?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. Jefferson County and City of Beaumont may require home occupation permit or business license. No county-specific information found. Check with City of Beaumont Planning Division.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Jefferson County vs. bordering counties

RegulationJefferson County
This county
Liberty CountyOrange County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state statuteNo specific restriction under Texas cottage food law.No specific statutory restriction.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect and limited indirect sales; farmers markets, online, home delivery, third-party delivery platforms allowed.Direct and indirect sales allowed. Online, home delivery, farmers markets, events, retail stores all permitted. Internet sales expressly al…All direct and indirect sales permitted within Texas framework: from home, online, at events, to retailers. No wholesale to distributors.
Home occupation permitConditionalVariesVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsNo license, registration, or inspection required from health department. $150,000 annual gross sales cap (SB 541, 2025). Almost all non-TCS…Texas cottage food law: no registration, no permit, no inspection required. Annual gross sales cap $150,000 (SB 541, 2025). Allowed: all no…Texas cottage food: no registration, permit, or inspection required. Production from home kitchen. Annual gross income cap $150,000 (SB 541…
Food storageNon-TCS shelf-stable foods; prohibited: meat, poultry, seafood, ice products, low-acid canned goods, CBD/THC productsNon-TCS foods only; must be labeled.No specific statutory requirement.
Population254,94293,52384,761
Crosodo Forum

Jefferson County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Jefferson County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Texas counties

Texas
Pop. 4.73M
Texas
Pop. 2.6M
Texas
Pop. 2.11M
Texas
Pop. 2.01M
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Jefferson County, Texas

Reach home bakers in Jefferson County, Texas. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Texas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Jefferson County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.