crosodo
County · Seat: Hondo · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Medina County, TX

Inside the permit report

What's in the Medina County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Medina County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Medina County
Table of contents
Your Medina County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Medina County?

All products in Texas →
More Medina County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Medina County?
Start here

How to start in Medina County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Texas cottage food rules in Medina County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Texas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025).). Medina County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $150,000. On-site / porch pickup in Medina County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Medina County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Texas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Texas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “THIS PRODUCT WAS PRODUCED IN A PRIVATE RESIDENCE THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENTAL LICENSING OR INSPECTION.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Texas county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Texas county rules quiz

Medina County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Texas statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Medina County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Medina County cottage food rules with Texas agencies?

Medina County is a county in Texas (pop. 51,432). Under Texas's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 150000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Texas Department of State Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Medina County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Medina County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Texas has a highly permissive cottage food law with no license or inspection required. 2025 SB 541 raised the cap to $150,000 and added nonprofits and cottage food vendor intermediary. No Medina County-specific restrictions found. County is largely rural with Hondo as county seat. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Medina County?
State law applies

Tier: Great

Texas's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Texas cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Medina County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Medina County

State baseline: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Must produce in home kitchen. All non-TCS foods allowed. Annual gross income cap $150,000 (as of SB 541, 2025). No meat/poultry/seafood, ice/ice cream, low-acid canned goods, CBD/THC products, or raw milk products.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state cottage food law.
Water supply
Not specified in state cottage food law.
Handwashing
Standard food safety practices; not specifically required by state cottage food law.
Food storage
Products must be non-TCS; proper storage implied.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No license, inspection, or registration required. DSHS or local health authority may only act to prevent an immediate and serious threat to human life or health.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
No specific Medina County cottage food ordinances found. Unincorporated Medina County follows county rules; City of Hondo has its own zoning. Home occupation permits may be required by local zoning. Recommend verifying with Medina County and City of Hondo planning departments.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Sales allowed directly to consumers in Texas, online, at farmers markets, through cottage food vendors (third-party intermediaries per SB 541, 2025), and by mail/delivery. No wholesale to distributors or restaurants without separate licensing.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state cottage food law.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.; SB 541 (2025)
Local notes

Texas has a highly permissive cottage food law with no license or inspection required. 2025 SB 541 raised the cap to $150,000 and added nonprofits and cottage food vendor intermediary. No Medina County-specific restrictions found. County is largely rural with Hondo as county seat.

What does the Texas cottage food statute say?
Texas statute (state law)

Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 437 – Regulation of Certain Foods, Subchapter A – Cottage Food Production Operations

Citation: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.
Verbatim excerpt

(2-b) "Cottage food production operation" means an individual, operating out of the individual's home, or a nonprofit organization that: (A) produces at the individual's home or the home of an individual who is a director or officer of the nonprofit organization, as applicable, any food other than: (i) meat, meat products, poultry, or poultry products; (ii) seafood, including seafood products, fish, fish products, shellfish, and shellfish products; (iii) ice or ice products, including shaved ice, ice cream, frozen custard, popsicles, and gelato; (iv) low-acid canned goods; (v) products containing cannabidiol or tetrahydrocannabinol; or (vi) raw milk and raw milk products; (B) has an annual gross income of $150,000 or less from the sale of food described by Paragraph (A), as the department annually adjusts for inflation using the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U); (C) sells the foods produced under Paragraph (A) directly to consumers or to a cottage food vendor; and (D) delivers products to the consumer or cottage food vendor at the point of sale or another location designated by the consumer or cottage food vendor.

Source: capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/89R/billtext/html/SB00541F.htm →
Full Texas License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Medina County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Medina County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Medina County, Texas?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Medina County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Medina County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Medina County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Medina County. Ask Medina County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Texas?

$150,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Medina County?

Apply through Medina County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Medina County, Texas — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Texas cottage food law in Medina County?

Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025). County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Texas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Medina County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No license, inspection, or registration required. DSHS or local health authority may only act to prevent an immediate and serious threat to human life or health.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Medina County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Texas report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Medina County cottage food reports

What permits in Medina County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Medina County county cottage food report
Medina County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Medina County.

Download county report
Cover of Texas cottage food law PDF report
Texas state report

Full Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Medina County.

Texas law page

Free email alerts

Medina County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Medina County, with Texas statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Medina County page based on?
Quick comparison

Medina County vs. bordering counties

RegulationMedina County
This county
Atascosa CountyUvalde County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state cottage food law.Not specified in state cottage food law.No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalYes
Delivery / pickupSales allowed directly to consumers in Texas, online, at farmers markets, through cottage food vendors (third-party intermediaries per SB 5…Sales allowed directly to consumers in Texas, online, at farmers markets, through cottage food vendor intermediaries (SB 541, 2025), and by…Direct-to-consumer sales anywhere in Texas including home pickup, farmers markets, events, and online (with personal delivery). Non-TCS foo…
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalNo
Local business licenseVariesVariesNo
RestrictionsMust produce in home kitchen. All non-TCS foods allowed. Annual gross income cap $150,000 (as of SB 541, 2025). No meat/poultry/seafood, ic…Must produce in home kitchen. All non-TCS foods allowed. Annual gross income cap $150,000 (SB 541, 2025). No meat/poultry/seafood, ice/ice …Texas cottage food law (SB 541, effective Sept 1 2025) allows sale of nearly all non-TCS foods plus TCS foods directly to consumers. Annual…
Food storageProducts must be non-TCS; proper storage implied.Products must be non-TCS.Non-TCS foods unrestricted; TCS foods must be held at proper temperatures (≤41°F or ≥135°F).
Population51,43249,40324,833
What other Texas counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Texas counties

Texas
Pop. 4.73M
Texas
Pop. 2.6M
Texas
Pop. 2.11M
Texas
Pop. 2.01M
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Medina County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Texas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Medina County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Medina County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Medina County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Medina County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Medina County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Medina County, Texas?
Yes — Texas allows cottage food sales. $150,000 annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Texas Department of State Health Services and the Medina County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Medina County?
Your Medina County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Medina County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Medina County? State vs county rules and pets
Texas rule (statewide)Medina County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Medina County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Medina County

    • Check with Medina County business license office
    • Check with Medina County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Texas DSHS — Texas Cottage Food Production

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Texas

    • Selling to stores: check with Texas Department of State Health Services

    Medina County

    • Check with Medina County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Texas

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Texas Department of State Health Services

    Medina County

    • Check with Medina County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Texas · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.

    Texas · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.