crosodo
County · Seat: Tyler · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Smith County, TX

Inside the permit report

What's in the Smith County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Smith County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Smith County
Table of contents
Your Smith County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Smith County?

All products in Texas →
More Smith County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Smith County?
Start here

How to start in Smith County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Texas cottage food rules in Smith County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Texas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025).). Smith County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $150,000. On-site / porch pickup in Smith County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Smith County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Texas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Texas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “THIS PRODUCT WAS PRODUCED IN A PRIVATE RESIDENCE THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENTAL LICENSING OR INSPECTION.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Texas county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Texas county rules quiz

Smith County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Texas statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Smith County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Smith County cottage food rules with Texas agencies?

Smith County is a county in Texas (pop. 234,667). Under Texas's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 150000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Texas Department of State Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Smith County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Smith County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Smith County TX (Tyler) follows the Texas state baseline. $150,000 cap from SB 541 (2025). No county-specific cottage food ordinance found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Smith County?
State law applies

Tier: Great

Texas's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Texas cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Smith County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Smith County

State baseline: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
No license, registration, or inspection required. $150,000 annual gross sales cap (SB 541, 2025). Almost all non-TCS foods allowed. Label must state 'made in a home kitchen'. Smith County and Tyler may require home occupation permit.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state statute
Water supply
Potable water; no formal testing requirement for cottage food
Handwashing
No formal certification required by state
Food storage
Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; prohibited: meat, poultry, seafood, ice products, low-acid canned goods
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
Health department may only act to prevent immediate/serious threat to human life
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Smith County and City of Tyler may require home occupation permit or business license. Check with Tyler Planning Department or Smith County.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct and limited indirect sales; farmers markets, online, home delivery, third-party delivery platforms allowed.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state statute
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Tex. Health & Safety Code §437.001 et seq.; Smith County/Tyler zoning
Local notes

Smith County TX (Tyler) follows the Texas state baseline. $150,000 cap from SB 541 (2025). No county-specific cottage food ordinance found.

What does the Texas cottage food statute say?
Texas statute (state law)

Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 437 – Regulation of Certain Foods, Subchapter A – Cottage Food Production Operations

Citation: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.
Verbatim excerpt

(2-b) "Cottage food production operation" means an individual, operating out of the individual's home, or a nonprofit organization that: (A) produces at the individual's home or the home of an individual who is a director or officer of the nonprofit organization, as applicable, any food other than: (i) meat, meat products, poultry, or poultry products; (ii) seafood, including seafood products, fish, fish products, shellfish, and shellfish products; (iii) ice or ice products, including shaved ice, ice cream, frozen custard, popsicles, and gelato; (iv) low-acid canned goods; (v) products containing cannabidiol or tetrahydrocannabinol; or (vi) raw milk and raw milk products; (B) has an annual gross income of $150,000 or less from the sale of food described by Paragraph (A), as the department annually adjusts for inflation using the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U); (C) sells the foods produced under Paragraph (A) directly to consumers or to a cottage food vendor; and (D) delivers products to the consumer or cottage food vendor at the point of sale or another location designated by the consumer or cottage food vendor.

Source: capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/89R/billtext/html/SB00541F.htm →
Full Texas License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Smith County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Smith County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Smith County, Texas?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Smith County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Smith County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Smith County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Smith County. Ask Smith County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Texas?

$150,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Smith County?

Apply through Smith County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Smith County, Texas — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Texas cottage food law in Smith County?

Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025). County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Texas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Smith County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: Health department may only act to prevent immediate/serious threat to human life. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Smith County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Texas report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Smith County cottage food reports

What permits in Smith County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Smith County county cottage food report
Smith County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Smith County.

Download county report
Cover of Texas cottage food law PDF report
Texas state report

Full Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Smith County.

Texas law page

Free email alerts

Smith County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Smith County, with Texas statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Smith County page based on?
Quick comparison

Smith County vs. bordering counties

RegulationSmith County
This county
Gregg CountyHenderson County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state statuteNo specific Texas state requirement; standard food safety practices recommended.No specific statutory restriction.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect and limited indirect sales; farmers markets, online, home delivery, third-party delivery platforms allowed.Texas allows direct sales and limited indirect sales (not through wholesale distributors or retail chains). Online sales and delivery allow…All direct and indirect sales permitted within Texas framework.
Home occupation permitConditionalVariesVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsNo license, registration, or inspection required. $150,000 annual gross sales cap (SB 541, 2025). Almost all non-TCS foods allowed. Label m…Texas state law allows cottage food production from a home kitchen. Health departments cannot inspect cottage food operations. Gregg County…Texas cottage food: no registration, permit, or inspection required. Home kitchen production. Annual gross income cap $150,000 (SB 541, 202…
Food storageNon-TCS shelf-stable foods; prohibited: meat, poultry, seafood, ice products, low-acid canned goodsShelf-stable non-TCS products stored per food safety standards. TCS foods not permitted under cottage food framework.No specific statutory requirement.
Population234,667124,24582,627
What other Texas counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Texas counties

Texas
Pop. 4.73M
Texas
Pop. 2.6M
Texas
Pop. 2.11M
Texas
Pop. 2.01M
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Smith County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Texas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Smith County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Smith County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Smith County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Smith County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Smith County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Smith County, Texas?
Yes — Texas allows cottage food sales. $150,000 annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Texas Department of State Health Services and the Smith County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Smith County?
Your Smith County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Smith County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Smith County? State vs county rules and pets
Texas rule (statewide)Smith County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Smith County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Smith County

    • Check with Smith County business license office
    • Check with Smith County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Texas DSHS — Texas Cottage Food Production

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Texas

    • Selling to stores: check with Texas Department of State Health Services

    Smith County

    • Check with Smith County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Texas

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Texas Department of State Health Services

    Smith County

    • Check with Smith County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Texas · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.

    Texas · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.