crosodo
County · Seat: Decatur · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Wise County, TX

Inside the permit report

What's in the Wise County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Wise County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Wise County
Table of contents
Your Wise County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Wise County?

All products in Texas →
More Wise County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Wise County?
Start here

How to start in Wise County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Texas cottage food rules in Wise County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Texas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025).). Wise County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $150,000. On-site / porch pickup in Wise County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Wise County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Texas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Texas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “THIS PRODUCT WAS PRODUCED IN A PRIVATE RESIDENCE THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENTAL LICENSING OR INSPECTION.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Texas county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Texas county rules quiz

Wise County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Texas statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Wise County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Wise County cottage food rules with Texas agencies?

Wise County is a county in Texas (pop. 70,062). Under Texas's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 150000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Texas Department of State Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Wise County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Wise County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Texas Great-tier state with $150,000 cap. No county-specific sources available. Wise County is a rural/exurban county in North Texas. Pattern county. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Wise County?
State law applies

Tier: Great

Texas's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Texas cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Wise County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Wise County

State baseline: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
No food handler cert required. No state registration required. Annual sales cap $150,000. No TCS foods. Indirect sales allowed at limited venues (farmers markets, roadside stands, flea markets). No wholesale to distributors.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state law
Water supply
Standard residential water supply
Handwashing
Good sanitation practices implied
Food storage
Appropriate storage for shelf-stable products
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection; complaint-based investigation possible
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
No county govt URL provided. Wise County unincorporated areas follow county zoning. City of Decatur has its own zoning and business licensing. No county-specific cottage food overlay identified.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct delivery and third-party sales at designated venues permitted
Max employees in home
Not specified
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Not identified
Local notes

Texas Great-tier state with $150,000 cap. No county-specific sources available. Wise County is a rural/exurban county in North Texas. Pattern county.

What does the Texas cottage food statute say?
Texas statute (state law)

Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 437 – Regulation of Certain Foods, Subchapter A – Cottage Food Production Operations

Citation: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.
Verbatim excerpt

(2-b) "Cottage food production operation" means an individual, operating out of the individual's home, or a nonprofit organization that: (A) produces at the individual's home or the home of an individual who is a director or officer of the nonprofit organization, as applicable, any food other than: (i) meat, meat products, poultry, or poultry products; (ii) seafood, including seafood products, fish, fish products, shellfish, and shellfish products; (iii) ice or ice products, including shaved ice, ice cream, frozen custard, popsicles, and gelato; (iv) low-acid canned goods; (v) products containing cannabidiol or tetrahydrocannabinol; or (vi) raw milk and raw milk products; (B) has an annual gross income of $150,000 or less from the sale of food described by Paragraph (A), as the department annually adjusts for inflation using the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U); (C) sells the foods produced under Paragraph (A) directly to consumers or to a cottage food vendor; and (D) delivers products to the consumer or cottage food vendor at the point of sale or another location designated by the consumer or cottage food vendor.

Source: capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/89R/billtext/html/SB00541F.htm →
Full Texas License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Wise County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Wise County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Wise County, Texas?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Wise County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Wise County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Wise County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Wise County. Ask Wise County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Texas?

$150,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Wise County?

Apply through Wise County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Wise County, Texas — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Texas cottage food law in Wise County?

Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025). County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Texas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Wise County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection; complaint-based investigation possible. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Wise County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Texas report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Wise County cottage food reports

What permits in Wise County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Wise County county cottage food report
Wise County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Wise County.

Download county report
Cover of Texas cottage food law PDF report
Texas state report

Full Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Wise County.

Texas law page

Free email alerts

Wise County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Wise County, with Texas statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Wise County page based on?
Quick comparison

Wise County vs. bordering counties

RegulationWise County
This county
Cooke CountyMontague County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state lawNo specific pet restriction in state cottage food law.No specific state restriction on pets in home for cottage food operations.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalYesConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect delivery and third-party sales at designated venues permittedAll channels permitted including direct to consumer, indirect sales, farmers markets, online, delivery, and through a registered cottage fo…Sales allowed direct-to-consumer, at farmers markets, online (statewide), fairs, roadside stands. SB 541 (2025) also allows sales through n…
Home occupation permitVariesVariesNo
Local business licenseVariesVariesNo
RestrictionsNo food handler cert required. No state registration required. Annual sales cap $150,000. No TCS foods. Indirect sales allowed at limited v…Texas cottage food law (SB 541, 2025) is highly permissive. No registration required for most operators (registration optional for address …Texas allows cottage food from residential home kitchens. No registration, permit, or inspection required. Annual gross income cap of $150,…
Food storageAppropriate storage for shelf-stable productsNon-TCS foods or TCS foods held at proper temperatures required. No refrigeration mandate for shelf-stable products.All products must be shelf-stable, non-TCS. Proper storage to prevent contamination required.
Population70,06241,86019,500
What other Texas counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Texas counties

Texas
Pop. 4.73M
Texas
Pop. 2.6M
Texas
Pop. 2.11M
Texas
Pop. 2.01M
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Wise County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Texas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Wise County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Wise County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Wise County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Wise County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Wise County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Wise County, Texas?
Yes — Texas allows cottage food sales. $150,000 annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Texas Department of State Health Services and the Wise County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Wise County?
Your Wise County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Wise County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Wise County? State vs county rules and pets
Texas rule (statewide)Wise County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Wise County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Wise County

    • Check with Wise County business license office
    • Check with Wise County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Texas DSHS — Texas Cottage Food Production

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Texas

    • Selling to stores: check with Texas Department of State Health Services

    Wise County

    • Check with Wise County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Texas

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Texas Department of State Health Services

    Wise County

    • Check with Wise County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Texas · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.

    Texas · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.