Cottage food law & license in Cache County, UT
What's in the Cache County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Cache County?
More Cache County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Cache County?
How to start in Cache County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Utah cottage food rules in Cache County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Utah cottage food rules control what you may make at home (All non-potentially hazardous foods (non-TCS) produced in a home kitchen are allowed under the cottage food registration. This includes baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, granola, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and other shelf-stable foods. A separate Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title 4, Chapter 5A) provides an alternative pathway with fewer registration requirements but more sales restrictions.). Cache County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Cache County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Cache County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Utah disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Utah label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Utah (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Utah county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Utah county rules quiz
Cache County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Utah statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Cache County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Cache County cottage food rules with Utah agencies?
Cache County is a county in Utah (pop. 134,428). Under Utah's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Cache County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Cache County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. State baseline (UT) confirmed: Utah Code §4-5-501. Cache County is in northern Utah; Logan is a college town (USU). No county-specific cottage food URLs found. County follows state baseline. Freedom-tier state with broad allowances and no sales cap. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Cache County?
Tier: Freedom
Utah has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.
Utah cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Cache County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Cache County
State baseline: Utah Code §4-5-501
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Utah Cottage Food Registration required with UDAF. Food handler's permit required. All non-TCS foods allowed. No commercial kitchen equipment required (UDAF explicitly prohibited from requiring this). A separate pathway under the Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title 4, Chapter 5A) allows sales without state registration but only at direct-to-sale farmers markets or direct-to-sale locations.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not prohibited by state statute; kitchen sanitation required.
- Water supply
- Potable water required.
- Handwashing
- Required per food safety standards.
- Food storage
- Non-TCS (non-potentially hazardous) foods only. Products stored in food-safe containers.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection. UDAF may investigate upon complaint.
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- Cache County zoning ordinance may require a home occupation permit in unincorporated areas. Logan City (home of Utah State University) has its own home occupation rules. Local health departments have no jurisdiction over compliant UDAF-registered operations.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- UDAF cottage food registration: sales permitted from home, farmers markets, online, and retail channels. Home Consumption pathway: direct-to-sale at farmers markets or direct-to-sale locations only.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified at state level.
- Relevant code section
- Utah Code §4-5-501; Utah Code Title 4, Chapter 5A (Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act).
State baseline (UT) confirmed: Utah Code §4-5-501. Cache County is in northern Utah; Logan is a college town (USU). No county-specific cottage food URLs found. County follows state baseline. Freedom-tier state with broad allowances and no sales cap.
What does the Utah cottage food statute say?
Utah Code, Title 4 – Utah Agricultural Code, Chapter 5 – Utah Wholesome Food Act, Part 5 – Special Programs, Section 4-5-501 (Cottage Food Operations)
Full Utah License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt4-5-501. Cottage food operations. (1) For purposes of this chapter: (a) "Cottage food operation" means a person who produces a cottage food product in a home kitchen. (b) "Cottage food product" means a nonpotentially hazardous baked good, jam, jelly, or other nonpotentially hazardous food produced in a home kitchen. (c) "Home kitchen" means a kitchen: (i) designed and intended for use by the residents of a home; and (ii) used by a resident of the home for the production of a cottage food product. (d) "Potentially hazardous food" means: (i) a food of animal origin; (ii) raw seed sprouts; or (iii) a food that requires time or temperature control, or both, for safety to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation, as identified by the department in rule. (3) Rules adopted pursuant to Subsection (2) may not require: (a) the use of a commercial surface such as a stainless steel counter or cabinet; (b) the use of a commercial grade: (i) sink; (ii) dishwasher; or (iii) oven; (c) a separate kitchen for the cottage food operation; or (d) the submission of plans and specifications before construction of, or remodel of, a cottage food production operation. (4) The operator of a cottage food operation shall: (a) register with the department as a cottage food operation before operating as a cottage food operation; (b) hold a valid food handler's permit; and (c) package a cottage food product with a label, as specified by the department in rule.
Source: law.justia.com/codes/utah/title-4/chapter-5/part-5/section-501/ →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Cache County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeCache County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Cache County, Utah?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Cache County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Cache County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Cache County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Cache County. Ask Cache County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Utah?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Cache County?
Apply via Cache County environmental health (ag.utah.gov). Official link: https://ag.utah.gov/regulatory-services/home-consumption-and-homemade-food-act/. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Utah cottage food law in Cache County?
All non-potentially hazardous foods (non-TCS) produced in a home kitchen are allowed under the cottage food registration. This includes baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, granola, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and other shelf-stable foods. A separate Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title 4, Chapter 5A) provides an alternative pathway with fewer registration requirements but more sales restrictions. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Utah, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Cache County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection. UDAF may investigate upon complaint.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Utah report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeCache County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Cache County.
Download county reportFull Utah License & Permit Guide (98 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Cache County.
Utah law pageFree email alerts
Cache County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Cache County, with Utah statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Cache County page based on?
Where to verify Cache County rules
Cache County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Cache County This county | Box Elder County | Weber County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not prohibited by state statute; kitchen sanitation required. | No specific pet restriction; UDAF explicitly prohibits requiring commercial kitchen equipment. | Not specified in state statute; kitchen must be sanitary |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | UDAF cottage food registration: sales permitted from home, farmers markets, online, and retail channels. Home Consumption pathway: direct-t… | Direct and indirect sales permitted. Farmers markets, home pickup, retail stores, online, and delivery all allowed under UDAF registration. | Both direct and indirect sales allowed under UDAF registration. Online sales, delivery, retail sales all permitted. Home Consumption Act pa… |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Varies | Conditional |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Utah Cottage Food Registration required with UDAF. Food handler's permit required. All non-TCS foods allowed. No commercial kitchen equipme… | Utah cottage food registration (Utah Code §4-5-501) requires UDAF registration and a food handler's permit. No kitchen inspection. No sales… | Cottage Food Registration with UDAF required; food handler's permit required. No sales cap. All non-TCS foods allowed. Separate Home Consum… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS (non-potentially hazardous) foods only. Products stored in food-safe containers. | Non-potentially hazardous (non-TCS) foods only. | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; no refrigerated finished products |
| Population | 134,428 | 58,291 | 262,960 |
What other Utah counties can I compare?
Other Utah counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Cache County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Utah's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Cache County bakers?
Cache County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Cache County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Cache County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Cache County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Cache County at a glance?
File with Cache County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Cache County environmental health(ag.utah.gov)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Cache County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Cache County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Cache County
- Check with Cache County business license office
- Check with Cache County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Utah
- Selling to stores: check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food
Cache County
- Check with Cache County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Utah
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food
Cache County
- Check with Cache County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Utah · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.
Utah · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.