Cottage food law & license in Weber County, UT
What's in the Weber County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Weber County?
More Weber County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Weber County?
How to start in Weber County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Utah cottage food rules in Weber County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Utah cottage food rules control what you may make at home (All non-potentially hazardous foods (non-TCS) produced in a home kitchen are allowed under the cottage food registration. This includes baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, granola, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and other shelf-stable foods. A separate Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title 4, Chapter 5A) provides an alternative pathway with fewer registration requirements but more sales restrictions.). Weber County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Weber County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Weber County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Utah disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Utah label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Utah (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Utah county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Utah county rules quiz
Weber County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Utah statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Weber County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Weber County cottage food rules with Utah agencies?
Weber County is a county in Utah (pop. 262,960). Under Utah's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Weber County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Weber County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Weber County UT follows Utah state baseline (Utah Code §4-5-501). Utah is a 'Freedom' tier state — no sales cap, UDAF registration, food handler permit required. Local health departments cannot regulate compliant registered operations. No Weber County-specific cottage food ordinance found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Weber County?
Tier: Freedom
Utah has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.
Utah cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Weber County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Weber County
State baseline: Utah Code §4-5-501
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Cottage Food Registration with UDAF required; food handler's permit required. No sales cap. All non-TCS foods allowed. Separate Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title 4, Chapter 5A) alternative pathway allows limited direct-market sales without state registration. UDAF prohibits requiring commercial kitchen equipment.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state statute; kitchen must be sanitary
- Water supply
- Potable water supply required
- Handwashing
- Food handler's permit required
- Food storage
- Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; no refrigerated finished products
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection; local health departments have no jurisdiction over compliant registered operations
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Weber County and City of Ogden may require home occupation permits under local zoning. Utah cottage food law preempts local health dept regulation of registered operations but does not explicitly preempt zoning. Producers should check with Weber County Planning Division or City of Ogden.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Both direct and indirect sales allowed under UDAF registration. Online sales, delivery, retail sales all permitted. Home Consumption Act pathway limits to direct-market only.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state statute
- Relevant code section
- Utah Code §4-5-501; Weber County zoning ordinance
Weber County UT follows Utah state baseline (Utah Code §4-5-501). Utah is a 'Freedom' tier state — no sales cap, UDAF registration, food handler permit required. Local health departments cannot regulate compliant registered operations. No Weber County-specific cottage food ordinance found.
What does the Utah cottage food statute say?
Utah Code, Title 4 – Utah Agricultural Code, Chapter 5 – Utah Wholesome Food Act, Part 5 – Special Programs, Section 4-5-501 (Cottage Food Operations)
Full Utah License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt4-5-501. Cottage food operations. (1) For purposes of this chapter: (a) "Cottage food operation" means a person who produces a cottage food product in a home kitchen. (b) "Cottage food product" means a nonpotentially hazardous baked good, jam, jelly, or other nonpotentially hazardous food produced in a home kitchen. (c) "Home kitchen" means a kitchen: (i) designed and intended for use by the residents of a home; and (ii) used by a resident of the home for the production of a cottage food product. (d) "Potentially hazardous food" means: (i) a food of animal origin; (ii) raw seed sprouts; or (iii) a food that requires time or temperature control, or both, for safety to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation, as identified by the department in rule. (3) Rules adopted pursuant to Subsection (2) may not require: (a) the use of a commercial surface such as a stainless steel counter or cabinet; (b) the use of a commercial grade: (i) sink; (ii) dishwasher; or (iii) oven; (c) a separate kitchen for the cottage food operation; or (d) the submission of plans and specifications before construction of, or remodel of, a cottage food production operation. (4) The operator of a cottage food operation shall: (a) register with the department as a cottage food operation before operating as a cottage food operation; (b) hold a valid food handler's permit; and (c) package a cottage food product with a label, as specified by the department in rule.
Source: law.justia.com/codes/utah/title-4/chapter-5/part-5/section-501/ →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Weber County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeWeber County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Weber County, Utah?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Weber County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Weber County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Weber County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Weber County. Ask Weber County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Utah?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Weber County?
Apply via Weber County environmental health (ag.utah.gov). Official link: https://ag.utah.gov/regulatory-services/home-consumption-and-homemade-food-act/. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Utah cottage food law in Weber County?
All non-potentially hazardous foods (non-TCS) produced in a home kitchen are allowed under the cottage food registration. This includes baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, granola, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and other shelf-stable foods. A separate Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title 4, Chapter 5A) provides an alternative pathway with fewer registration requirements but more sales restrictions. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Utah, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Weber County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection; local health departments have no jurisdiction over compliant registered operations. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Utah report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeWeber County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Weber County.
Download county reportFull Utah License & Permit Guide (98 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Weber County.
Utah law pageFree email alerts
Weber County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Weber County, with Utah statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Weber County page based on?
Where to verify Weber County rules
Weber County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Weber County This county | Davis County | Cache County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Conditional | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state statute; kitchen must be sanitary | UDAF explicitly prohibits requiring commercial kitchen equipment; no specific pet restriction in statute. | Not prohibited by state statute; kitchen sanitation required. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Both direct and indirect sales allowed under UDAF registration. Online sales, delivery, retail sales all permitted. Home Consumption Act pa… | Direct and indirect sales allowed. Farmers markets, online, retail, and delivery all permitted under Cottage Food Registration. Alternative… | UDAF cottage food registration: sales permitted from home, farmers markets, online, and retail channels. Home Consumption pathway: direct-t… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Conditional | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Cottage Food Registration with UDAF required; food handler's permit required. No sales cap. All non-TCS foods allowed. Separate Home Consum… | Utah cottage food law (Utah Code §4-5-501) requires UDAF registration and food handler's permit for Cottage Food Registration pathway. All … | Utah Cottage Food Registration required with UDAF. Food handler's permit required. All non-TCS foods allowed. No commercial kitchen equipme… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; no refrigerated finished products | Non-TCS, non-PHF foods only. | Non-TCS (non-potentially hazardous) foods only. Products stored in food-safe containers. |
| Population | 262,960 | 363,032 | 134,428 |
What other Utah counties can I compare?
Other Utah counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Weber County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Utah's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Weber County bakers?
Weber County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Weber County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Weber County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Weber County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Weber County at a glance?
File with Weber County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Weber County environmental health(ag.utah.gov)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Weber County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Weber County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Weber County
- Check with Weber County business license office
- Check with Weber County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Utah
- Selling to stores: check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food
Weber County
- Check with Weber County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Utah
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food
Weber County
- Check with Weber County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Utah · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.
Utah · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.