crosodo
County · Seat: Tooele · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Tooele County, UT

Inside the permit report

What's in the Tooele County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Tooele County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Tooele County
Table of contents
Your Tooele County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Tooele County?

All products in Utah →
More Tooele County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Tooele County?
Start here

How to start in Tooele County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Utah cottage food rules in Tooele County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Utah cottage food rules control what you may make at home (All non-potentially hazardous foods (non-TCS) produced in a home kitchen are allowed under the cottage food registration. This includes baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, granola, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and other shelf-stable foods. A separate Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title 4, Chapter 5A) provides an alternative pathway with fewer registration requirements but more sales restrictions.). Tooele County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Tooele County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Tooele County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Utah disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Utah label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Utah (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Utah county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Utah county rules quiz

Tooele County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Utah statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Tooele County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Tooele County cottage food rules with Utah agencies?

Tooele County is a county in Utah (pop. 74,032). Under Utah's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Tooele County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Tooele County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Utah Cottage Food Registration (§4-5-501, renumbered from §4-5-9.5 in 2023 code reorganization) allows all non-TCS foods with no sales cap. Local health departments have no jurisdiction over compliant operations. A separate Food Freedom pathway (Title 4, Chapter 5A) is more limited but requires less registration. No Tooele County-specific overrides found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Tooele County?
State law applies

Tier: Freedom

Utah has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.

Utah cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Tooele County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Tooele County

State baseline: Utah Code §4-5-501

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
All non-potentially hazardous (non-TCS) foods under the Cottage Food Registration. A separate Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title 4, Chapter 5A) provides an alternative pathway with fewer registration requirements but more sales restrictions. UDAF explicitly prohibits requiring commercial kitchen equipment.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state statute.
Water supply
Potable water required.
Handwashing
Food handler certification required (food handler's permit required for UDAF registration).
Food storage
Non-potentially hazardous shelf-stable products must be stored appropriately.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection. UDAF may investigate upon complaint. Local health departments have no jurisdiction over compliant registered operations.
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
UDAF registration required. UDAF explicitly prohibits local health departments from regulating compliant cottage food operations. Tooele County may have local zoning home occupation requirements, but not food safety requirements. No Tooele County-specific cottage food ordinance found.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Broad sales rights under the Cottage Food Registration: direct and indirect sales, online, farmers markets, home. Alternative Home Consumption pathway restricted to direct-to-sale farmers markets or direct-to-sale locations.
Max employees in home
Not specified.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Utah Code §4-5-501. No Tooele County-specific code section found.
Local notes

Utah Cottage Food Registration (§4-5-501, renumbered from §4-5-9.5 in 2023 code reorganization) allows all non-TCS foods with no sales cap. Local health departments have no jurisdiction over compliant operations. A separate Food Freedom pathway (Title 4, Chapter 5A) is more limited but requires less registration. No Tooele County-specific overrides found.

What does the Utah cottage food statute say?
Utah statute (state law)

Utah Code, Title 4 – Utah Agricultural Code, Chapter 5 – Utah Wholesome Food Act, Part 5 – Special Programs, Section 4-5-501 (Cottage Food Operations)

Citation: Utah Code §4-5-501
Verbatim excerpt

4-5-501. Cottage food operations. (1) For purposes of this chapter: (a) "Cottage food operation" means a person who produces a cottage food product in a home kitchen. (b) "Cottage food product" means a nonpotentially hazardous baked good, jam, jelly, or other nonpotentially hazardous food produced in a home kitchen. (c) "Home kitchen" means a kitchen: (i) designed and intended for use by the residents of a home; and (ii) used by a resident of the home for the production of a cottage food product. (d) "Potentially hazardous food" means: (i) a food of animal origin; (ii) raw seed sprouts; or (iii) a food that requires time or temperature control, or both, for safety to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation, as identified by the department in rule. (3) Rules adopted pursuant to Subsection (2) may not require: (a) the use of a commercial surface such as a stainless steel counter or cabinet; (b) the use of a commercial grade: (i) sink; (ii) dishwasher; or (iii) oven; (c) a separate kitchen for the cottage food operation; or (d) the submission of plans and specifications before construction of, or remodel of, a cottage food production operation. (4) The operator of a cottage food operation shall: (a) register with the department as a cottage food operation before operating as a cottage food operation; (b) hold a valid food handler's permit; and (c) package a cottage food product with a label, as specified by the department in rule.

Source: law.justia.com/codes/utah/title-4/chapter-5/part-5/section-501/ →
Full Utah License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Tooele County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Tooele County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Tooele County, Utah?

State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Tooele County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Tooele County?

State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Tooele County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Tooele County. Ask Tooele County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Utah?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Tooele County?

Apply via Tooele County environmental health (ag.utah.gov). Official link: https://ag.utah.gov/regulatory-services/home-consumption-and-homemade-food-act/. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.

What foods can I sell under Utah cottage food law in Tooele County?

All non-potentially hazardous foods (non-TCS) produced in a home kitchen are allowed under the cottage food registration. This includes baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, granola, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and other shelf-stable foods. A separate Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title 4, Chapter 5A) provides an alternative pathway with fewer registration requirements but more sales restrictions. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Utah, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Tooele County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection. UDAF may investigate upon complaint. Local health departments have no jurisdiction over compliant registered operations.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Tooele County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Utah report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Tooele County cottage food reports

What permits in Tooele County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Tooele County county cottage food report
Tooele County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Tooele County.

Download county report
Cover of Utah cottage food law PDF report
Utah state report

Full Utah License & Permit Guide (98 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Tooele County.

Utah law page

Free email alerts

Tooele County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Tooele County, with Utah statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Tooele County page based on?
Quick comparison

Tooele County vs. bordering counties

RegulationTooele County
This county
Box Elder CountyJuab County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state statute.No specific pet restriction; UDAF explicitly prohibits requiring commercial kitchen equipment.No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupBroad sales rights under the Cottage Food Registration: direct and indirect sales, online, farmers markets, home. Alternative Home Consumpt…Direct and indirect sales permitted. Farmers markets, home pickup, retail stores, online, and delivery all allowed under UDAF registration.Direct sales at home, farmers markets, events, and online sales permitted. Indirect/wholesale sales also allowed under UDAF registration. N…
Home occupation permitVariesVariesYes
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsAll non-potentially hazardous (non-TCS) foods under the Cottage Food Registration. A separate Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title…Utah cottage food registration (Utah Code §4-5-501) requires UDAF registration and a food handler's permit. No kitchen inspection. No sales…Utah Code §4-5-501 (formerly §4-5-9.5) establishes the Cottage Food Registration program administered by UDAF. A food handler's permit and …
Food storageNon-potentially hazardous shelf-stable products must be stored appropriately.Non-potentially hazardous (non-TCS) foods only.Non-potentially hazardous (non-TCS), shelf-stable foods only.
Population74,03258,29111,943
What other Utah counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Utah counties

Utah
Pop. 1.18M
Utah
Pop. 666K
Utah
Pop. 363K
Utah
Pop. 263K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Tooele County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Utah's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Tooele County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Tooele County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Tooele County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Tooele County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Tooele County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Tooele County, Utah?
Yes — Utah allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. State permit required. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food and the Tooele County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Tooele County?
Your Tooele County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Tooele County at a glance?
Official filing

File with Tooele County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.

Apply via Tooele County environmental health(ag.utah.gov)
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Tooele County? State vs county rules and pets
Utah rule (statewide)Tooele County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Tooele County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Tooele County

    • Check with Tooele County business license office
    • Check with Tooele County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Utah Department of Agriculture and Food — Cottage Food Pr…

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Utah

    • Selling to stores: check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food

    Tooele County

    • Check with Tooele County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Utah

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food

    Tooele County

    • Check with Tooele County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Utah · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.

    Utah · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.