crosodo
County · Seat: Farmington · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Davis County, UT

Inside the permit report

What's in the Davis County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Davis County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Davis County
Table of contents
Your Davis County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Davis County?

All products in Utah →
More Davis County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Davis County?
Start here

How to start in Davis County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Utah cottage food rules in Davis County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Utah cottage food rules control what you may make at home (All non-potentially hazardous foods (non-TCS) produced in a home kitchen are allowed under the cottage food registration. This includes baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, granola, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and other shelf-stable foods. A separate Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title 4, Chapter 5A) provides an alternative pathway with fewer registration requirements but more sales restrictions.). Davis County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Davis County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Davis County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Utah disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Utah label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Utah (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Utah county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Utah county rules quiz

Davis County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Utah statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Davis County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Davis County cottage food rules with Utah agencies?

Davis County is a county in Utah (pop. 363,032). Under Utah's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Davis County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Davis County: home kitchen restricted; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Utah cottage food law (Utah Code §4-5-501) confirmed from state baseline. 'Freedom' tier state: no sales cap, broad food allowance, UDAF prohibits local health departments from restricting compliant registered operations. Davis County (Farmington/Bountiful/Layton area, north of Salt Lake City) follows state baseline. Food handler's permit required for registration. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Davis County?
State law applies

Tier: Freedom

Utah has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.

Utah cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Davis County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Davis County

State baseline: Utah Code §4-5-501

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Conditional
Restrictions
Utah cottage food law (Utah Code §4-5-501) requires UDAF registration and food handler's permit for Cottage Food Registration pathway. All non-TCS (non-potentially-hazardous) foods from home kitchen are allowed. No sales cap. Direct and indirect sales allowed. Separate Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title 4, Chapter 5A) provides alternative pathway with fewer registration requirements but limited to farmers markets and direct-to-sale locations. Potentially hazardous foods (animal origin, raw seed sprouts, TCS foods) prohibited under cottage food framework.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
UDAF explicitly prohibits requiring commercial kitchen equipment; no specific pet restriction in statute.
Water supply
No specific state requirement.
Handwashing
Food handler's permit required; handwashing per food safety standards.
Food storage
Non-TCS, non-PHF foods only.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection required. UDAF prohibits local health departments from jurisdiction over compliant registered operations.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Davis County municipalities (Farmington, Bountiful, Layton, Clearfield, etc.) have their own zoning ordinances. Operators should verify with local city/county planning whether home occupation permit required. UDAF prohibits local health departments from requiring commercial kitchen equipment or otherwise restricting compliant registered operations. Local zoning compliance still required.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct and indirect sales allowed. Farmers markets, online, retail, and delivery all permitted under Cottage Food Registration. Alternative pathway (Title 4, Chapter 5A) limited to direct-to-sale locations.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state cottage food statute; local zoning rules vary.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Utah Code §4-5-501 (Cottage Food Registration); Title 4, Chapter 5A (Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act); local Davis County municipal zoning codes.
Local notes

Utah cottage food law (Utah Code §4-5-501) confirmed from state baseline. 'Freedom' tier state: no sales cap, broad food allowance, UDAF prohibits local health departments from restricting compliant registered operations. Davis County (Farmington/Bountiful/Layton area, north of Salt Lake City) follows state baseline. Food handler's permit required for registration.

What does the Utah cottage food statute say?
Utah statute (state law)

Utah Code, Title 4 – Utah Agricultural Code, Chapter 5 – Utah Wholesome Food Act, Part 5 – Special Programs, Section 4-5-501 (Cottage Food Operations)

Citation: Utah Code §4-5-501
Verbatim excerpt

4-5-501. Cottage food operations. (1) For purposes of this chapter: (a) "Cottage food operation" means a person who produces a cottage food product in a home kitchen. (b) "Cottage food product" means a nonpotentially hazardous baked good, jam, jelly, or other nonpotentially hazardous food produced in a home kitchen. (c) "Home kitchen" means a kitchen: (i) designed and intended for use by the residents of a home; and (ii) used by a resident of the home for the production of a cottage food product. (d) "Potentially hazardous food" means: (i) a food of animal origin; (ii) raw seed sprouts; or (iii) a food that requires time or temperature control, or both, for safety to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation, as identified by the department in rule. (3) Rules adopted pursuant to Subsection (2) may not require: (a) the use of a commercial surface such as a stainless steel counter or cabinet; (b) the use of a commercial grade: (i) sink; (ii) dishwasher; or (iii) oven; (c) a separate kitchen for the cottage food operation; or (d) the submission of plans and specifications before construction of, or remodel of, a cottage food production operation. (4) The operator of a cottage food operation shall: (a) register with the department as a cottage food operation before operating as a cottage food operation; (b) hold a valid food handler's permit; and (c) package a cottage food product with a label, as specified by the department in rule.

Source: law.justia.com/codes/utah/title-4/chapter-5/part-5/section-501/ →
Full Utah License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Davis County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Davis County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Davis County, Utah?

State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Conditional. Confirm with Davis County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Davis County?

State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Davis County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Davis County. Ask Davis County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Utah?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Davis County?

Apply via Davis County environmental health (ag.utah.gov). Official link: https://ag.utah.gov/regulatory-services/home-consumption-and-homemade-food-act/. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.

What foods can I sell under Utah cottage food law in Davis County?

All non-potentially hazardous foods (non-TCS) produced in a home kitchen are allowed under the cottage food registration. This includes baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, granola, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and other shelf-stable foods. A separate Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title 4, Chapter 5A) provides an alternative pathway with fewer registration requirements but more sales restrictions. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Utah, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Davis County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection required. UDAF prohibits local health departments from jurisdiction over compliant registered operations.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Davis County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Utah report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Davis County cottage food reports

What permits in Davis County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Davis County county cottage food report
Davis County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Davis County.

Download county report
Cover of Utah cottage food law PDF report
Utah state report

Full Utah License & Permit Guide (98 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Davis County.

Utah law page

Free email alerts

Davis County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Davis County, with Utah statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Davis County page based on?
Quick comparison

Davis County vs. bordering counties

RegulationDavis County
This county
Weber CountyTooele County
Home kitchen allowedConditionalYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedUDAF explicitly prohibits requiring commercial kitchen equipment; no specific pet restriction in statute.Not specified in state statute; kitchen must be sanitaryNot specified in state statute.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect and indirect sales allowed. Farmers markets, online, retail, and delivery all permitted under Cottage Food Registration. Alternative…Both direct and indirect sales allowed under UDAF registration. Online sales, delivery, retail sales all permitted. Home Consumption Act pa…Broad sales rights under the Cottage Food Registration: direct and indirect sales, online, farmers markets, home. Alternative Home Consumpt…
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsUtah cottage food law (Utah Code §4-5-501) requires UDAF registration and food handler's permit for Cottage Food Registration pathway. All …Cottage Food Registration with UDAF required; food handler's permit required. No sales cap. All non-TCS foods allowed. Separate Home Consum…All non-potentially hazardous (non-TCS) foods under the Cottage Food Registration. A separate Home Consumption and Homemade Food Act (Title…
Food storageNon-TCS, non-PHF foods only.Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; no refrigerated finished productsNon-potentially hazardous shelf-stable products must be stored appropriately.
Population363,032262,96074,032
What other Utah counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Utah counties

Utah
Pop. 1.18M
Utah
Pop. 666K
Utah
Pop. 263K
Utah
Pop. 183K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Davis County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Utah's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Davis County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Davis County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Davis County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Davis County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Davis County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Davis County, Utah?
Yes — Utah allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. State permit required. Locally: no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food and the Davis County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Davis County?
Your Davis County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Davis County at a glance?
Official filing

File with Davis County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.

Apply via Davis County environmental health(ag.utah.gov)
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Davis County? State vs county rules and pets
Utah rule (statewide)Davis County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Davis County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Davis County

    • Check with Davis County business license office
    • Check with Davis County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Utah Department of Agriculture and Food — Cottage Food Pr…

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Utah

    • Selling to stores: check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food

    Davis County

    • Check with Davis County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Utah

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food

    Davis County

    • Check with Davis County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Utah · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.

    Utah · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.