crosodo
County · Seat: Vero Beach · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Indian River County, FL

Inside the permit report

What's in the Indian River County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Indian River County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Indian River County
Table of contents
Your Indian River County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Indian River County?

All products in Florida →
More Indian River County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Indian River County?
Start here

How to start in Indian River County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Florida cottage food rules in Indian River County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Florida cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Florida uses a broad non-TCS standard — any food that does not require time/temperature control for safety is allowed. Common examples include baked goods, candies, jams, jellies, dried goods, roasted nuts, and similar shelf-stable items.). Indian River County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $250,000. On-site / porch pickup in Indian River County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Indian River County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Florida disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Florida label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made in a cottage food operation that is not subject to Florida's food safety regulations”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Florida county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Florida county rules quiz

Indian River County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Florida statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Indian River County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Indian River County cottage food rules with Florida agencies?

Indian River County is a county in Florida (pop. 160,986). Under Florida's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 250000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Indian River County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Indian River County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Pattern county. State baseline governs. Florida has strong preemption of local restrictions on cottage food. No Indian River County-specific cottage food code identified. $250,000 annual cap applies. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Indian River County?
State law applies

Tier: Great

Florida's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Florida cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Indian River County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Indian River County

State baseline: Fla. Stat. §500.80

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Florida allows cottage food from home kitchens with no registration, permit, or inspection required before operations. No food handler certification required. Strong state preemption — local governments cannot restrict cottage food operations (§500.80(6)). Annual sales cap of $250,000. Online sales and mail-order delivery expressly permitted.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No state restriction on pets in home for cottage food operations.
Water supply
No specific requirement under Florida cottage food law.
Handwashing
Good manufacturing practices apply.
Food storage
Non-TCS foods only; proper storage required.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
Inspections may only occur upon receipt of a consumer complaint (§500.80(7)).
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
While state law preempts local health restrictions, Indian River County may require compliance with home-based business rules under Florida §559.955. A local business tax receipt may be required.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct sales, online sales, mail-order delivery all expressly permitted. No geographic restriction within Florida. No wholesale to food establishments.
Max employees in home
Not specified by state cottage food law.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Indian River County Code (home occupation/business zoning); Fla. Stat. §500.80
Local notes

Pattern county. State baseline governs. Florida has strong preemption of local restrictions on cottage food. No Indian River County-specific cottage food code identified. $250,000 annual cap applies.

What does the Florida cottage food statute say?
Florida statute (state law)

Florida Statutes §500.80 (Cottage food operations), Title XXXIII, Chapter 500 (Food Products)

Citation: Fla. Stat. §500.80
Verbatim excerpt

500.80 Cottage food operations.— (1)(a) A cottage food operation must comply with the applicable requirements of this chapter but is exempt from the permitting requirements of s. 500.12 if the cottage food operation complies with this section and has annual gross sales of cottage food products that do not exceed $250,000. (b) For purposes of this subsection, a cottage food operation's annual gross sales include all sales of cottage food products at any location, regardless of the types of products sold or the number of persons involved in the operation. A cottage food operation must provide the department, upon request, with written documentation to verify the operation's annual gross sales. (2) A cottage food operation may sell, offer for sale, and accept payment for cottage food products over the Internet or by mail order. Such products may be delivered in person directly to the consumer, to a specific event venue, or by United States Postal Service or commercial mail delivery service. A cottage food operation may not sell, offer for sale, or deliver cottage food products at wholesale. (6) The regulation of cottage food operations is preempted to the state. A local law, ordinance, or regulation may not prohibit a cottage food operation or regulate the preparation, processing, storage, or sale of cottage food products by a cottage food operation; however, a cottage food operation must comply with the conditions for the operation of a home-based business under s. 559.955.

Source: leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0500/Sections/0500.80.html →
Full Florida License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Indian River County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Indian River County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Indian River County, Florida?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Indian River County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Indian River County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Indian River County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Indian River County. Ask Indian River County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Florida?

$250,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Indian River County?

Apply through Indian River County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Indian River County, Florida — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Florida cottage food law in Indian River County?

Florida uses a broad non-TCS standard — any food that does not require time/temperature control for safety is allowed. Common examples include baked goods, candies, jams, jellies, dried goods, roasted nuts, and similar shelf-stable items. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Florida, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Indian River County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Inspections may only occur upon receipt of a consumer complaint (§500.80(7)).. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Indian River County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Florida report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Indian River County cottage food reports

What permits in Indian River County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Indian River County county cottage food report
Indian River County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Indian River County.

Download county report
Cover of Florida cottage food law PDF report
Florida state report

Full Florida License & Permit Guide (199 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Indian River County.

Florida law page

Free email alerts

Indian River County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Indian River County, with Florida statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Indian River County page based on?
Quick comparison

Indian River County vs. bordering counties

RegulationIndian River County
This county
Okeechobee CountySt. Lucie County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo state restriction on pets in home for cottage food operations.Not specified in state law; products must not be contaminatedNo specific state restriction; general sanitation applies
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect sales, online sales, mail-order delivery all expressly permitted. No geographic restriction within Florida. No wholesale to food est…Sales allowed from residence, online, by mail-order, at farmers markets, flea markets, and roadside stands. Mail delivery explicitly permit…Direct sales at home, farmers markets, events; limited indirect sales to retailers allowed; online permitted
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsFlorida allows cottage food from home kitchens with no registration, permit, or inspection required before operations. No food handler cert…Must be produced in operator's home kitchen only; no garages, sheds, barns, or outbuildings. Motor home kitchens are not permitted. Product…Non-TCS foods only; labeling required; $250,000 annual cap; no state license or inspection
Food storageNon-TCS foods only; proper storage required.Ingredients and finished products must be stored in the single-family domestic residence; no garage/shed/barn storageSanitary storage of non-TCS foods
Population160,98639,870334,682
What other Florida counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Florida counties

Florida
Pop. 2.69M
Florida
Pop. 1.94M
Florida
Pop. 1.49M
Florida
Pop. 1.47M
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Indian River County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Florida's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Indian River County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Indian River County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Indian River County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Indian River County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Indian River County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Indian River County, Florida?
Yes — Florida allows cottage food sales. $250,000 annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and the Indian River County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Indian River County?
Your Indian River County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Indian River County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Indian River County? State vs county rules and pets
Florida rule (statewide)Indian River County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Indian River County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Indian River County

    • Check with Indian River County business license office
    • Check with Indian River County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services — C…

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Florida

    • Selling to stores: check with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

    Indian River County

    • Check with Indian River County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Florida

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

    Indian River County

    • Check with Indian River County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Florida · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

    Florida · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.