crosodo
County · Seat: Noblesville · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Hamilton County, IN

Inside the permit report

What's in the Hamilton County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Hamilton County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Hamilton County
Table of contents
Your Hamilton County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Hamilton County?

All products in Indiana →
More Hamilton County resources
What's new for Indiana cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Hamilton County?
Start here

How to start in Hamilton County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Indiana cottage food rules in Hamilton County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Indiana cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Home-based vendors may sell most nonperishable (non-potentially hazardous) foods, including baked goods, candies, jams and jellies, fermented products (not oxygen-sealed), nut butters, syrups, dried goods, coffee, tea, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs, traditional pickles not stored in oxygen-sealed containers, and whole chickens or rabbits raised by the vendor (with restrictions) are also allowed.). Hamilton County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Hamilton County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Hamilton County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Indiana disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Indiana label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced and processed, and the production area has not been inspected by the State Department of Health. NOT FOR RESALE.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Indiana county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Indiana county rules quiz

Hamilton County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Indiana statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Hamilton County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Hamilton County cottage food rules with Indiana agencies?

Hamilton County is a county in Indiana (pop. 349,527). Under Indiana's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Indiana State Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Hamilton County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Hamilton County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Hamilton County Health Dept has a dedicated HBV page confirming state rules apply. County is one of fastest-growing in Indiana; multiple incorporated cities each with own zoning. No county-specific cottage food overlay beyond state rules found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Hamilton County?
State law applies

Tier: Great

Indiana's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Indiana cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Hamilton County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Hamilton County

State baseline: Ind. Code §16-42-5.2 (HBV); food handler certificate required (ANAB-accredited); no license; direct sales only; no annual sales cap

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Food prepared at producer's primary residence only; non-TCS foods only; ANAB-accredited food handler certificate required; label must state product not for resale and not inspected
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Good sanitation practices required; no specific state pet rule but kitchen cleanliness standards apply
Water supply
Potable water at residence
Handwashing
Standard handwashing required
Food storage
Stored in sanitary conditions at residence
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
IDOH may investigate complaints of unsafe food or foodborne illness; no routine inspections
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
Hamilton County Health Dept page (hamiltoncounty.in.gov/268/Home-Based-Vendors) addresses HBV state rules. Local municipalities (Noblesville, Carmel, Fishers, Westfield) may require home occupation permits under their zoning ordinances; operator should verify with local city planning
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
In-person, telephone, internet sales allowed; delivery in-person, by mail, or third-party carrier within Indiana only; not for resale
Max employees in home
Not specified at state level
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Not identified
Local notes

Hamilton County Health Dept has a dedicated HBV page confirming state rules apply. County is one of fastest-growing in Indiana; multiple incorporated cities each with own zoning. No county-specific cottage food overlay beyond state rules found.

What does the Indiana cottage food statute say?
Indiana statute (state law)

Indiana Code Title 16, Article 42, Chapter 5.3 — Home Based Food Products (enacted as HEA 1149, 2022; prior law under Chapter 5.2) Additional homestead vendor / small farm vendor path added by HEA 1424 / Public Law 163 (2026).

Citation: Ind. Code §16-42-5.2
Verbatim excerpt

SECTION 4. IC 16-42-5.3 IS ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE AS A NEW CHAPTER Chapter 5.3. Home Based Food Products Sec. 1. (a) As used in this chapter, "end consumer" [means a] person who is the last person to purchase any food product and who does not resell the food product. Sec. 2. A person may prepare and sell food products as a home based vendor if the person complies with the requirements of this chapter. Sec. 3. The production and sale of food products by a home based vendor in accordance with this chapter are exempt from the requirements of this title that apply to food establishments. Sec. 4. A home based vendor shall prepare and sell only a food product that is [a non-potentially hazardous food]. Sec. 5. (a) A home based vendor shall include a label for packaged food or a sign for unpackaged food that contains the following information: [business name, address, product name, date produced, ingredients, net weight, and statement that product is home produced and not inspected by state department of health]. Sec. 6. (a) A home based vendor may not ship or deliver a food product to an end consumer who is located outside Indiana. Sec. 7. (a) A home based vendor shall obtain a food handler certificate from a certificate issuer that is accredited by the [American National Standards Institute]. Sec. 8. (a) A home based vendor is subject to food sampling and inspection if [there is a complaint or reason to believe a violation exists].

Source: in.gov/localhealth/unioncounty/files/2022-10-05-House-Enrolled-Act-1149-Home-Based-Vendors.pdf →
Full Indiana License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Hamilton County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Hamilton County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Hamilton County, Indiana?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Hamilton County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Hamilton County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Hamilton County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Hamilton County. Ask Hamilton County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Indiana?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Hamilton County?

Apply through Hamilton County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Hamilton County, Indiana — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Indiana cottage food law in Hamilton County?

Home-based vendors may sell most nonperishable (non-potentially hazardous) foods, including baked goods, candies, jams and jellies, fermented products (not oxygen-sealed), nut butters, syrups, dried goods, coffee, tea, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs, traditional pickles not stored in oxygen-sealed containers, and whole chickens or rabbits raised by the vendor (with restrictions) are also allowed. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Indiana, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Hamilton County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: IDOH may investigate complaints of unsafe food or foodborne illness; no routine inspections. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Hamilton County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Indiana report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Hamilton County cottage food reports

What permits in Hamilton County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Hamilton County county cottage food report
Hamilton County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Hamilton County.

Download county report
Cover of Indiana cottage food law PDF report
Indiana state report

Full Indiana License & Permit Guide (262 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Hamilton County.

Indiana law page

Free email alerts

Hamilton County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Hamilton County, with Indiana statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Hamilton County page based on?
Quick comparison

Hamilton County vs. bordering counties

RegulationHamilton County
This county
Madison CountyHancock County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedGood sanitation practices required; no specific state pet rule but kitchen cleanliness standards applyNot explicitly prohibited; kitchen sanitation required.Not specified in state statute; good hygienic practices required.
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupIn-person, telephone, internet sales allowed; delivery in-person, by mail, or third-party carrier within Indiana only; not for resaleSales permitted from home, farmers markets, roadside stands, online, and other venues per 2022 expanded state law.Products may be sold in-person, online, shipped within Indiana, and delivered to the end consumer. No sales to warehouses, retail food esta…
Home occupation permitVariesVariesConditional
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsFood prepared at producer's primary residence only; non-TCS foods only; ANAB-accredited food handler certificate required; label must state…Non-potentially hazardous foods produced at the individual's primary residence. Food handler certificate (ANSI-accredited) must be provided…Must prepare food in the individual's primary residential home kitchen. Only non-TCS (non-time/temperature control for safety) foods allowe…
Food storageStored in sanitary conditions at residenceNon-potentially hazardous foods only. Stored in food-safe containers.Must use proper sanitary procedures; containers and packaging must be sanitized.
Population349,527130,54580,170
What other Indiana counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Indiana counties

Indiana
Pop. 972K
Indiana
Pop. 498K
Indiana
Pop. 385K
Indiana
Pop. 272K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Hamilton County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Indiana's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Hamilton County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Hamilton County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Hamilton County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Hamilton County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Hamilton County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Hamilton County, Indiana?
Yes — Indiana allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Indiana State Department of Health and the Hamilton County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Hamilton County?
Your Hamilton County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Hamilton County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Hamilton County? State vs county rules and pets
Indiana rule (statewide)Hamilton County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Hamilton County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Hamilton County

    • Check with Hamilton County business license office
    • Check with Hamilton County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Indiana Department of Health — Home Based Vendors FAQ

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Indiana

    • Selling to stores: check with Indiana State Department of Health

    Hamilton County

    • Check with Hamilton County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Indiana

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Indiana State Department of Health

    Hamilton County

    • Check with Hamilton County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Indiana · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Indiana State Department of Health.

    Indiana · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Indiana State Department of Health.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.