Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Indiana Report Guide · 262 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Crown Point · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Lake County, IN

Can I sell cottage food from home in Lake County, Indiana?
Yes — Indiana allows cottage food sales under a Great-tier law (cap: None). Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Indiana State Department of Health and the Lake County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Lake County Permits 101 for Lake County, Indiana (72 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Lake County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Lake County?

Indiana cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Lake County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Lake County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Lake County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Lake County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Indiana cottage food rules in Lake County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Indiana cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Home-based vendors may sell most nonperishable (non-potentially hazardous) foods, including baked goods, candies, jams and jellies, fermented products (not oxygen-sealed), nut butters, syrups, dried goods, coffee, tea, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs, traditional pickles not stored in oxygen-sealed containers, and whole chickens or rabbits raised by the vendor (with restrictions) are also allowed.). Lake County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Lake County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Lake County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Indiana disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Indiana label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced and processed, and the production area has not been inspected by the State Department of Health. NOT FOR RESALE.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Lake County is a county in Indiana (pop. 497,682). Under Indiana's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Indiana State Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Lake County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Lake County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Indiana is a Great-tier state. 2022 HEA 1149 (Ind. State preempts local licensing/inspection requirements but not general home occupation zoning. Food handler certificate required. No sales cap. Lake County is in northwest Indiana (Chicago metro area). Local municipality home occupation zoning requirements not confirmed from direct source. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Lake County cottage food reports

What permits in Lake County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Lake County county cottage food report
Lake County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Lake County.

Download county report
Cover of Indiana cottage food law PDF report
Indiana state report

Full Indiana License & Permit Guide (262 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Great

Indiana's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Indiana cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Lake County

State baseline: Ind. Code §16-42-5.2

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Non-potentially hazardous (non-PHF) foods only. No registration required. Food handler certificate (ANSI-accredited) required and must be provided to local health department. Direct sales only within Indiana. Perishable baked goods, acidified foods, low-acid canned foods, and meat jerkies are prohibited.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific state cottage food pet restriction
Water supply
No specific water testing requirement in state cottage food law
Handwashing
Implied by food handler certification requirement
Food storage
Standard home kitchen storage for approved non-PHF foods
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
No pre-operational inspection; Indiana state law (2022 HEA 1149) preempts local governments from adding licensing or inspection requirements
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Indiana 2022 HEA 1149 preempts local governments from imposing licensing or inspection requirements beyond state law for home-based vendor operations. However, general zoning/home occupation permits may still apply. Lake County and its cities (Gary, Hammond, Merrillville, Crown Point, etc.) may have home occupation zoning provisions. Operators should check with local municipality for any zoning-related home occupation permit requirements.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct sales to consumers only within Indiana: home, farmers markets, events, online. No annual sales cap. No wholesale to stores or restaurants.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state cottage food law
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Ind. Code §16-42-5.3 (HEA 1149, 2022 — operative provision; §16-42-5.2 is prior law). Local: Lake County/city zoning codes.
Local notes

Indiana is a Great-tier state. 2022 HEA 1149 (Ind. State preempts local licensing/inspection requirements but not general home occupation zoning. Food handler certificate required. No sales cap. Lake County is in northwest Indiana (Chicago metro area). Local municipality home occupation zoning requirements not confirmed from direct source.

Indiana statute (state law)

Indiana Code Title 16, Article 42, Chapter 5.3 — Home Based Food Products (enacted as HEA 1149, 2022; prior law under Chapter 5.2)

Citation: Ind. Code §16-42-5.2
Verbatim excerpt

SECTION 4. IC 16-42-5.3 IS ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE AS A NEW CHAPTER Chapter 5.3. Home Based Food Products Sec. 1. (a) As used in this chapter, "end consumer" [means a] person who is the last person to purchase any food product and who does not resell the food product. Sec. 2. A person may prepare and sell food products as a home based vendor if the person complies with the requirements of this chapter. Sec. 3. The production and sale of food products by a home based vendor in accordance with this chapter are exempt from the requirements of this title that apply to food establishments. Sec. 4. A home based vendor shall prepare and sell only a food product that is [a non-potentially hazardous food]. Sec. 5. (a) A home based vendor shall include a label for packaged food or a sign for unpackaged food that contains the following information: [business name, address, product name, date produced, ingredients, net weight, and statement that product is home produced and not inspected by state department of health]. Sec. 6. (a) A home based vendor may not ship or deliver a food product to an end consumer who is located outside Indiana. Sec. 7. (a) A home based vendor shall obtain a food handler certificate from a certificate issuer that is accredited by the [American National Standards Institute]. Sec. 8. (a) A home based vendor is subject to food sampling and inspection if [there is a complaint or reason to believe a violation exists].

Source: in.gov/localhealth/unioncounty/files/2022-10-05-House-Enrolled-Act-1149-Home-Based-Vendors.pdf
Full Indiana License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Lake County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Lake County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (72 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Lake County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Lake County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Lake County, Indiana?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. Indiana 2022 HEA 1149 preempts local governments from imposing licensing or inspection requirements beyond state law for home-based vendor operations. However, general zoning/home occupation permits may still apply. Lake County and its cities (Gary, Hammond, Merrillville, Crown Point, etc.) may have home occupation zoning provisions. Operators should check with local municipality for any zoning-related home occupation permit requirements. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Indiana guide at https://crosodo.com/states/indiana.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Lake County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: No pre-operational inspection; Indiana state law (2022 HEA 1149) preempts local governments from adding licensing or inspection requirements. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Indiana cottage food law in Lake County?

Home-based vendors may sell most nonperishable (non-potentially hazardous) foods, including baked goods, candies, jams and jellies, fermented products (not oxygen-sealed), nut butters, syrups, dried goods, coffee, tea, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs, traditional pickles not stored in oxygen-sealed containers, and whole chickens or rabbits raised by the vendor (with restrictions) are also allowed. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Indiana, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Indiana?

Indiana state law lists cottage food sales at None. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Lake County?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. Indiana 2022 HEA 1149 preempts local governments from imposing licensing or inspection requirements beyond state law for home-based vendor operations. However, general zoning/home occupation permits may still apply. Lake County and its cities (Gary, Hammond, Merrillville, Crown Point, etc.) may have home occupation zoning provisions. Operators should check with local municipality for any zoning-related home occupation permit requirements.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Indiana License & Permit Guide (262 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Indiana License & Permit Guide (262 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Lake County vs. bordering counties

RegulationLake County
This county
Porter CountyJasper County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific state cottage food pet restrictionNo explicit state restriction; good manufacturing practices apply.Not specified in state statute; proper sanitary procedures and good hygienic practices required.
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect sales to consumers only within Indiana: home, farmers markets, events, online. No annual sales cap. No wholesale to stores or restau…Direct sales from home, farmers markets, online with in-state delivery. No sales cap.Products may be sold in-person, by telephone, or via the internet, and delivered to the end consumer in person, by mail, or by third-party …
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalConditional
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsNon-potentially hazardous (non-PHF) foods only. No registration required. Food handler certificate (ANSI-accredited) required and must be p…Non-potentially hazardous foods only. Direct sales only; no wholesale or interstate sales. Food handler certification (ANSI-accredited) req…Must prepare food in the individual's primary residential home kitchen (or permanent structure on the same property). Only non-TCS (non-tim…
Food storageStandard home kitchen storage for approved non-PHF foodsShelf-stable storage for non-PHF products.Must use proper sanitary procedures; containers and packaging must be sanitized before use.
Population497,682173,35533,478
Crosodo Forum

Lake County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Lake County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Indiana counties

Indiana
Pop. 972K
Indiana
Pop. 385K
Indiana
Pop. 350K
Indiana
Pop. 272K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Lake County, Indiana

Reach home bakers in Lake County, Indiana. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Indiana's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Lake County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.