crosodo
County · Seat: Bel Air · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Harford County, MD

Inside the permit report

What's in the Harford County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Harford County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Harford County
Table of contents
Your Harford County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Harford County?

All products in Maryland →
More Harford County resources
What's new for Maryland cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Harford County?
Start here

How to start in Harford County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Maryland cottage food rules in Harford County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Maryland cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially hazardous foods prepared in a residential kitchen, including non-PHF baked goods (breads, cookies, cakes, pies without perishable fillings), non-PHF candy (hard candies, brittles), acid-fruit jellies, jams, preserves and butters from enumerated fruits, and all other non-PHF foods produced by a licensed entity. Dry goods (spice blends, coffee, teas) and certain snacks (kettle corn, granola) are also permitted.). Harford County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $100,000. On-site / porch pickup in Harford County: Conditional. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Yes. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Depends. Local inspection in Harford County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Maryland disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Maryland label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to Maryland's food safety regulations.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Maryland county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Maryland county rules quiz

Harford County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Maryland statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Harford County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Harford County cottage food rules with Maryland agencies?

Harford County is a county in Maryland (pop. 261,059). Under Maryland's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 100000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Depends. Start with Maryland Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Harford County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Harford County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit required. Harford County MD follows the Maryland state baseline (COMAR 10.15.03.27). $50,000 cap. No Harford County Health Department cottage food page found in search. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Harford County?
State law applies

Tier: Good

Maryland has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Maryland cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Harford County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Harford County

State baseline: MD COMAR 10.15.03.27

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Non-potentially hazardous foods only; $50,000 annual sales cap (COMAR 10.15.03.02B(17-1)). Optional free MDH ID number (required only if selling through retail stores). Home occupation permit required under Harford County zoning. Maryland is Dillon's Rule — specific zoning authority required for home businesses.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified at county level; state rules require sanitary production environment
Water supply
Public water or private well; private well water testing required
Handwashing
Adequate handwashing facilities per state standards
Food storage
Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only; extensive prohibited list including pickles, salsas, acidified foods, dairy, meat
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
Complaint or foodborne illness investigation
Home occupation permit
Yes
Permit details
Harford County Zoning Ordinance requires home occupation permit for residential-zone businesses. Business must be secondary to residential use. Bel Air has its own municipal zoning. Maryland Dillon's Rule means specific authority needed for home business regulation.
Local business license
Yes
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Conditional
On-site signage
No
Delivery / pickup
Direct and some indirect sales (retail) allowed; retail store sales require food handler certification and MDH ID number. No wholesale via brokers. Maryland only.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state rules; home occupation may limit non-resident employees
Zoning code
Relevant code section
MD COMAR 10.15.03.27; Harford County Zoning Ordinance (home occupation)
Local notes

Harford County MD follows the Maryland state baseline (COMAR 10.15.03.27). $50,000 cap. No Harford County Health Department cottage food page found in search.

What does the Maryland cottage food statute say?
Maryland statute (state law)

Code of Maryland Regulations 10.15.03.27 - Farmer's Market, Bake Sales, and Cottage Food Business

Citation: MD COMAR 10.15.03.27
Verbatim excerpt

A. A cottage food business may offer for sale the homemade foods specified in §B of this regulation when the foods are: (1) Made in a private home kitchen; and (2) Offered or sold only in the State: (a) Subject to the requirements of §C(6) and (7) of this regulation, at a retail food store; or (b) Directly to a consumer: (i) At a farmer's market; (ii) At a bake sale; (iii) At a public event; (iv) By personal delivery; or (v) By mail order. B. The Department shall allow the preparation and sale of the following foods in accordance with §A: (1) Non-potentially hazardous hot-filled canned acid fruit jellies, jams, preserves, and butters; (2) Fruit butters made only from apples, apricots, grapes, peaches, plums, prunes, quince, or another fruit or fruit mixture that will produce an acid canned food; (4) Non-potentially hazardous baked goods; (6) Non-potentially hazardous candy. C. (1) The Department shall allow the owner of a cottage food business to sell only cottage food products processed and packaged in Maryland that are: (a) Produced or packaged in a residential kitchen; (b) Stored on the premises of the cottage food business; and (c) Prepackaged with a label that contains: name and address of the cottage food business or name, phone number, and identification number assigned by the Department; name of the product; ingredients in descending order by weight; net weight or volume; allergen information; nutritional information if any claim is made; and printed in 10 point or larger type: "Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to Maryland's food safety regulations." (6) Before the owner of a cottage food business may sell a cottage food product to a retail food store, the owner shall submit to the Department documentation of the owner's successful completion of a food safety course in the past 3 years approved by the Department and the American National Standards Institute.

Source: regs.maryland.gov/us/md/exec/comar/10.15.03.27 →
Full Maryland License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Harford County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Harford County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Harford County, Maryland?

Home occupation permit: Yes. Harford County Zoning Ordinance requires home occupation permit for residential-zone businesses. Business must be secondary to residential use. Bel Air has its own municipal zoning. Maryland Dillon's Rule means specific authority needed for home business regulation. State cottage food registration may also apply.

What cottage food path applies in Harford County?

Maryland cottage food rules are listed on this page. Follow the registration path shown here.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Harford County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Harford County. Ask Harford County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Maryland?

$100,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Harford County?

Apply through Harford County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Harford County, Maryland — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Maryland cottage food law in Harford County?

Non-potentially hazardous foods prepared in a residential kitchen, including non-PHF baked goods (breads, cookies, cakes, pies without perishable fillings), non-PHF candy (hard candies, brittles), acid-fruit jellies, jams, preserves and butters from enumerated fruits, and all other non-PHF foods produced by a licensed entity. Dry goods (spice blends, coffee, teas) and certain snacks (kettle corn, granola) are also permitted. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Maryland, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Harford County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Complaint or foodborne illness investigation. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Harford County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Maryland report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Harford County cottage food reports

What permits in Harford County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Harford County county cottage food report
Harford County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Harford County.

Download county report
Cover of Maryland cottage food law PDF report
Maryland state report

Full Maryland License & Permit Guide (82 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Harford County.

Maryland law page

Free email alerts

Harford County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Harford County, with Maryland statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Harford County page based on?
Quick comparison

Harford County vs. bordering counties

RegulationHarford County
This county
Cecil CountyKent County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified at county level; state rules require sanitary production environmentNo specific state pet restriction for cottage food operations, but standard sanitation applies.Local health department standards apply; typically animals must be excluded from food prep areas.
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupConditionalYesYes
On-site signageNoConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect and some indirect sales (retail) allowed; retail store sales require food handler certification and MDH ID number. No wholesale via …Direct-to-consumer and some indirect sales permitted. Retail store sales require free optional registration and food handler cert. Online s…Direct-to-consumer sales permitted. Retail store sales require prior MDH approval.
Home occupation permitYesConditionalVaries
Local business licenseYesVariesVaries
RestrictionsNon-potentially hazardous foods only; $50,000 annual sales cap (COMAR 10.15.03.02B(17-1)). Optional free MDH ID number (required only if se…Maryland residential kitchen permit allows non-PHF baked goods (non-refrigerated), non-PHF candy, acid-fruit jellies/jams/preserves/butters…Annual gross sales capped at $50,000. Must produce in residential kitchen in Maryland. Must comply with all applicable county and municipal…
Food storageNon-TCS shelf-stable foods only; extensive prohibited list including pickles, salsas, acidified foods, dairy, meatNon-PHF foods only. Prohibited: meringue/cheesecake/cream/custard pies, baked goods with refrigerated cream cheese or buttercream icing, lo…Products must be stored on premises of the cottage food business. Shelf-stable non-potentially hazardous foods only.
Population261,059103,87619,289
What other Maryland counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Maryland counties

Maryland
Pop. 1.06M
Maryland
Pop. 957K
Maryland
Pop. 851K
Maryland
Pop. 588K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Harford County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Maryland's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Harford County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Harford County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Harford County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Harford County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Harford County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Harford County, Maryland?
Yes — Maryland allows cottage food sales. $100,000 annual sales cap. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; home occupation permit required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Maryland Department of Health and the Harford County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Harford County?
Your Harford County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Harford County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Harford County? State vs county rules and pets
Maryland rule (statewide)Harford County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Harford County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Harford County

    • Check with Harford County business license office
    • Check with Harford County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    MDH Guidelines for Cottage Food Businesses (September 2025 · Maryland Chapter 320 (HB0535T) — Health – General §21-301…

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Maryland

    • Selling to stores: check with Maryland Department of Health

    Harford County

    • Check with Harford County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Maryland

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Maryland Department of Health

    Harford County

    • Check with Harford County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Maryland · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Maryland Department of Health.

    Maryland · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Maryland Department of Health.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.