crosodo
County · Seat: Anoka · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Anoka County, MN

Inside the permit report

What's in the Anoka County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Anoka County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Anoka County
Table of contents
Your Anoka County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Anoka County?

All products in Minnesota →
More Anoka County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Anoka County?
Start here

How to start in Anoka County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Minnesota cottage food rules in Anoka County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Minnesota cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially hazardous foods (those not requiring refrigeration) including baked goods, candies, condiments (honey, pickles, mustards, nut butters, salsas, sauces), dry goods (coffee, cereals, dried fruit/vegetables, herbs, pasta, spices, tea), pastries, preserves (jams, jellies, fruit butters, applesauce), snacks (granola, popcorn, chocolate-covered items), fermented foods, and juices. Home-processed and home-canned products with pH 4.6 or lower or water activity 0.85 or less (the original 'Pickle Bill' category) are also permitted.). Anoka County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $78,000. On-site / porch pickup in Anoka County: Conditional. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Anoka County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Minnesota disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Minnesota label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Minnesota county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Minnesota county rules quiz

Anoka County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Minnesota statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Anoka County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Anoka County cottage food rules with Minnesota agencies?

Anoka County is a county in Minnesota (pop. 363,985). Under Minnesota's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 78000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Minnesota Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Anoka County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Anoka County: home kitchen restricted; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Minnesota cottage food statute confirmed from state baseline. Anoka County is a northern suburban Twin Cities county. $78,000 inflation-adjusted cap (2025 amendment). State does not preempt local zoning. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Anoka County?
State law applies

Tier: Great

Minnesota's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Minnesota cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Anoka County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Anoka County

State baseline: Minn. Stat. §28A.152

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Conditional
Restrictions
Minnesota cottage food law (Minn. Stat. §28A.152) allows non-PHF foods without a food license, up to $78,000 gross annual sales (2025 inflation-adjusted cap). Tier 1 (up to ~$7,665/yr): free online training. Tier 2 (up to $78,000/yr): $50 annual registration fee + approved food safety course every 3 years. State does not preempt local zoning/business licensing. Anoka County municipalities may require home occupation permit.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific state restriction; standard food safety practices apply.
Water supply
No specific state requirement.
Handwashing
Standard food safety practices required.
Food storage
Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. Home-canned items (pH 4.6 or lower or water activity 0.85 or less) also permitted.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No inspection required at state level. Local sanitation/health ordinances not preempted.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Anoka County municipalities (Blaine, Coon Rapids, Anoka, Fridley, etc.) have their own zoning ordinances. Home occupation permit or conditional use permit may be required. Home sales from home allowed to extent permitted by local ordinance per state statute. Anoka County follows state baseline; city-specific rules may vary.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Conditional
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct sales from home (if local ordinance permits), at community events/farmers markets, and online (producer must deliver). Home-canned items may only be sold at community events/farmers markets or via producer delivery within Minnesota.
Max employees in home
Not specified; local home occupation rules typically restrict to family members.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Minn. Stat. §28A.152 (state cottage food exemption); local Anoka County municipal zoning codes vary.
Local notes

Minnesota cottage food statute confirmed from state baseline. Anoka County is a northern suburban Twin Cities county. $78,000 inflation-adjusted cap (2025 amendment). State does not preempt local zoning.

What does the Minnesota cottage food statute say?
Minnesota statute (state law)

Minnesota Statutes §28A.152 - Cottage Foods Exemption

Citation: Minn. Stat. §28A.152
Verbatim excerpt

28A.152 COTTAGE FOODS EXEMPTION. Subdivision 1. Licensing provisions applicability. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (d), the licensing provisions of sections 28A.01 to 28A.16 do not apply to the following: (1) a person who prepares and sells food that is not potentially hazardous food, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 4626.0020, subpart 62, if the following requirements are met: the prepared food offered for sale under this clause is labeled to accurately reflect the name and the registration number or address of the person preparing and selling the food, the date on which the food was prepared, the ingredients and any possible allergens, and the statement "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection."; and (2) a person who prepares and sells home-processed and home-canned food products if the following requirements are met: (i) the products are pickles, vegetables, or fruits having an equilibrium pH value of 4.6 or lower or a water activity value of .85 or less; (iii) the person displays at the point of sale a clearly legible sign or placard stating: "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection."; and (iv) each container of the product sold or offered for sale under this clause is accurately labeled to provide the name and the registration number or address of the person who processed and canned the goods, the date on which the goods were processed and canned, ingredients and any possible allergens, and the statement "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection." Subd. 2. Direct sales to consumers. (a) A person qualifying for an exemption under subdivision 1 may sell the exempt food: (1) directly to the ultimate consumer at a community event or farmers' market; (2) directly from the person's home to the ultimate consumer; or (3) through donation to a community event with the purpose of fundraising. (d) Food products exempt under subdivision 1 may be sold over the Internet. Subd. 3. Limitation on sales. A person selling exempt foods under this section is limited to total sales with gross receipts of $78,000 or less in a calendar year. Subd. 4. Registration. A person who prepares and sells exempt food under subdivision 1 must register annually with the commissioner. The annual registration fee is $30. Subd. 5. Training. A person who sells exempt food under this section and is required to pay the registration fee in subdivision 4 must complete a safe food handling training course that is approved by the commissioner before registering under subdivision 4.

Source: revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/28A.152 →
Full Minnesota License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Anoka County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Anoka County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Anoka County, Minnesota?

State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Conditional. Confirm with Anoka County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Anoka County?

State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Anoka County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Anoka County. Ask Anoka County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Minnesota?

$78,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Anoka County?

Apply via Anoka County environmental health (mda.state.mn.us). Official link: https://www.mda.state.mn.us/food/business/cottage-food-producer-registration. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.

What foods can I sell under Minnesota cottage food law in Anoka County?

Non-potentially hazardous foods (those not requiring refrigeration) including baked goods, candies, condiments (honey, pickles, mustards, nut butters, salsas, sauces), dry goods (coffee, cereals, dried fruit/vegetables, herbs, pasta, spices, tea), pastries, preserves (jams, jellies, fruit butters, applesauce), snacks (granola, popcorn, chocolate-covered items), fermented foods, and juices. Home-processed and home-canned products with pH 4.6 or lower or water activity 0.85 or less (the original 'Pickle Bill' category) are also permitted. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Minnesota, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Anoka County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No inspection required at state level. Local sanitation/health ordinances not preempted.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Anoka County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Minnesota report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Anoka County cottage food reports

What permits in Anoka County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Anoka County county cottage food report
Anoka County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Anoka County.

Download county report
Cover of Minnesota cottage food law PDF report
Minnesota state report

Full Minnesota License & Permit Guide (265 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Anoka County.

Minnesota law page

Free email alerts

Anoka County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Anoka County, with Minnesota statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Anoka County page based on?
Quick comparison

Anoka County vs. bordering counties

RegulationAnoka County
This county
Washington CountyRamsey County
Home kitchen allowedConditionalYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific state restriction; standard food safety practices apply.Not specified in state statute; kitchen must be sanitaryNo specific state cottage food pet restriction
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupConditionalYesConditional
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect sales from home (if local ordinance permits), at community events/farmers markets, and online (producer must deliver). Home-canned i…Sales allowed at home, farmers markets, online (direct delivery only within MN); no interstate sales for home-canned category; Class A CFO …Direct sales within Minnesota: farmers markets, community events, home sales (if local zoning allows), online within Minnesota. $78,000 ann…
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalConditional
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsMinnesota cottage food law (Minn. Stat. §28A.152) allows non-PHF foods without a food license, up to $78,000 gross annual sales (2025 infla…Annual sales cap of $78,000 (2025, CPI-adjusted). Two tiers: Tier 1 (up to ~$7,665/year) requires free registration training only; Tier 2 (…State registration required ($50 if sales exceed $7,665; free otherwise). Accredited food safety training required. $78,000 annual sales ca…
Food storageNon-TCS shelf-stable foods only. Home-canned items (pH 4.6 or lower or water activity 0.85 or less) also permitted.Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; no refrigerated finished productsStandard home kitchen storage for approved non-PHF foods
Population363,985268,651547,202
What other Minnesota counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Minnesota counties

Minnesota
Pop. 1.27M
Minnesota
Pop. 547K
Minnesota
Pop. 439K
Minnesota
Pop. 269K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Anoka County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Minnesota's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Anoka County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Anoka County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Anoka County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Anoka County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Anoka County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Anoka County, Minnesota?
Yes — Minnesota allows cottage food sales. $78,000 annual sales cap. State permit required. Locally: no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Minnesota Department of Agriculture and the Anoka County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Anoka County?
Your Anoka County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Anoka County at a glance?
Official filing

File with Anoka County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.

Apply via Anoka County environmental health(mda.state.mn.us)
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Anoka County? State vs county rules and pets
Minnesota rule (statewide)Anoka County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Anoka County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Anoka County

    • Check with Anoka County business license office
    • Check with Anoka County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Minnesota Department of Agriculture — Cottage Food Law Gu…

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Minnesota

    • Selling to stores: check with Minnesota Department of Agriculture

    Anoka County

    • Check with Anoka County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Minnesota

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Minnesota Department of Agriculture

    Anoka County

    • Check with Anoka County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Minnesota · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Minnesota Department of Agriculture.

    Minnesota · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Minnesota Department of Agriculture.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.