Cottage food law & license in Washington County, MN
What's in the Washington County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Washington County?
More Washington County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Washington County?
How to start in Washington County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Minnesota cottage food rules in Washington County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Minnesota cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially hazardous foods (those not requiring refrigeration) including baked goods, candies, condiments (honey, pickles, mustards, nut butters, salsas, sauces), dry goods (coffee, cereals, dried fruit/vegetables, herbs, pasta, spices, tea), pastries, preserves (jams, jellies, fruit butters, applesauce), snacks (granola, popcorn, chocolate-covered items), fermented foods, and juices. Home-processed and home-canned products with pH 4.6 or lower or water activity 0.85 or less (the original 'Pickle Bill' category) are also permitted.). Washington County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $78,000. On-site / porch pickup in Washington County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Washington County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Minnesota disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Minnesota label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Minnesota county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Minnesota county rules quiz
Washington County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Minnesota statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Washington County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Washington County cottage food rules with Minnesota agencies?
Washington County is a county in Minnesota (pop. 268,651). Under Minnesota's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 78000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Minnesota Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Washington County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Washington County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Washington County MN follows the state baseline (Minn. Stat. §28A.152). No county-specific cottage food ordinance found. State MDA administers registration. The 2025 amendment raised the cap to $78,000 and added CPI indexing. Washington County is a suburban Twin Cities county; local municipalities likely have home occupation permit requirements. — state law confirmed but no specific Washington County.gov cottage food source found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Washington County?
Tier: Great
Minnesota's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.
Minnesota cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Washington County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Washington County
State baseline: Minn. Stat. §28A.152
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Annual sales cap of $78,000 (2025, CPI-adjusted). Two tiers: Tier 1 (up to ~$7,665/year) requires free registration training only; Tier 2 (up to $78,000/year) requires $50 MDA training course renewed every 3 years plus $30 annual registration fee. Non-potentially hazardous foods only.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state statute; kitchen must be sanitary
- Water supply
- Potable water supply required
- Handwashing
- Adequate handwashing facilities required
- Food storage
- Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; no refrigerated finished products
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection; complaint-based enforcement only
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Washington County municipalities (Stillwater, Woodbury, etc.) may require home occupation permits under local zoning. Washington County itself does not appear to have county-wide zoning over all municipalities. Producers should check with their specific city or township.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Sales allowed at home, farmers markets, online (direct delivery only within MN); no interstate sales for home-canned category; Class A CFO model applies for most products
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state statute
- Relevant code section
- Minn. Stat. §28A.152; local municipal zoning varies
Washington County MN follows the state baseline (Minn. Stat. §28A.152). No county-specific cottage food ordinance found. State MDA administers registration. The 2025 amendment raised the cap to $78,000 and added CPI indexing. Washington County is a suburban Twin Cities county; local municipalities likely have home occupation permit requirements. — state law confirmed but no specific Washington County.gov cottage food source found.
What does the Minnesota cottage food statute say?
Minnesota Statutes §28A.152 - Cottage Foods Exemption
Full Minnesota License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt28A.152 COTTAGE FOODS EXEMPTION. Subdivision 1. Licensing provisions applicability. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (d), the licensing provisions of sections 28A.01 to 28A.16 do not apply to the following: (1) a person who prepares and sells food that is not potentially hazardous food, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 4626.0020, subpart 62, if the following requirements are met: the prepared food offered for sale under this clause is labeled to accurately reflect the name and the registration number or address of the person preparing and selling the food, the date on which the food was prepared, the ingredients and any possible allergens, and the statement "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection."; and (2) a person who prepares and sells home-processed and home-canned food products if the following requirements are met: (i) the products are pickles, vegetables, or fruits having an equilibrium pH value of 4.6 or lower or a water activity value of .85 or less; (iii) the person displays at the point of sale a clearly legible sign or placard stating: "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection."; and (iv) each container of the product sold or offered for sale under this clause is accurately labeled to provide the name and the registration number or address of the person who processed and canned the goods, the date on which the goods were processed and canned, ingredients and any possible allergens, and the statement "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection." Subd. 2. Direct sales to consumers. (a) A person qualifying for an exemption under subdivision 1 may sell the exempt food: (1) directly to the ultimate consumer at a community event or farmers' market; (2) directly from the person's home to the ultimate consumer; or (3) through donation to a community event with the purpose of fundraising. (d) Food products exempt under subdivision 1 may be sold over the Internet. Subd. 3. Limitation on sales. A person selling exempt foods under this section is limited to total sales with gross receipts of $78,000 or less in a calendar year. Subd. 4. Registration. A person who prepares and sells exempt food under subdivision 1 must register annually with the commissioner. The annual registration fee is $30. Subd. 5. Training. A person who sells exempt food under this section and is required to pay the registration fee in subdivision 4 must complete a safe food handling training course that is approved by the commissioner before registering under subdivision 4.
Source: revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/28A.152 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Washington County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeWashington County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Washington County, Minnesota?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Washington County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Washington County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Washington County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Washington County. Ask Washington County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Minnesota?
$78,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Washington County?
Apply via Washington County environmental health (mda.state.mn.us). Official link: https://www.mda.state.mn.us/food/business/cottage-food-producer-registration. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Minnesota cottage food law in Washington County?
Non-potentially hazardous foods (those not requiring refrigeration) including baked goods, candies, condiments (honey, pickles, mustards, nut butters, salsas, sauces), dry goods (coffee, cereals, dried fruit/vegetables, herbs, pasta, spices, tea), pastries, preserves (jams, jellies, fruit butters, applesauce), snacks (granola, popcorn, chocolate-covered items), fermented foods, and juices. Home-processed and home-canned products with pH 4.6 or lower or water activity 0.85 or less (the original 'Pickle Bill' category) are also permitted. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Minnesota, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Washington County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection; complaint-based enforcement only. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Minnesota report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeWashington County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Washington County.
Download county reportFull Minnesota License & Permit Guide (265 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Washington County.
Minnesota law pageFree email alerts
Washington County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Washington County, with Minnesota statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Washington County page based on?
Where to verify Washington County rules
Washington County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Washington County This county | Anoka County | Dakota County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Conditional | Conditional |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state statute; kitchen must be sanitary | No specific state restriction; standard food safety practices apply. | No specific state restriction; standard food safety practices apply. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Conditional | Conditional |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | No |
| Delivery / pickup | Sales allowed at home, farmers markets, online (direct delivery only within MN); no interstate sales for home-canned category; Class A CFO … | Direct sales from home (if local ordinance permits), at community events/farmers markets, and online (producer must deliver). Home-canned i… | Direct sales from home (if local ordinance permits), at community events/farmers markets, and online (producer must deliver). Home-canned i… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Conditional | Yes |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Annual sales cap of $78,000 (2025, CPI-adjusted). Two tiers: Tier 1 (up to ~$7,665/year) requires free registration training only; Tier 2 (… | Minnesota cottage food law (Minn. Stat. §28A.152) allows non-PHF foods without a food license, up to $78,000 gross annual sales (2025 infla… | Minnesota cottage food law (Minn. Stat. §28A.152) allows non-potentially-hazardous foods without a food license, up to $78,000 gross annual… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; no refrigerated finished products | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. Home-canned items (pH 4.6 or lower or water activity 0.85 or less) also permitted. | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. Home-canned items must meet pH 4.6 or lower or water activity 0.85 or less. |
| Population | 268,651 | 363,985 | 439,179 |
What other Minnesota counties can I compare?
Other Minnesota counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Washington County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Minnesota's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Washington County bakers?
Washington County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Washington County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Washington County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Washington County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Washington County at a glance?
File with Washington County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Washington County environmental health(mda.state.mn.us)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Washington County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Washington County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Washington County
- Check with Washington County business license office
- Check with Washington County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Minnesota
- Selling to stores: check with Minnesota Department of Agriculture
Washington County
- Check with Washington County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Minnesota
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Minnesota Department of Agriculture
Washington County
- Check with Washington County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Minnesota · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Minnesota Department of Agriculture.
Minnesota · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Minnesota Department of Agriculture.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.