crosodo
County · Seat: Shakopee · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Scott County, MN

Inside the permit report

What's in the Scott County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Scott County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Scott County
Table of contents
Your Scott County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Scott County?

All products in Minnesota →
More Scott County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Scott County?
Start here

How to start in Scott County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Minnesota cottage food rules in Scott County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Minnesota cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially hazardous foods (those not requiring refrigeration) including baked goods, candies, condiments (honey, pickles, mustards, nut butters, salsas, sauces), dry goods (coffee, cereals, dried fruit/vegetables, herbs, pasta, spices, tea), pastries, preserves (jams, jellies, fruit butters, applesauce), snacks (granola, popcorn, chocolate-covered items), fermented foods, and juices. Home-processed and home-canned products with pH 4.6 or lower or water activity 0.85 or less (the original 'Pickle Bill' category) are also permitted.). Scott County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $78,000. On-site / porch pickup in Scott County: Conditional. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Scott County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Minnesota disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Minnesota label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Minnesota county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Minnesota county rules quiz

Scott County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Minnesota statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Scott County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Scott County cottage food rules with Minnesota agencies?

Scott County is a county in Minnesota (pop. 151,347). Under Minnesota's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 78000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Minnesota Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Scott County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Scott County: home kitchen restricted; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Pattern county. State baseline governs. Minnesota's 2025 amendment raised the cap to $78,000. No Scott County-specific cottage food code identified. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Scott County?
State law applies

Tier: Great

Minnesota's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Minnesota cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Scott County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Scott County

State baseline: Minn. Stat. §28A.152

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Conditional
Restrictions
Minnesota two-tier system: Tier 1 (up to ~$7,665/year) requires free Cottage Food Producer Registration Training. Tier 2 (up to $78,000/year) requires $50 Cottage Food Producer Training Course (every 3 years) plus $30 annual registration fee. Allowed foods include non-PHF items: baked goods, candies, condiments, dry goods, preserves, fermented foods, pH-tested pickles/salsas. No home kitchen inspection.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific state prohibition; standard food safety practices apply.
Water supply
No specific requirement under state cottage food law.
Handwashing
Standard food safety sanitation practices apply.
Food storage
Non-PHF products only; proper storage required.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection. Complaint-based enforcement possible by MDA.
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
Scott County and Shakopee may require home occupation permits under local zoning. No county-specific cottage food overlay identified.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Conditional
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Sales at farmers markets, roadside stands, on-farm, direct, online (in-state only), and certain retail channels. Home-canned products may not be sold outside Minnesota.
Max employees in home
Not specified by state law; local home occupation rules may apply.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Scott County Zoning Ordinance; Minn. Stat. §28A.152
Local notes

Pattern county. State baseline governs. Minnesota's 2025 amendment raised the cap to $78,000. No Scott County-specific cottage food code identified.

What does the Minnesota cottage food statute say?
Minnesota statute (state law)

Minnesota Statutes §28A.152 - Cottage Foods Exemption

Citation: Minn. Stat. §28A.152
Verbatim excerpt

28A.152 COTTAGE FOODS EXEMPTION. Subdivision 1. Licensing provisions applicability. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (d), the licensing provisions of sections 28A.01 to 28A.16 do not apply to the following: (1) a person who prepares and sells food that is not potentially hazardous food, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 4626.0020, subpart 62, if the following requirements are met: the prepared food offered for sale under this clause is labeled to accurately reflect the name and the registration number or address of the person preparing and selling the food, the date on which the food was prepared, the ingredients and any possible allergens, and the statement "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection."; and (2) a person who prepares and sells home-processed and home-canned food products if the following requirements are met: (i) the products are pickles, vegetables, or fruits having an equilibrium pH value of 4.6 or lower or a water activity value of .85 or less; (iii) the person displays at the point of sale a clearly legible sign or placard stating: "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection."; and (iv) each container of the product sold or offered for sale under this clause is accurately labeled to provide the name and the registration number or address of the person who processed and canned the goods, the date on which the goods were processed and canned, ingredients and any possible allergens, and the statement "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection." Subd. 2. Direct sales to consumers. (a) A person qualifying for an exemption under subdivision 1 may sell the exempt food: (1) directly to the ultimate consumer at a community event or farmers' market; (2) directly from the person's home to the ultimate consumer; or (3) through donation to a community event with the purpose of fundraising. (d) Food products exempt under subdivision 1 may be sold over the Internet. Subd. 3. Limitation on sales. A person selling exempt foods under this section is limited to total sales with gross receipts of $78,000 or less in a calendar year. Subd. 4. Registration. A person who prepares and sells exempt food under subdivision 1 must register annually with the commissioner. The annual registration fee is $30. Subd. 5. Training. A person who sells exempt food under this section and is required to pay the registration fee in subdivision 4 must complete a safe food handling training course that is approved by the commissioner before registering under subdivision 4.

Source: revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/28A.152 →
Full Minnesota License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Scott County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Scott County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Scott County, Minnesota?

State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Conditional. Confirm with Scott County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Scott County?

State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Scott County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Scott County. Ask Scott County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Minnesota?

$78,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Scott County?

Apply via Scott County environmental health (mda.state.mn.us). Official link: https://www.mda.state.mn.us/food/business/cottage-food-producer-registration. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.

What foods can I sell under Minnesota cottage food law in Scott County?

Non-potentially hazardous foods (those not requiring refrigeration) including baked goods, candies, condiments (honey, pickles, mustards, nut butters, salsas, sauces), dry goods (coffee, cereals, dried fruit/vegetables, herbs, pasta, spices, tea), pastries, preserves (jams, jellies, fruit butters, applesauce), snacks (granola, popcorn, chocolate-covered items), fermented foods, and juices. Home-processed and home-canned products with pH 4.6 or lower or water activity 0.85 or less (the original 'Pickle Bill' category) are also permitted. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Minnesota, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Scott County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection. Complaint-based enforcement possible by MDA.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Scott County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Minnesota report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Scott County cottage food reports

What permits in Scott County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Scott County county cottage food report
Scott County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Scott County.

Download county report
Cover of Minnesota cottage food law PDF report
Minnesota state report

Full Minnesota License & Permit Guide (265 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Scott County.

Minnesota law page

Free email alerts

Scott County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Scott County, with Minnesota statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Scott County page based on?
Quick comparison

Scott County vs. bordering counties

RegulationScott County
This county
Carver CountyRice County
Home kitchen allowedConditionalYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific state prohibition; standard food safety practices apply.No specific state pet restriction for cottage food operations.Not specified in state law
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupConditionalYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupSales at farmers markets, roadside stands, on-farm, direct, online (in-state only), and certain retail channels. Home-canned products may n…Direct-to-consumer only. No indirect sales (outside of farmers market context). Home-canned goods category may not be sold outside Minnesot…Direct-to-consumer delivery permitted in-state; no wholesale
Home occupation permitVariesConditionalVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsMinnesota two-tier system: Tier 1 (up to ~$7,665/year) requires free Cottage Food Producer Registration Training. Tier 2 (up to $78,000/yea…Minnesota's two-tier system: Tier 1 (up to ~$7,665/year) — free Cottage Food Producer Registration Training only; Tier 2 (up to $78,000/yea…Annual sales cap $78,000. Food handler certification required. Registration required with Minnesota Department of Agriculture. No kitchen i…
Food storageNon-PHF products only; proper storage required.Non-potentially hazardous foods only. Low-acid canned foods, chocolate-covered fruit, confections with alcohol, meat jerkies, perishable ba…Appropriate storage for non-PHF products
Population151,347107,21667,152
What other Minnesota counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Minnesota counties

Minnesota
Pop. 1.27M
Minnesota
Pop. 547K
Minnesota
Pop. 439K
Minnesota
Pop. 364K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Scott County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Minnesota's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Scott County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Scott County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Scott County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Scott County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Scott County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Scott County, Minnesota?
Yes — Minnesota allows cottage food sales. $78,000 annual sales cap. State permit required. Locally: no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Minnesota Department of Agriculture and the Scott County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Scott County?
Your Scott County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Scott County at a glance?
Official filing

File with Scott County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.

Apply via Scott County environmental health(mda.state.mn.us)
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Scott County? State vs county rules and pets
Minnesota rule (statewide)Scott County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Scott County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Scott County

    • Check with Scott County business license office
    • Check with Scott County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Minnesota Department of Agriculture — Cottage Food Law Gu…

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Minnesota

    • Selling to stores: check with Minnesota Department of Agriculture

    Scott County

    • Check with Scott County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Minnesota

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Minnesota Department of Agriculture

    Scott County

    • Check with Scott County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Minnesota · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Minnesota Department of Agriculture.

    Minnesota · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Minnesota Department of Agriculture.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.