Cottage food law & license in Cameron County, TX
What's in the Cameron County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Cameron County?
More Cameron County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Cameron County?
How to start in Cameron County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Texas cottage food rules in Cameron County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Texas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025).). Cameron County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $150,000. On-site / porch pickup in Cameron County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Cameron County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Texas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Texas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “THIS PRODUCT WAS PRODUCED IN A PRIVATE RESIDENCE THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENTAL LICENSING OR INSPECTION.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Texas county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Texas county rules quiz
Cameron County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Texas statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Cameron County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Cameron County cottage food rules with Texas agencies?
Cameron County is a county in Texas (pop. 421,854). Under Texas's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 150000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Texas Department of State Health Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Cameron County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Cameron County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Texas state cottage food law is well-documented. $150,000 cap (raised from $50,000 by SB 541, 2025). No permit or registration required. Cameron County is a border county with large population; municipalities (Brownsville, Harlingen, San Benito, etc.) have their own home occupation rules. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Cameron County?
Tier: Great
Texas's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.
Texas cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Cameron County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Cameron County
State baseline: Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Texas cottage food law (Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.) requires no license, permit, or registration. No state inspection. Annual gross sales cap $150,000 (raised by SB 541, 2025). Allowed: almost all non-TCS foods including baked goods, candy, jams, jellies, pickles, dried herbs, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats. Prohibited: meat products, poultry, seafood, ice/ice cream/frozen custard/popsicles, low-acid canned goods, CBD/THC products, raw milk. Health departments cannot inspect cottage food operations.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No specific state restriction in cottage food law.
- Water supply
- No specific state requirement for cottage food operations.
- Handwashing
- No specific state requirement; standard food safety practices recommended.
- Food storage
- Non-TCS shelf-stable products. Acidified and fermented foods allowed.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No inspection permitted except to prevent immediate and serious threat to human life or health.
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- Cameron County has unincorporated areas and incorporated cities (Brownsville, Harlingen, McAllen area). Each municipality has its own home occupation rules. Texas Statute §559.955 requires cottage food operations to comply with local home-based business rules. Operators should verify with Cameron County and local city whether home occupation permit required. Brownsville: contact City of Brownsville Planning for home occupation requirements.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct-to-consumer and some indirect sales allowed. Online sales and mail delivery permitted. Products may be sold at direct sales only channels (not wholesale to distributors/retailers per primary statute). SB 541 (2025) added 'cottage food vendor' intermediary pathway.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state cottage food law; local home occupation rules vary.
- Relevant code section
- Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.; §559.955 (local home-based business compliance); Cameron County and municipal zoning codes.
Texas state cottage food law is well-documented. $150,000 cap (raised from $50,000 by SB 541, 2025). No permit or registration required. Cameron County is a border county with large population; municipalities (Brownsville, Harlingen, San Benito, etc.) have their own home occupation rules.
What does the Texas cottage food statute say?
Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 437 – Regulation of Certain Foods, Subchapter A – Cottage Food Production Operations
Full Texas License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(2-b) "Cottage food production operation" means an individual, operating out of the individual's home, or a nonprofit organization that: (A) produces at the individual's home or the home of an individual who is a director or officer of the nonprofit organization, as applicable, any food other than: (i) meat, meat products, poultry, or poultry products; (ii) seafood, including seafood products, fish, fish products, shellfish, and shellfish products; (iii) ice or ice products, including shaved ice, ice cream, frozen custard, popsicles, and gelato; (iv) low-acid canned goods; (v) products containing cannabidiol or tetrahydrocannabinol; or (vi) raw milk and raw milk products; (B) has an annual gross income of $150,000 or less from the sale of food described by Paragraph (A), as the department annually adjusts for inflation using the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U); (C) sells the foods produced under Paragraph (A) directly to consumers or to a cottage food vendor; and (D) delivers products to the consumer or cottage food vendor at the point of sale or another location designated by the consumer or cottage food vendor.
Source: capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/89R/billtext/html/SB00541F.htm →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Cameron County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeCameron County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Cameron County, Texas?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Cameron County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Cameron County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Cameron County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Cameron County. Ask Cameron County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Texas?
$150,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Cameron County?
Apply through Cameron County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Cameron County, Texas — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Texas cottage food law in Cameron County?
Almost all non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled) foods are allowed, including baked goods, candy, jams and jellies, pickles, dried herbs and spices, roasted coffee, granola, vinegar, acidified foods, fermented vegetable products, dried meats, and any food that is not a time-and-temperature control for safety food. Nonprofits may also operate under the cottage food framework as of SB 541 (2025). County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Texas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Cameron County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No inspection permitted except to prevent immediate and serious threat to human life or health.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Texas report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeCameron County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Cameron County.
Download county reportFull Texas License & Permit Guide (728 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Cameron County.
Texas law pageFree email alerts
Cameron County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Cameron County, with Texas statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Cameron County page based on?
Where to verify Cameron County rules
Cameron County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Cameron County This county | Willacy County | Hidalgo County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No specific state restriction in cottage food law. | No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law. | Not specified; standard sanitation applies |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Yes | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct-to-consumer and some indirect sales allowed. Online sales and mail delivery permitted. Products may be sold at direct sales only cha… | Direct-to-consumer sales anywhere in Texas including home pickup, farmers markets, events, and online (with personal delivery). Non-TCS foo… | Direct-to-consumer including online with personal delivery by operator/household member within Texas. Since SB 541 (2025), wholesale to reg… |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | No | Conditional |
| Local business license | Varies | No | Varies |
| Restrictions | Texas cottage food law (Tex. Health & Safety §437.001 et seq.) requires no license, permit, or registration. No state inspection. Annual gr… | Texas cottage food law (SB 541, effective Sept 1 2025) allows sale of nearly all non-TCS foods plus TCS foods directly to consumers. Annual… | Texas strong state preemption: local health departments cannot regulate cottage food production, require permits, fees, or inspections. Mus… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS shelf-stable products. Acidified and fermented foods allowed. | Non-TCS foods unrestricted; TCS foods must be held at proper temperatures (≤41°F or ≥135°F). | Standard food storage practices |
| Population | 421,854 | 20,308 | 873,167 |
What other Texas counties can I compare?
Other Texas counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Cameron County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Texas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Cameron County bakers?
Cameron County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Cameron County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Cameron County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Cameron County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Cameron County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Cameron County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Cameron County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Cameron County
- Check with Cameron County business license office
- Check with Cameron County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Texas
- Selling to stores: check with Texas Department of State Health Services
Cameron County
- Check with Cameron County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Texas
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Texas Department of State Health Services
Cameron County
- Check with Cameron County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Texas · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.
Texas · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Texas Department of State Health Services.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.